We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Foot of the Mountain Motel

Show Prices
#11 of 19 Hotels in Boulder
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Foot of the Mountain Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 229: English reviews
Dallas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We are big fans of the quirky "roadside motel" and FOTM definitely ranks up there as one of the ones we have enjoyed a bunch. Rustic place on the western edge of Boulder. ~17 rooms ("cabins"). We had a Cozy Up room, which was definitely cozy, but clean, comfortable, and quite affordable. Bed was great, shower was strong & hot,... More 

Helpful?
Thank SebastianDallas
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tucked in at the end of Arapahoe, this motel was a delightful little surprise. Rooms are in a row of small cabins, wood-paneled inside and out, adorably rustic and simple. Staff were friendly & helpful, knew the area well, & gave great advice about places to eat or things to do. Location is in an older traditional residential neighborhood, on... More 

Helpful?
Thank cgmaxwell
Munising, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am a frequent business traveler and often choose to stay at the national chain hotels, but I wanted something different for my quick overnight in Boulder. This review is for the Cozy Queen room. I did not see any of the other motel rooms or accommodations and checked out in the morning before the office was open (7 am).... More 

Helpful?
Thank lovintheUP
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I discovered this place I wasn't too sure what to expect, but I absolutely loved the motel and room we stayed in. Not sure what the name of our specific room was, but it was a double queen(#17). It is a bit small, but honestly I loved how cozy and cabin like it felt. You are literally at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca-Lynn B
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an old motor court straight out of the 1930s. I knew that going in, but it's small and spartan. It was clean, the beds were fine, parking is right by your cabin, and finding it is easy. We stayed there mostly because it is right next to the river trail, and we could walk to and from downtown... More 

Helpful?
Thank SLCal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights there. Great little spot, about 20 minute walk to downtown. We took a nice hike across the street, the view is beautiful especially in the morning. Boulder is such a fun town, loved it! Back to the motel, bed is comfy, breakfast is good enough to get you on your way! Friendly staff!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
Oregon, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We loved the woodwork in the room and vintage red fridge. The breakfast was delicious, and the check-in person was delightful and helpful. The beds were fine, but the chair in the room needed serious upholstering. The shower arrangement is a little trick getting in and out. The setting is great, with the mountain view and Settler's park/path right across... More 

Helpful?
Thank glenrajmaj
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

This place is in an amazing setting. Great Wifi and parking facilities. Our room was very very clean. It's rustic, but the bed was really comfortable, and everything worked well. We stayed for two nights and would stay here again. It was the last two nights of a 16 night holiday, so we have stayed in Hyatt, La Quinta, Quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clive C
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I would give it less than one star if possible. We stayed here for one night in September. It was just a place to sleep and shower. We arrived later in the evening around 9:00. The front desk check in was pleasant enough. We had the Hideaway Suite. What a rip off. The room still had the previous occupants leftover... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
Alex G, General Manager at Foot of the Mountain Motel, responded to this review

Tanya, We are so sorry that your stay with us failed to meet not only your expectations, but also ours. Housekeeping and maintenance issues can easily change a good hotel experience to a poor one and we are so disappointed that this happened to you. Although we thought we had handled your concerns in a timely manner, we obviously failed... More 

United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed here based on Trip Advisor reviews but apparently most people didn't stay in the room we did, the "Hide-Away Suite". As mentioned in previous posts, the room seemed clean enough but there was an odor when you entered the room, and this is one of the rooms where pets are not allowed. Not having A/C wasn't an issue... More 

Helpful?
Thank MAJ0426
Alex G, General Manager at Foot of the Mountain Motel, responded to this review

MAJO426, Thank you for your feedback. First, we would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you encountered while staying in the Hideaway Suite. We always look to provide an amazing experience for our guests and we did not succeed with you. I would like to speak about improvements that the property has been undergoing over the past 2 years... More 

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boulder hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Boulderado
Hotel Boulderado
#3 of 19 in Boulder
747 reviews
1.5 km away
University Inn
University Inn
#9 of 19 in Boulder
265 reviews
10.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boulder - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
St Julien Hotel and Spa
St Julien Hotel and Spa
#2 of 19 in Boulder
849 reviews
3.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Boulder Inn
2.4 km away
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
Basecamp Boulder Hotel
#15 of 19 in Boulder
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming property, carefully preserved since the 1930's, and tucked at the base of Flagstaff Mountain, the Foot of the Mountain Motel represents the best of Boulder - personality, friendly service and fabulous views. This unexpected gem allows you to live like a local and enjoy city amenities as well as access to nature just steps from your door. As a guest at the Foot of the Mountain, you're biggest decision will be whether to walk the few blocks to Pearl Street or to cross the bridge over Boulder Creek for world-class hiking. At the Foot of the Mountain Motel...Let time stop. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Foot of the Mountain Motel

Address: 200 W Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80302
Region: United States > Colorado > Boulder
Price Range: RM411 - RM674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Foot of the Mountain Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Foot of the Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foot Of The Mountain Hotel Boulder
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boulder
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Foot of the Mountain Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Metairie
over a year ago
Wilmore, Kentucky
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Lakewood, Colorado
over a year ago
Overland Park, Kansas

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Foot of the Mountain Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views from the rooms are not worth bothering about...Get outside and into the park or the mountains!”
 of 5 bubbles SebastianDallas, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“May want to evaluate cleanliness before settling in.”
 of 5 bubbles lovintheUP, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 17 which was great for us! I'm sure you can't go wrong though.”
 of 5 bubbles Rebecca-LynnB, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Everything is portions of a large cabin. Not much difference.”
 of 5 bubbles SLCal, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It was budget with an expensive price tag”
 of 5 bubbles 696tanyaw, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay