We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown

0.6 km from Hartford centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 32: English reviews
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stayed here for 5 nights around Sept end and was pleasantly surprised. It is a great hotel for the price they charge and is an absolute value for money property. Loved the views facing the Capitol and is a 2 min walk to Downtown Hartford.The rooms are decently sized and have a great bed! The only problem we had was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aanya2203
i0498, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Aanya2203, Thank you for your recent stay and thank you for taking the time out to comment on your experience. The team here at the Red Roof Plus Hartford strive to provide excellent services at all time. We are delighted that you appreciated the services that we offered while you stayed with us. We continue to work on what...

Center Moriches, New York
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We went on a roadtrip without booking a place to stay. In the past, I have not been happy with Redroof Inn in the past, but I can't say that about this one. Great price, at the last minute using the internet, clean, friendly staff, continental breakfast included. I would definately stay here again, as well as recommend it to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VikiJBV2016
i0498, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Dear VikiJB2016, Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time out to comment on your experience! We are happy that you were please with the services you received while staying with us. We strive to deliver excellent services at all time and put a WOW in every guest stay. VikiJB2016, we can't wait...

Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

It didn't start off to good, check-in was very lengthy. The young woman was alone behind the desk and was dealing with a large group when I arrived. She was pleasant and attentive to everyone waiting. Talk about multitasking. She offered waters & granola bars to those of us waiting. Even though it was unpleasant to wait, you couldn't fault...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank joriv1213
i0498, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Joriv1213, Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. At the Red Roof Plus Hartford we strive for excellent service and I am please to hear that you were happy with your stay and have recommended us to other travelers. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your...

East Hartford
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I made reservations on Hot Wire with my fiancé and sadly We weren't impressed by the appearance, location and reviews of this hotel when we drove by to see it. We were told it was a 3.5 to 4 star hotel. Successfully, we were able to cancel our reservation and obtain a full refund.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Tara C, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. However, we regret to read that we did not meet your expected accommodation due to the appearance and location of the hotel. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The location is very nice right across from Bushnell Park. We had a stunning view of the State house from our window. The room was nice and pleasantly decorated with comfortable beds. Coffeemaker and efficient WIFI. Ample with outlets fir charging phones, PCs and so on. We were however three staying in the room (which our reservation confirmed). Still cups...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EllenChr
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Dear EllenChr, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express Hartford Downtown, CT. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for your nice comment about the room. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding...

Pune, India
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Located very near from downtown, walking distance. Rooms are clean and housekeeping service is good to. Has good view for Bushnell park. Drawback is no restaurant, have to goto downtown. Has BF included.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aamitg
i0498, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Aamitg, Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience while staying with us. We strive to provide excellent service at all times here at the Red Roof Plus Hartford and is happy to hear that you were pleased with the services rendered to you. We do not...

Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 August 2016

While this hotel is in a convenient location, it does leave a bit to be desired. There are multiple options for (paid) parking, but when booking you are only informed of the $17 lot at the hotel. Half a block before the hotel is a lot for $10 overnight. The doors to the rooms are not soundproof, and don't come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KnitWit G
i0498, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown, responded to this review

Dear KnitWit G, Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment on your experience while staying with the Red Roof Plus Hartford. Making our guest feel welcomed and appreciated is our top priority so I am happy that you were pleased with the service you received...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We went to Hartford for a concert at Black eyed Sally restaurant and wanted to stay within walking distance of restaurant,the last year we stayed at holmwood suites, we decided to stay at Red roof as it was close and cost was moderate. We came early so we paid extra for an upgrade for a room with great views, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beverley d
Reviewed 3 August 2016

we came to know this hotel through Hotwire. it was a good experience. the rate was very reasonable; 83CAN$ for 3 adults + 17$ parking. for the breakfast who was supposed to end at 9AM, surprisingly it was closed before that time. but later on the manager offered to bring us some donuts from Dunkin Donuts but we already had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Razek S
Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Visited with my wife during a long 6,000 miles road trip from and to Chicago. The hotel is well placed in downtown next to Bushnell Park directly opposite the beautiful State Capitol building. It occupies 9 floors but only the top 4 or 5 floors on the front of the building have a view of the Capitol and these are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoffers1817

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
1,022 reviews
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.8 km away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
0.7 km away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The rooms at the 100% Smoke-Free Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown offer a completely remodeled and upgraded stay! This hotel is conveniently located near many great restaurants, such as Black Eyed Sally's-Southern Kitchen & Bar, Hot Tomato's Ristorante - Italian Fare and Parkview, Black Bear Saloon, The Tavern Downtown, and Agave Grill. Local attractions include Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, Connecticut Science Center, XFINITY Theatre (formerly Comcast), The Mark Twain House, University of Hartford, Hartford Fairgrounds, Lutz Children's Museum, and Dinosaur State Park, all within 11 miles of the hotel! If you enjoy the excitement of casinos, Foxwoods Casino Resort and Mohegan Sun Casino are both just a thirty five minute drive from the hotel. Mystic Seaport: The Museum of America and the Sea in Mystic, Connecticut is the largest maritime museum in the world, and it is less than an hour away from this Red Roof PLUS+. The hotel is also located near corporations such as Met Life, Aetna, The Hartford, and Prudential. Union Station, which provides easy transportation including Amtrak and city bus service, is located within walking distance. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our newly renovated rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke-Free inn feature new, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, new high-end bedding, new flooring, and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with a snack ready in your room! Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown is set in an amazing downtown location. The hotel is centrally located and close to restaurants, bars, transportation, and the beautiful Bushnell park. The hotel features free WiFi, two elevators, interior corridors, a fitness facility, and in-room safes. Complimentary coffee & tea are offered in the lobby and one well- behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown

Address: 440 Asylum Street, Hartford, CT 06103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Price Range: RM384 - RM629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hartford-Downtown Hotel Hartford
Holiday Inn Hartford
Hartford Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Providence, Rhode Island
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Hartford, Connecticut
over a year ago
San Jose, California
Hartford, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front of building, third floor or higher”
 of 5 bubbles loveourpond, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“you really want a room outlooking bushnell park”
 of 5 bubbles CandylynnM, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You pay for parking. We had a view of the parking lot. The rooms were clean but the bathroom is very small.”
 of 5 bubbles robertlW9192LO, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Capitol facing room, it's the quieter side of the building”
 of 5 bubbles Snonut800, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher Floors facing Capitol view”
 of 5 bubbles Aanya2203, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5