We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Rocky River Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
The Rocky River Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Rocky River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Blarney, Ireland
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Staff was very nice. The room was nice, shabby chic decor, my only complaint no coffee pot and no coffee nearby. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Grounds are nicely kept, it snowed while we were here and the snow was cleared when I went out at 730/am.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
traceys landing
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Ive made 3 trips to New Milford in the past two months and stayed in my usual chain Hotel (HI). My client had recommended Rocky River Inn, stating the recent changes they've gone though and spoke highly about it. After spending 2 nights at the usual, dealing with neighborly noises and construction, in hopes of more comfort and quiet I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mike_rfiservices
Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We have stayed at this Inn numerous times while visiting friends in the area. It is clean, quiet and has very comfortable beds. We always reserve the deluxe room in the new part of the complex. My one comment that I noticed during my stay over the weekend...that the carpets are badly stained and really need to be replaced. Don't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gracieMassachusetts
columbia,ct
Reviewed 21 September 2015

booked the family run entire inn, 35 rooms for a 4 day rally for our group ranging in age from mid 30's to over 70. Couldn't have worked out better. Perfect spacious setting for serving as a home base for great rides, great rooms, not one complaint from anyone and allowing us to have a campfire on the grounds at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dcinct
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Large, new room (Rms 121-128 per prior review). New, stylish wall paper. Clean carpet. Good size bathroom, looked new. Large flat screen TV. Fridge and microwave. Super-comfortable pillow top bed, nice linens. Jacuzzi tub in bedroom itself, not really a plus to me. Really nice Tiffany style lamp with 2 chain pulls, on bedside table. New furniture, large scroll-work head...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tippler1565
Walpole, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 August 2015

My husband found this "inn" (really a motel) when searching for pet-friendly lodging close to a musical venue in nearby Pawling, NY. He made our reservation by phone; and was VERY specific while talking at length with the clerk that we would be accompanied by our yellow Labrador Retriever. The reservation was made on May 23rd for a stay on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank cathy w
Themilestone, Manager at The Rocky River Inn, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, First, let me apologize to you for the huge inconvenience you had to bare and thank you for the kind word about the first room you were originally checked into. The original room was pet friendly that’s why you were given that room. We had no intentions of moving you nor was there a mix up in the...

Ocklawaha, Florida
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Inn was right near where we needed to be, was clean, Clerk was friendly and helpful and even upgraded us to a King Jr. suite for no extra charge. Would stay there again.Close to New Milford for all types of food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richlo2001
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 May 2015

The outside is unassuming, but our room was large, modern, and clean, with a view of the river. Bathroom was also large and well supplied. Beds were comfy with comforters, wifi worked well, and we thought it was delightful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julie57s
E Hampton
Reviewed 20 October 2014

We booked a junior suite so we could stay comfortably while enjoying the local wineries and foliage. The Inn was not well marked from the road and we had a little trouble finding the office. Once we checked in we found we were upstairs. The walls at the stairs are totally beat up and need attention. The room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cathie H
Dayton, OR
Reviewed 3 October 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at Rocky River Inn. The sign to locate the hotel from the highway is a little obscure under dim lighting but on the 2nd try we found it. There is ample free parking. The room we had was large, clean and comfortable. There was a minor housekeeping issue but that is almost impossible to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ram1995

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milford
10.0 km away
Newbury Inn
Newbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Brookfield
58 reviews
12.4 km away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
223 reviews
18.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#3 of 15 in Danbury
645 reviews
25.4 km away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
208 reviews
2.7 km away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#2 of 3 in New Milford
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Two newly constructed buildings offering modern and comfortable lodging at the most reasonable price in Litchfield County. Free WiFi,Fridge, Microwaves, are just some of the free amenities that are standard in your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rocky River Inn

Address: 236 Kent Road, New Milford, CT 06776
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Milford
Price Range: RM397 - RM563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rocky River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Rocky River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rocky River Hotel New Milford
Rocky River Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rocky River Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Rocky River Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lux rooms are newer and better located”
 of 5 bubbles 239dianeb, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“budget prices excellent quality! beautiful grounds to walk near the river”
 of 5 bubbles marymH7143CZ, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a luxury room in the new building-- it is well worth the $15 extra dollars.”
 of 5 bubbles gothamcitymom, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“ask for renovated room - a bit more $ but well worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles eaelkins2016, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe grade rooms have view of the Housatonic River”
 of 5 bubbles Gilbie_9, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay