We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

High Country Lodge

Save
Traveller (144)
Room & Suite (190)
Dining (26)
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“wolf creek”(62 reviews)
“tubing hill”(16 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from High Country Lodge
Special Offer: 🍳FREE BREAKFAST
Offers from High Country Lodge
Special Offer: 🍳FREE BREAKFAST
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
422
144
43
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
422
144
43
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswolf creektubing hillwood burning stovelog cabincoffee machinehot springsbiscuits and gravydvd playergreat place to stayfront porchroad noisehard boiled eggstwo queen bedsnice breakfastmain buildingthe breakfast areacontinental breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

I can't say enough about what a terrible experience this was - from hiking the room rate when we got there from a phone quote we got that very morning, to very uncomfortable beds and small accommodations, to charging us for 3 extra days for...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank laurvp
Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We absolutely LOVED our stay here. We stayed in cabin 409 and it was adorable. I expected to “rough it” a little, but it was so cozy! Even better than the pictures. It had everything we needed and more. Radiant heat, plenty of closet space,...More

Thank Shara H
Response from HCL3821, Manager at High Country LodgeResponded 5 February 2018

We are so jazzed that you had such a wonderful stay-this is what we want for all of our guests. We appreciate all the details because it gives other travelers an idea of what to expect at High Country Lodge, and what we are really...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean cabin, great hot tubs, functional kitchen (We made two suppers while there), friendly staff, extensive DVD collection, comfy bed, our only suggestion would be to clean the coffee pot in the room a bit better(It probably could have used a good descaling). Otherwise,...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amoutoux
Response from HCL3821, Manager at High Country LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

Sounds like you had a great stay while here, and really enjoyed our cabin. Sorry about the coffee pot-housekeeping has been informed. We enjoyed hosting you and hope you will make us your home away from home whenever you are in this corner of Colorado!...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On a long road trip to the Grand Canyon. One of our stops was supposed to be Glenwood Springs, unfortunately snow shut I70 down causing us to reroute to Pagosa Springs last minute. Our children were initially disappointed but then we booked a cabin here...More

1  Thank shellharman
Response from HCL3821, Manager at High Country LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. It really makes our day when guests let us know how much they enjoyed their stay and that they appreciate the whole package we try to deliver at High Country Lodge.Keeping our guests happy and helping them make great...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Year after year we return. Good location, clean rooms, hot tubs and more. Have never stayed in one of their cabins, but, I would recommend it for families. The breakfast put of has a good selection in a comfortable dining area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jpapson
Response from HCL3821, Manager at High Country LodgeResponded 2 weeks ago

We always appreciate our long time return guests, and its always a pleasure to see familiar faces. On one of your trips, you might want to try one of our rustic cabins-they're habit forming! Thanks for your kind review-we hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$107 - US$1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$107 - US$1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (144)
Room & Suite (190)
Dining (26)
Pool & Beach (8)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Amenities (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mswonderful4u
10 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mo M | Reviewed this property |
this is high ski season some years. but i would call and talk to the hotel
0
Votes
Judy G
23 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from HCL3821 | Property representative |
High Country Lodge has 3 outdoor hot tubs and a Sauna. No pool.
0
Votes
Linda200862
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from John K | Reviewed this property |
There are no restaurants within walking distance. The High Country Lodge is on the highway that goes over Wolf Creek Pass. You will have to drive into town for everything. A lot of the new places in Pagosa Springs are on... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Get a room on the seco0ond floor on the end or better yet - a cabin."
Read review
"Did not have a couch as they had promised!"
Read review
"Get firewood."
Read review
"Vacuum the room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing