We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Solvang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The staff indicated recent renovations, which seemed to focus on the exterior not the rooms. Although the loft seemed like a novel concept, the bed was only a couple of feet from the upstairs door, with the bathroom downstairs not convenient (but the bathroom looked updated the most). The cable for the upstairs TV was exposed and runs down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear John T, Thank you for your review, we have taken your notes to improve the loft room. We do hope you give us another chance in the future to improve your impressions of our hotel. Thank you,

San Jose
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have passed by this motel several times in Solvang thinking it looked good from the outside and conveniently located. I finally had a chance to stay over a weekend. A shame it was not as accommodating as it appeared from the outside. My primary disappointment stems from the room location on the bottom level at street level. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freeamac
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear freeamac, I apologize on behalf of our team that we did not meet your expectations. I do appreciate your positive comments in regards to our friendly staff and nice looking exterior as well as our hot complimentary breakfast. We would like for you to give us another chance and for your next reservation please do ask for a room...

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Have just returned from a tour of California with a well known coach touring company and this hotel was on tour tour. nice big bed. free breakfast was good plenty of choice. didn't swim but felt the pool and it was warm. hotel was at the start of the main street, nice easy walk through with places to eat, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe023
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Joe023, I appreciate taking your time to leave a review of your stay on Tripadvisor. It's always good to read positive feedback, thank you for commenting on our big bed, complimentary breakfast and on our location, we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Orinda, CA
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nothing special about the place and at the high rate, we would expect something a bit more current or less kitchy. Solvang is a theme town for tourist shoppers and wine trailers. We stay here to see the motorcycle museum and to get a room near UCSB, otherwise we don't find much in the town. This hotel is clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Txmagca
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear txmagca, Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your postive feedback about our excellent location, cleanliness and sufficiency in parking. As a destination hotel our rates are very competitive especially on weekends. We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel. Thank you,

San Francisco
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The only reason I'm giving this Holiday Inn Express any stars at all is because the location is good and the staff were all so friendly and helpful and when all other places to stay were filled up, at least this place had a vacancy. It's been years since we stayed in such a rundown place that looks like they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tapestries
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear tapestries, We are disappointed to hear about your recent stay at our hotel. We are in the process of an uplift of our hotel. Hopefully by the time you visit us next time, you will be able to enjoy your stay with us. Thank you,

Butte Valley
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked our room last minute and had never been to Solvang before. Most other hotels were all booked. When we got into town we realized there were a few other hotels not listed on trip advisor that still had vacancies. We felt that, for the high price, the hotel was not worth it. It was clean enough, but quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UniquelyNordic
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear UniquelyNordic, Thank you for leaving us a positive review on tripadvisor. We are sorry you felt the price was too high, on busy days in Solvang the prices may rise in the entire town. We still are glad you were able to enjoy the stay with us and hope to see you in the future. Thank you,

Novato, California
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed here one night with my wife a 4-year old daughter on my way to San Diego. It was one of the few places with available rooms and I was glad we scored it. We had never been to Solvang and it turns out we were in for a treat. The hotel itself is very well kept. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Devo1975
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Devo1975, We appreciate your great 4 star review on Tripadvisor!! We are happy you found our rooms spacious and beds comfortable. It is a great hotel for families. We look forward for your family to visit us again!

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Holiday Inn Express, Solvang, California is a very nice hotel which meet your average or rather good standards of hospitality. This hotel is located very near to some of the streets where you can do some nice shopping. The people are nice in this town. The Staff at this hotel are very friendly, easy to talk to and the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellersam24
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear worldtravellersam24, We really appreciate your 5 star review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you were able to enjoy our town and found our staff friendly and easy to talk to. We look forward to booking your next stay with us.

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Found hotel by chance whilst driving in California (was kind of lost in the dark). Room was exceptionally spacious with very comfy bed. Car parking is right under the building with elevator access to room level. Only disappointment was breakfast. Lots of pre-prepared foods including a big tray of omelettes which had an unknown age and tasted so. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cole C
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear Cole C, Thank you for your outstanding review and rating us with 5 stars. We really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed our comfortable beds and spacious rooms. I hope you will travel through Solvang in the future and stay with us to improve your breakfast experience.

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Holiday Inn Express was a good choice for our stay at Solvang considering that a lot of the hotels in Solvang are either quite expensive or dated. Holiday Inn Express is a good balance. The rooms are spacious and we had 2 double beds. The sink area is separate from the bathroom and toilet. There is also free wifi in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M U
Lisa W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Solvang, responded to this review

Dear M U, Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and taking your time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your free amenities, spacious rooms and our location. We will ensure you to maintain the property and exceed your expectations on your next visit.

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
696 reviews
0.3 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.1 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
230 reviews
0.3 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
195 reviews
0.1 km away
Kronborg Inn
Kronborg Inn
#7 of 10 in Solvang
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come discover the preferred destination of travelers visiting the Santa Ynez Valley, the Holiday Inn Express Solvang. We are centrally located in the Danish Town of Solvang, walking distance to all of its major attractions. It is best known for its shopping, restaurants, chocolate factories and wine tasting rooms! Our hotel is centrally located within Santa Barbara County's Wine Valley. The Holiday Inn Express Solvang is within minutes to Vandenberg Air Force Base, renowned Wineries such as Firestone, Gainey, Buttonwood and Rusack. If you are a golf enthusiast then make the Holiday Inn Express Solvang your golfing headquarters. With our Monthly Golf Packages, you can golf at courses such as The Alisal River Course and La Purisima Golf Course.Our hotel is conveniently located just 30 minutes from the city of Santa Barbara, 20 minutes from Vandenberg Air Force Base and 30 minutes away from Santa Maria. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solvang

Address: 1455 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2915
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Price Range: RM514 - RM1,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solvang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solvang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solvang Hotel Solvang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Solvang staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Solvang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the back are away from street and have a view of many trees.”
 of 5 bubbles Daphne1229, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the valley instead of the road”
 of 5 bubbles cali-golfer, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Might be better facing front of hotel and higher floor in main building”
 of 5 bubbles 395JulieH, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We had a room with a balcony on the second floor, but the view was blocked by trees. Suggest you ask for a balcony on the third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Azorean58, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Pay more and get a better room. You get what you pay for in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles dawng155, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay