We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This place did not only offer clean comfortable rooms, but, the resteraunt/bar experience was acceptional. Spearheaded by lead bartender Terry, the bar experience was second to none. Her outgoing demeanor, coupled with her in depth knowlege of the industry made her a top notch server/mixologist. I would recommend a trip to this bar to anyone, including locals looking for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian H
dweber2014, Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Greetings Christian , Thank you for your kind review of our property. I will be sure to share your bar experience with Terry and more often than not she will remember your name and usually your choice beverage should your travels find you in our area. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we very much look forward...

Hartford, CT
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Last night we had our Delegate Assembly at this hotel. The staff crushed the scene...they responded quickly to every request. Provided food for 60 people more than planned on with smiling faces and speedy responses. Other staff came in to help in the bar and all orders were met. As the event planner, I especially appreciated all their work. Terrific!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, We truly appreciate your kind comments! Thank you so much for your feedback and favorable rating. We hope to see you again for your next event. All the best, Johan Liebenberg

Northport, New York
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here Saturday night, May 3, 2014 and would highly recommend it. The room and bathroom were very very clean, the free wi-fi was fast 1.8 mps, the king size bed was nice and firm and the variety, firm and soft, of pillows were great and everything was comfortable. The front service desk was very helpful and friendly. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel. We hope to see you again soon. All the best, Johan Liebenberg

New Providence, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Never stayed here before but we decided to break up our trip to Boston. We were pleasantly surprised. We arrived at night but it was a snap to get to from the highway. Everything looked pretty new and the room was very comfortable and clean. We were happy with everything and the price ($99) was nice too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Det963
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel. Many travelers comment on the accessibility of our location and how easy it is to get onto Route 2, I84 and I95 from our hotel. We hope your travels bring you our way again soon. Thanks again, Johan Liebenberg

Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel has no hot water. The hot water did not work the night before and this morning was still out. And no refunds or discounts offered. Avoid the hotel. It is clean and nicely appointed but the absence of hot water and the poor response kills the quality,

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul G
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Paul, I am so sorry that you were affected by our boiler breakdown last Wednesday, please accept my sincere apologies. I would greatly appreciate to make this right by you. Please feel free to contact me on my direct line at 860-528-2305. Apologetically, Johan Liebenberg

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I happened upon the Holiday Inn due to my daughter school. She was rowing with her classmates from Dartmouth school. This appears to be a tough area for the Hotel and what appears to be unauthorized parties. My husband and I had to witness the unfortunate displacement of a guest and about 20 of her friends. I had the pleasure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Dear Nick R, Thank you so much for your kind review of our "HOME". I truly enjoy listening to the real world experiences of our guests and I am very happy to hear that the way my team handled a tough situation did not negatively affect your stay while you daughter's rowing team was in Hartford. I will be sure...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a good stay at this Holiday Inn this past Saturday night. The check-in/check-out was easy. Taking the elevator to the 2nd floor, we had a bedroom with one king size bed. The room/bathroom were very clean. There were extra pillows and towels which were appreciated. We really liked the shampoo/conditioner/lotion provided as they were of a very good brand/quality....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BostonWombat
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! Although short, I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I always look for ways to improve our products and services offered and I truly appreciate it when people like you take some time to share their experiences with us. I feel that feedback such...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Quite simply an excellent stay. It appeared super new (newly renovated I understand), super clean and super comfortable (omg....sooooo super comfortable!!). The bed was like sleeping on cloud9 - and included a pillow menu. Even the chair and foot stool were comfortable - and I never usually comment on the chair... But it was great. Great crystal clear digital TV....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen B
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I am very glad to hear that we could help make you as comfortable as you were while away from home. Many people comment on how much they enjoy our bedding package and I am glad you liked it also. We hope to see you again soon. All the best, Johan Liebenberg General...

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I've stayed in the area in just about every hotel Downtown Hartford and East Hartford . Like , most my job brings me here. I'm going to say hands down one of my favorite places to stay! Since change over to Holiday Inn the rooms are well maintained and house keeping will and are ready to help when they can....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darlene C
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you will be back and we look forward to seeing you again. Also, you will be happy to know that we are currently in the process of finding more service staff for our restaurant and lounge. All the best and see you soon,...

Northford, Connecticut
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Bought room on Hotwire and was then charged 300.00 to my card!!! They didn't ask! When I called they said "we would have told you, but you didn't check out". What modern hotel do you have to check out of?? Ummm it's 2014, leave the key! I will NEVER stay here and don't anyone trust them with your credit card...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrissyUmi
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review

As discussed between you and our Front Office Manager when you called, the $300 charge was for damage caused to the room during your stay. I apologize for not notifying you of this charge before you checked out. We had no way of knowing that there was damage to the room until our housekeeping department went to clean it after...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hartford
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
1.2 km away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
987 reviews
1.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 11 in Hartford
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
1.7 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Easily accessible from Interstates 91 and 84 and located only 12 miles from Bradley International Airport, Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area features 215 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites. Additionally, there is more than 7,200 square feet of meeting and event spaces. Plus a restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area

Address: 100 E River Dr, East Hartford, CT 06108-3233 (Formerly Hartford Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Connecticut > East Hartford
Price Range: RM445 - RM721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel East Hartford
Sheraton East Hartford
East Hartford Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I will not stay here again and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I will be sending a letter stating this.”
 of 5 bubbles Jadtino, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles karlenew2014, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Extra Nice pillows”
 of 5 bubbles Turbinator223456, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the drink / ice machines”
 of 5 bubbles Eupms, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on second floor, so you don't have to wait for an elevator. Use the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Explorer100, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay