We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Homestead Inn

Orbitz.comUS$123*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$167*
US$123*
US$167*
US$167*
US$123*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Homestead Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
Start your review of Homestead Inn
 Click to rate
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Homestead Inn is a beautiful and comfortable getaway. Bob and Renee are the heart of this inviting place. I highly recommend this place to everyone and I'd love to come back sometime! There are lots of great and unique shops and restaurants within walking distance. You can't leave before experiencing the Elephant's Trunk Flea Market!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 711mandy
Jaffrey, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The wife and I just stayed at the Homestead Inn and the stay could not have been better. Bob and Renee are the nicest people. They ensured we had everything we needed. The room and area outside the inn were all very clean and well maintained. The room was nice. I do like a shower with good water pressure and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James R
Hackensack, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this Inn overnight with another couple. It was clean, a great location and comfortable. The Innkeepers were very helpful and accommodating. My friends are on a special diet and they made a unique breakfast for them. The regular breakfast was delicious!! We went to the Elephant Trunk Flea Market and it was only a few miles away....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fenian71
Youghal, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I run a small software business in town and I insist that our remote employees stay at this Inn when they visit. With each visit I hear great feedback from the employees that their stay was exceptional in every way. If you are staying in New Milford this is THE place to stay! Thanks Bob and Renee for treating our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
Long Beach Township, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I decided to do some antiquing in CT for our 33rd anniversary weekend and wanted to find a B&B close to the Elephant's Trunk. We were incredibly pleased with our choice of the Homestead Inn. We were in the Bostwick Room on the first floor. The bathroom was small but modern and the entire inn is immaculate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pjk926
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 11 April 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed at Homestead in March of 2017. We live in New York City and had planned a relaxing weekend getaway. Homestead Inn came up on our search for an affordable Bed and Breakfast and we decided to give it a try. Bob and Renee were extremely warm and friendly hosts and went out of their way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foxhamilton1999
Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Book early at this quaint, warm-hearted Inn. There are no other options in this area that come anywhere close to the experience you will have at the Homestead B&B. Bob & Renee are excellent hosts who quickly become dear friends. Every breakfast is daily surprise menu that never disappoints. This refurbished historic home has quality modern conveniences with the warmth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GBD777
Homesteadct_com, Innkeeper at Homestead Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, it is always a joy to hear from our guests, especially when we have had the opportunity to share several days with them and get to know them better. We look forward to seeing you again in June. Our desire is to always show how much we appreciate that you chose to stay with...

Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Reviewed 11 March 2017

My husband and I stayed just one night at this lovely inn just around the corner from Main Street. It is newly renovated, beautifully decorated and immaculate. The rooms were spotless. The hosts Renee and Bob are a delightful couple and went out of their way to ensure that our brief stay was perfection. They served a delicious breakfast Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
Homesteadct_com, innkeeper at Homestead Inn, responded to this review

Beth, I do hope you will come back and stay with us in warmer weather and enjoy the beautiful Litchfield Hills' great outdoors. You and Mark were equally delightful. It was a real treat to meet someone who knows Rick Wolf. In the inn-keeping world, the co-founder of the B&B Team is like a celebrity to us!☺ ♥Renee

Nampa, Idaho
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Recently stayed with my wife as we visited family. Couldn't decide on which room to stay in, so spent a night in the Monroe and Kennedy rooms. The inn was immaculate and the hosts Bob and Renee were amazing. French toast breakfast was one of the best I've ever had. Will stay here every time I'm in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbwhatnot81
Homesteadct_com, Innkeeper at Homestead Inn, responded to this review

Renee here. You guys are people after my own heart....can't decide which room to stay in? Heck, just book them both! It was fun watching as Molly seemed to be channeling her inner Marilyn Monroe, but likewise she clearly enjoyed Kennedy's 2 person Jacuzzi tub. So next time you'll choose.....?

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

We loved it here. We stayed in the two room cottage in the back. The inn keepers are extremely attentive to every last detail. They made sure we were comfortable, and saw to our every need. We played chess in their lounge with a cup of tea and a goodie. A very pleasant atmosphere and walking distance to the town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
Homesteadct_com, Innkeeper at Homestead Inn, responded to this review

Chess and a goodie in the Farley Room (parlor) and Scrabble and beverages in the Cottage "living room"---yes, I'd say you guys definitely know how to make the most of a B&B good time! Next time, we'll flip the game table top and you can play a rousing round of backgammon!☺☺Renee

