We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gateway Inn

TravelocityUS$167*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$178*
US$167*
US$178*
US$167*
US$178*
US$167*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Gateway Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gateway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 473: English reviews
Duluth, MN
Reviewed 12 October 2016

In September we booked a stay for mid October thru Travelocity. Four days before our stay in October, we get a call from the hotel saying they are overbooked and we are just out of luck. They gave us a phone number of another hotel, but not a comparable property, and coincidentally also booked up. After a few calls back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeyeView
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear about your experience; We did have some issues with overbookings for awhile due to a computer error but have since gotten those resolved; We do try to re locate you if that happens; I don't know why that was not done for you but am so sorry that you were not attended too like...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

This review should really be a 3.5. We had a pre wedding happy hour at the gateway lounge. Very beautiful views from the deck and good service at the bar. The staff put on a couple fireplaces outside for our guests. No complaints on that front. This review would be higher except leading up to the happy hour staff at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeza4849
Colleyville, Texas
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We opted to go to the Grand Lake side of RMNP during our recent visit. We stayed at the Gateway Inn one night. The room was large and clean, the bed and pillows very comfortable, and they provided a very nice breakfast. The inn is convenient to RMNP and withing walking distance of the main street of Grand Lake. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review; We hope that you will come and see us again and recommend us to a friend

Reviewed 5 October 2016

This is a great little motel. Especially if you want quiet. Rooms are clean, and the service is great. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We had a great stay and have been recommending it to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that our staff treated you with warmness and that you were able to enjoy the solitude

Freeburg, Illinois
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Large room, staff accommodating to change to lake view room. Free breakfast. Well supplied with extra washcloths. The only negative was in our 3 night stay the last 2 nights our internet was not working even after calling the front desk. My husband and I use our computers alot when travelling. But I would have to say the hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberta1353
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; Being up in the mountains as a local I would say the internet can be a little frustrating at times

Reviewed 5 October 2016

Wonderful facility. Check in, staff very helpful, all good. Decor, room comfort, bar and, all good as well. The location is outstanding, Grand Lake is beautiful, wish we could have stayed significantly longer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trust T
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; Grand Lake is truly a unique little town; Hopefully you can come and stay with us again

Minnesota
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The room looks like cabin, bed,table and chairs are made with logs, even hangers in the bathroom are made with logs. There are some mounted animals in the hotel lobby area. The room was really comfortable,spacious, clean and quiet. Check in and out was quick. Breakfast was really good too. They had warm egg, sausage patty and ham and cheese...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaMNUSA
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; We have really strived to make a breakfast a hearty one before our travelers venture out. We appreciate that you liked the lodge environment here at the Gateway and hope that you can visit us again

Gardiner
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Just like home!! You don't get much better. Rooms have a log pine decor and the beds are a bit high to get into, but if you do not have mobility problems then this is the place to be. Has a small lounge area with tables full of board games and a shuffle board, a patio has gas fire tables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

It always pleases us when our guests are happy; We are so glad that you enjoyed all the amenities that we provide and also happy to hear that you got to sample our smores. Hoping you can visit us again

Reviewed 2 October 2016

Highly recommended.Very good place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of work. Time it with the fall peak season. Great treks and good viewing of wildlife and the fresh air make it a worthwhile place to choose for a break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank venkatesh r
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

Im glad that you were able to come and visit in the fall as the colors this year were spectacular; We are also so happy to hear that you were able to get away and relax; Hope you can come again; Summer here is also very beautiful

Glenwood, Maryland
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Gateway Inn was an excellent choice as we arrived from Rocky Mountain National Bank to Grand Lake. The staff was friendly, rooms were clean, the lounge was fun and the location was convenient. Not the fanciest place, but very comfortable and homey. We will certainly stay here again when visiting beautiful and serene Grand Lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy S
Gatewayinn, Front Office Manager at Gateway Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found it homey. Grand Lake is serene as you put it; I hope you will visit us again

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Lake
0.7 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Bighorn Lodge
27.8 km away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 29 in Estes Park
567 reviews
29.5 km away
Silver Moon Inn
Silver Moon Inn
#2 of 29 in Estes Park
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 km away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
30.4 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#13 of 29 in Estes Park
2,308 reviews
32.1 km away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#16 of 29 in Estes Park
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gateway Inn is situated along a national scenic byway, 1 mile from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and the charming unspoiled village of Grand Lake. Our spacious & comfortable rooms are furnished in beautiful hand made log furniture with recently purchased upgraded mattresses and bedding to ensure a great night of rest. Guest rooms are equipped with A/C, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and flat screen satellite TVs. Our amenities include a lounge with shuffleboard, a full bar, and a total body fitness center including sauna, hot tub, weight room, and massage services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Address: 200 West Portal Road, P.O. Box 1169, Grand Lake, CO 80447
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Grand Lake
Price Range: RM535 - RM1,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Grand Lake
Gateway Grand Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gateway Inn staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Gateway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a view of the lake on the upper floors”
jameshH3272AT, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms on the Grand Lake side of the motel. There is more sun on that side as well.”
Althoff7, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you're there in the winter, get one of the rooms with a fireplace and request a lake view.”
jtsoup, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“King room with a balcony is worth the extra price!”
  • View from balcony! It was a little cloudy, but still so beautiful!
StefCOLO, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get one as far away from the lounge as possible.”
NationalParkHiker, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$167* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$167
Expedia.comUS$167
Booking.comUS$178
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates