We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
286 S Washington St, Sonora, CA 95370-5022
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Book direct for lowest rate available!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (186)
Room & Suite (59)
Pool & Beach (23)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 19/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 19/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 8 hotels in Sonora
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Oldest historic hotel in Sonora. Experience a bit of the past in one of the antique apponted rooms. Innkeepers breakfast each morning. Easy walking distance to great shopping and wonderful restaurants.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book direct for lowest rate available!
505Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 266
  • 142
  • 44
  • 28
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Andrew F wrote a review 12 Jul
Novato, California11 contributions13 helpful votes
We've stayed at the Gunn House many times prior to this visit. This was our family's first stay at the hotel under its new ownership. Overall, it was adequate, but just that. Rooms and hallways really needed a good cleaning and some maintenance wouldn't hurt, either. (For example, we had one working light bulb in our bathroom.) One of the reasons to stay here was always the amazing breakfast of homemade pastries and an egg casserole prepared fresh each morning. The owners really need to put some more effort into this as, while they're trying to do something similar, it's just not the same. I'm sure if you checked into this place you'd probably think it was a fine continental breakfast when compared to other hotels. (Except you'd wonder what the deal is with the Funfetti cupcakes for breakfast.) I guess I'd really give the Gunn House 3.5 stars. Gary, one of the owners, was really nice and helpful and the place still maintains its funky historic charm. Some attention to detail and effort would really go a long way toward making this an amazing place again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Chad S wrote a review Oct 2019
Houston, Texas2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
Came into Sonora for work. Stayed at Gunn House. It was awesome. Property is very clean, rooms are nice and Ray at the front desk was great. He is very personable and went out of his way to make sure my stay was great. I checked in late as I was working late and waited for me. The bed was super comfortable as well. I would highly recommend Gunn House. I will for sure stay there again when Im back in town.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Gunnhouse143, Manager at Gunn House Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review the Gunn House, and also for the kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and it was pleasure to help you! Thank you, Ray Manager
Read more
lorigirl74 wrote a review Jun 2021
San Francisco44 contributions39 helpful votes
I booked one night in a side room two weeks before a road trip my family was taking. When we arrived after traveling through the mountains with no solid reception, the hostess was friendly. The room she gave us (Room 11) was front and center, not what I had reserved. Had we gotten the room I had reserved perhaps my review would be better. The doorknob and lock on the door was janky. And loud, no way to quietly enter or exit the room while others tried to sleep if you wanted to sit on the porch. At first I couldn't even get in, afraid whatever I did would break the knob out of the door. I had to get her to show me how to jiggle the key while simultaneously turning the knob and pushing in the door. This is not historical charm; this is bad hardware. The shower pressure never went from bath tub mode to shower head even after turning the center knob all the way. It was a bath faucet "shower" for me. (We informed the hostess at breakfast that morning.) Again, not historic charm, just bad maintenance. The reservation had one price and my credit card bill after checking out had another, more expensive one. Was it because we got a different room than what I originally reserved and were quoted on? I put my young kid on the reservation but did they suddenly decide to charge me after the fact? (There were two beds in the room so nothing was brought in.) Is it a mandatory housekeeping tip (I left one in the room)? I don't know. I emailed the address on the reservation after seeing my bill and haven't heard back yet on the reason.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a room on the pool side, away from the main street if you are a lighter sleeper.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
worldtravelingelf wrote a review Jun 2021
Stockton, California32 contributions6 helpful votes
In the end, this was a great stay, but it didn't begin that way. Made reservations two weeks in advance, but was given a different room with a parking lot view when we checked in. Manager said the reservation was somehow changed in the system. (Hmmm....) So, advice - call and check your reservations are accurate before you show up to check-in. Although the new room had two queen beds and was nice enough, it was an unacceptable change. If you are sensitive to street noise and light, don't stay in any of their rooms in the front or on the parking lot side. Despite what the manager says, the traffic on Washington Street really doesn't quiet down at night, and you will get the street lights shining through your room windows all night long. If noise and light don't bother you, the front rooms have a really cute porch where you can sit and watch the comings and goings of Washington Street. When I protested the next day, we were moved to the room I reserved in the first place. What a change! New room was in the back with no traffic noise and a wonderful patio view over the pool. Exactly what I was hoping for in the first place! I gave this review 4-stars since the manager was accommodating to making this room change, even though this wouldn't have been an issue if my reservation had been honored in the first place. The manager also worked with us to get something to eat for breakfast since we had to catch the YART bus before the official breakfast time of 7:30. The breakfast included English muffins, bread slices with jam, brownies and other baked goodies, fruit, coffee, tea, and orange juice. Waffles are available but definitely don't look like the waffles on their website. This is a great stay if you understand it is not a Hilton or Marriott but a historical building with all the accoutrements that go with an old building - old but cute decor, room doors that don't quite fit the door frame, very low to the ground toilets, older air conditioning units, several sets of stairs and gates, etc.... Also, watch out for the hot water in the shower - it is extremely hot! and be ready to be creative finding a place to hang your towels in the bathroom. All in all, and most importantly, the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, and the staff friendly. It was also nice to have access to a small pool, too, on a hot day. I'll be coming back for sure and recommending to friends.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms at the back with the pool view are quieter. Rooms in front have good view of Washington...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Debbie M wrote a review Apr 2021
Los Gatos, California118 contributions14 helpful votes
We booked this hotel for it's location and availability for a last minute reservation. It is an older building that i am sure is rich in history. The place could use some repairs, but we were very happy with our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. We chose a double-queen room on the backside of the building and it was very quiet. What we loved most, was the large seating area outside our room on the upper floor. We were in town for a wedding and were able to invite two other couples to join us for wine. The breakfast was served in a cozy breakfast room and was better than most chain hotel to-go offerings these days. With a little maintenance this place could be really great. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if I was in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Baljeet Kaur, Owner at Gunn House Hotel
Responded 28 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for your feedback! We will be working on the repairs very soon! We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gunn hotel sonora
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSonora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gunn House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Gunn House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tuolumne County Museum (0.4 km), Veterans Memorial Hall & Military Museum (0.5 km), and Stage 3 Theatre Company (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gunn House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Gunn House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Gunn House Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gunn House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Diamondback Grill, Emberz, and Sonora Thai Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gunn House Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Gunn House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Sonora.
Are there any historical sites close to Gunn House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Columbia State Historic Park (6.2 km) and Artificers' Exchange (6.2 km).