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milford
10.2 km away
Grace Mayflower Inn & Spa
Grace Mayflower Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Washington
234 reviews
23.8 km away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
223 reviews
9.4 km away
Newbury Inn
Newbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Brookfield
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
725 reviews
22.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
2.7 km away
The Rocky River Inn
The Rocky River Inn
#2 of 3 in New Milford
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This quaint sixteen room Inn is located at the North end of the New Milford Green, the longest town Green in New England. Your visit with us includes our hearty continental breakfast served every glorious morning in our Victorian dining room. Enjoy a variety of yogurts, cereals, jams, cheeses, fruits, breads, muffins, juices, teas and coffee. And don't pass up the opportunity to try our signature dishes: fluffy egg bakes, bread puddings, French toast bakes, homemade breads and of course, Bill's (Not So) Secret Waffles which are talked about around the globe. This lovely corner of the Litchfield Hills offers something for everyone: fine dining; great antiquing; a wealth of trails for hiking, running, and cycling; lakes and rivers for boating, beaching, rowing and fishing; slopes for skiing and snowboarding; parks and playgrounds; local farms with seasonal fruits for the picking; year round festivals that showcase art, dance, and music; and so much more! And for those who don't want to stray too far from the Inn, downtown New Milford is just a short walk away. Main Street, Bank Street and Railroad Street are lined with shops and offer a wealth of restaurants - Italian, German, Mexican, Chinese, and Irish, just to name a few. Enjoy a self-guided tour of the town's antique homes, buildings, and churches; take in a movie at the Bank St. Theater; delight in the many summer concerts on the Green or simply take a stroll around the Canterbury School campus where both President John F. Kennedy and Paris Hilton were once students. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Address: 5 Elm St, New Milford, CT 06776-2903
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Milford
Price Range: RM550 - RM1,031 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homestead Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel New Milford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Homestead Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
6 months ago

Thank you for the kind words. We try to be all about service here at the Homestead and it sounds like we managed to meet that expectation set for ourselves.

I apologize for not following up on some of the important observations you shared in your review, sooner. In deed, I was filling in as innkeeper for owners Bill & Sherry Greenman while you visited. Unfortunately, Bill never made it home from that trip as he passed away from cancer after a month-long stay in the hospital in Seattle, WA. I mention this for 2 reasons: 1) Bill had been very ill the past several years; apparently, more ill than he had let on, even to his wife. As he spent 3+ years regularly undergoing radiation, chemo and various surgeries, his stamina just wasn't the same and once the cancer metastasized to the brain effecting his vision, among many other things, his ability to keep up with the aesthetic maintenance of the Inn was definitely compromised. As Sherry spent all of her time caring for Bill and providing for guests as time allowed and as best she could, her ability to pay more attention to such things was also limited; 2) while Sherry will maintain ownership of the Homestead, she has hired me as full-time Innkeeper and I, in turn, have begun increasing our staff so as to be able to address many of the things you referenced in your review.

At present, we are diligently working to spruce up the Main House and the Treadwell Annex with newer flooring and draperies. Some new guestroom bath fixtures are anticipated in the near future. Our new gardener has been hard at work on our gardens for which we hope to add better seating come Spring. We have also hired a professional chef who we expect will make some great additions to our hearty continental breakfast, though we promise to always offer Bill's famous waffles and Sherry's raved about egg bake!

You are certainly not the first guest to point out that our typically Victorian staircase can pose a challenge for some. I am in the process of providing a major information overhaul of our website; this will be one of the many specifics addressed in our updated descriptions. Additionally, when taking reservations over the phone, this is now something we specifically mention to all guests.

As for being asked for payment at time of check-in, we are finding that this is becoming an increasingly common practice among small B&Bs such as ours. It didn't always used to be this way! We felt it necessary to make this policy change a few years back when we experienced an increasing number of instances where guests would leave their room key in their guest room and "sneak out" prior to breakfast, never having paid for their stay. I suppose another alternative would be to do what the big chain hotels do, which is to record guests's credit card information at time of check in and keep it on file. Personally, I'd rather not have my credit card info retained as such, indefinitely.

I am open to suggestions and of course, we're always willing to work with our guests individually to do what makes them most comfortable and ensures that when they leave us, they do indeed feel that the Homestead is one of the best B&Bs they've ever visited!

Again, I thank you for this constructive criticism. It is extremely useful in helping us move forward and plan for the future.

With gratitude,

Francesca Morrissey

over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Homestead Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Monroe or Kennedy rooms are amazing”
jbwhatnot81, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if you can get a room in the main house, not a bad pick and all have there own special character.”
robertsD1903DX, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Sherman and Boardman rooms are the best. Monroe suite roomy but no view.”
NellyBligh, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Monroe room was beautifully decorated and comfortable.”
mertoneileen, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go to the website to see the rooms online, then choose from among a variety of sizes and decorating styles.”
margaretdonlin, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$123* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$167
TripAdvisorUS$123
Expedia.comUS$123
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates