We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area

Booking.comUS$93*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$93*
US$93*
US$93*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Russellville, Tennessee
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We stayed at this Holiday Inn because we had to travel to Connecticut from Tennessee for a funeral. We arrived Friday evening after driving 16 hours. All we wanted was to eat and sleep. We ordered room service from the restaurant for dinner. The food and service was excellent. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and my cousin loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Csheeshka
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Hello Csheeshka, Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, CT and taking the time to post your feedback. First and foremost, your review was a wonderful read, it is just frustrating that with all the good things you mentioned, it had to end with a tragedy. I would have loved to read that the stay was...

Reviewed 8 December 2016

I really like this hotel. The front desk staff is always accommodating and friendly. What stands out at this hotel to me is the service that the bartender (Terry) gives. She is always so nice to everyone that she is serving and knows everybody's name....whether they are there once a year or once a month. Overall, the top notch service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
Salem, New Hampshire
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Our room smelled like mold. It took two hours to get a burger because there was only one chef yet the hotel was fully booked. My children went to the desk to get candy bars 3. Different times, the same candy bars were a different price each time. The pool was full but there were no towels. My husband gave...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jadtino
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Jadtino, Thanks for the time you invested in posting your review. We regret that your stay at the Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, CT was not satisfactory. Having to wait two hours for a burger you ordered and having your sleep disrupted by housekeeping. We thank you for these observation and we want to assure you that it will...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We were very well received at the reception by smiling and happy speaking receptionists. We got a nice room, but missing a few things in the room, including soap and toilet paper. It was obviously delivered with a great excuse. The hotel is well and centrally located, and it's easy to get to and from the hotel and on highways.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReenFri
Reviewed 2 November 2016

When we arrived at the hotel, all seemed well and good. Arrived to our room (801) and we were hit with the overwhelming smell of smoke and mildew. We were on our way out to dinner and let the girl at the front desk know that we would be back in a couple hours and that we would like for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karlene W
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Karlene W, Thank you for choosing our brand and we are grateful for the time you've invested in posting an informative feedback. We are sorry to hear that the room allocated was not to your liking and that you were met with disappointments with our front desk and restaurant staff. We strive to live up to our brand standards...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Booking claimed 3.5 stars, but definitely not more than 2.5. Clean enough, but nothing special. Broken frame on the art in the bathroom, coffee maker cord had to be run across the desk to plug in, only decaf provided, tissue box empty, one key card doesn't work. All were remedied on request by the friendly front desk staff, but that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Daniel H, Your insights are important to us and we appreciate your visit at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, CT. It is good to know that our front desk staff was able to assist you promptly and that you found your room to be well-kept. However, we are sorry to hear that the bathroom was unexceptional and that the...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were so pleased to find the staff of the Holiday Inn in Hartford so remarkably kind and helpful. From the check-in staff to the dining room staff, everyone was more than happy to help and quick to offer a smile. The room was large and, for the most part, clean. My partner noticed that the rug could have used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The receptionist was great, she explained to us where everything was. She was friendly, but professional. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable and spacious. I would definitely stay there again if I needed a hotel room in the Hartford area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly L
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Very nice hotel with friendly restaurant and bar staff Room is comfortable. No fridge or microwave in the room. Shower was nice with full flow adjustment and lots of hot water. Location was convenient to route two and a nice location setting

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Turbinator223456
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The published check in time is 3:00pm but we were informed our room was not ready. We were eventually allowed into our room well after 4:00pm. There was a similar problem for several other visitors who also had lengthy waits, and several of them were getting very agitated. It would seem that staffing levels, and /or management, need a drastic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IAN B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear IAN B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for the level of service you received from our staff. Your feedback is...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hartford
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
1.2 km away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
1,052 reviews
0.8 km away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
399 reviews
1.6 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Easily accessible from Interstates 91 and 84 and located only 12 miles from Bradley International Airport, Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area features 215 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites. Additionally, there is more than 7,200 square feet of meeting and event spaces. Plus a restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area

Address: 100 E River Dr, East Hartford, CT 06108-3233 (Formerly Hartford Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Connecticut > East Hartford
Price Range: RM458 - RM722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel East Hartford
Sheraton East Hartford
East Hartford Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure of a good tip,but all rooms are accessible by elevator.”
Bjackman, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“8th floor had upgraded bathroom”
chriswQ9239EY, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Love the pillows!!”
Csheeshka, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I will not stay here again and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I will be sending a letter stating this.”
Jadtino, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here.”
karlenew2014, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$93* /night
View Deal
HolidayInn.comUS$93
Expedia.comUS$93
TripAdvisorUS$93
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates