We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monarch Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Monarch Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Monarch Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
New York
Reviewed 7 March 2016

This is the place you will want to stay if you want to be first to Monarch Mountain on a powder day. It is less than five minutes down the mountain from the resort. The lodge itself is pretty old school (the rooms have actual keys!), but has pretty much everything you will need. There is a nice indoor pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malcolm_NYC
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again at the Lodge!

Guanajuato, Mexico
Reviewed 16 February 2016

My wife an I live only 2 hours away in Colorado Springs. We were attracted to stay at the Lodge because they were running a special for President's Day weekend, and were pet friendly(so hard to travel with our dogs these days) Check in is at 3:00 p.m. and we arrived early. We could have paid an additional $10.00 to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KentPharo
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon at the Lodge!

houston, texas
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

We had such a blast here with our kids!! This was the first time I've ever stayed in a hotel where EVERY person who worked there was so nice! They were so willing and eager to help in any way they could!! The food was awsome, and the rooms were so clean!! My kids LOVED the pool and us adults...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nicolefontes
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and I'm very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you all again very soon at the Lodge!

Queens, NY
Reviewed 14 February 2016

While on vacation we decided to stay at Monarch Mountain Lodge because it seemed to be the closest to Monarch Mountain. Very reasonable prices, shuttle to and from the mountain upon request. Two outdoor hot tubs which we loved hanging out in after a day on the slopes, an indoor heated pool and game room also. Staff was very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank edmunds13
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! Wifi is an issue at times with us being 18 miles away from town and on the side of a mountain. I'm glad you had a good time and we hope to see you again soon at The Lodge!!

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 13 February 2016

I recently stayed here for one night so I could ski Monarch mountain. The staff were all very friendly! I ate dinner at the restaurant on site. Chili and corn bread both very good. The room was spacious and extremely clean. I was supposed to stay two nights but had some "kid drama" I had to go home to take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barb B
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Barb, Thank you for your kind review, and I'm glad we were able to exceed your expectations! We hope to see you again soon at the Lodge!

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 12 February 2016

There's not one thing I can say bad about this lodge! The entire staff was so friendly and helpful, I truly couldn't have asked for a better stay with my three kids and wife. We will be making this our family vacation for many years to come, can't wait for the next trip there!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanine704
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review!! I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon at The Lodge!!

colorado springs
Reviewed 11 February 2016

This lodge is the place to stay if you want ready to go skiing. It has a shuttle to take you to the Monarch Ski This resort is a very friendly place to stay and the rooms are clean. The staff and management really aim to a please, but it is an older property with some of the disadvantages that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tripsister
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon at The Lodge!

Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

This place is a classic old ski lodge. Not fancy or posh, but friendly and fascinating. It recently reopened and the new owners are obviously not able to do all improvements at once, but that's OK because they seem motivated to keep lots of the old world charm of a ski lodge. It was clean and convenient. The pool was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grantave
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We're continuing to remodel, and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the Lodge!

Highland Village, Texas
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We were pulling a travel trailer and broke down right in front of Monarch Mountain Lodge. They allowed us to pull into their parking lot and stay in our camper over night while our car was being repaired in Salida. Every employee we talked with was extremely nice! We loved the amazing grounds with waterfalls right in back. They allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camille S
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

I'm glad we were able to make a challenging situation a bit easier for you. Thanks for your kind words, and we definitely hope to see you this summer at the Lodge!!

Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here over the weekend and after reading other reviews, was a little hesitant. Our stay however, was worth every penny. The rooms were nice and just as nice as staying at a Hampton Inn. The only complaint I would have is that the beds kind of sank in towards the middle. Other than that, great!! The bathrooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jessoat
Don P, Director of Sales at Monarch Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon here at the Lodge!!

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monarch
24.8 km away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
26.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
26.0 km away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
75 reviews
23.1 km away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
24.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Monarch Mountain Lodge is in the heart of the Rockies and surrounded by the San Isabel National Forest. Re-opened in Feb. 2015 Under new ownership, the guest rooms have been repainted, re-carpeted, and refurnished for a more modern feel. We've also put brand new tile in our lobby and restaurant, and fresh carpet in common areas. We are just 4 miles from the Monarch Mountain Ski Area, and given our unique location, the possibilities in terms of outdoor activities are virtually endless. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monarch Mountain Lodge

Address: 22720 W US Highway 50, Monarch, CO 81201-9406
Region: United States > Colorado > Monarch
Price Range: RM411 - RM586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monarch Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monarch Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monarch Mountain Hotel Monarch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monarch Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Monarch Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great location to ski slopes”
kdrabens, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring your own food!”
jldono2, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views, close to Monarch Mountain”
afuchsFox, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with balcony totally worth it (view to the mountain)”
154vin_ciusg, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First floor are the pet suites and very convenient to the pool, hot tubs and arcade.”
Angiedaweeze, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5