We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 351: English reviews
Start your review of The Beach Hotel
 Click to rate
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here with our two friends for 4 days at the end of trip along the Garden Route. The hotel is situated across the road from probably the best beach in Port Elizabeth and right next door to the Boardwalk, with all its shops and restaurants. We were met at our car by Greatermans, who was so friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnandpam103
Knysna
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Loved the position- right by the boardwalk and the beach and the pier. Great morning walk or jog along the sea. Fabulous verandah to have drinks and breakfast. Very well maintained. Large room with large bathroom, great pillows .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suyenneb
Oakland, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

High marks. First, a great feel in the hotel. Open and breezy. Great views of the surf. Wifi is robust and uncapped. Just 2 minutes walk from many restaurants and shops (safe even after dark). Great staff. One of the housekeeping supervisors, Mrs. Caroline Khani, went out of her way to help make me feel welcome and at home. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertFromTheStates
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you for your review and support. I will certainly let Caroline know her efforts were appreciated. Brilliant to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The website shows this hotel at its best, in reality the rooms are a little tired, BUT don't judge a book by its cover. The staff, service and food make this hotel and whilst the rooms are from another era the rest makes up for it. One nice touch is the variety of plugs to charge from South African, European...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank issywiggy
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you for your review and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is pretty good on the sea front and the rooms are perfectly comfortable with the the odd tired or broken thing (our windows barely closed let alone locked). But there is this all pervading smell of greasy cooking throughout. Even with open windows we couldn't shift it. The bar and restaurant clearly serve a lot of fried food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariemusicademy
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your review. Very sad to hear that you did not enjoy your time here with us. I will be sure to investigate the matters you have raised and best see to solutions as well as implement corrective action. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in South Africa. Kind Regards...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel looked lovely from the outside, but our room was in the annexe, accessed via the housekeepers' corridor. Fridge did not work, and our window ( no hope of a sea view! ) opened on to the smokers' courtyard. Big Mistake.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daramary
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your review and insight. So sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for raising the matters and I can assure you that the best possible solutions will be put in place. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasant staff, with a very cheerful house maid, good food in all the restaurants but let down by bathroom issues. Good location on the beach front being handy for long walks along the promenade. Bathroom was tired looking, with a badly leaking shower screen and constantly leaking mixer tap on the bathroom sink.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john0653
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your review and support. Sorry to hear that there were issues with your facilities. I am very glad to say that upon investigation these matters were dealt with. Wishing you safe travels in South Africa. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel overlooks the beach, great location, very comfortable rooms. Recommend having a glass of wine on the verandah. The Al a Carte restaurant has a good range of meals to suit most people. Staff were very friendly. Great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlanM827
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your review and insight. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time and experience here with us at The Beach Hotel. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Bristol
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It would be unfair to rate this well located comfortable and friendly hotel as average but we stayed here twice - first on the Monday when we had a very average room on the ground floor at the far end of the quadrangle; dark and without a sea view and second on the Saturday when we were allocated a much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alpinahed
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you kindly for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Hope you enjoy your time in the Eastern Cape. Wishing you a wonderful and safe holiday ahead. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A well situated hotel, right on the beach, opposite shark pier, and next to the Boardwalk shopping centre and casino. The hotel was nice but not outstanding, it is the oldest hotel in Port Elizabeth and the décor reflects the age it was built.The room was fine and breakfast was good. We were on the first floor and had to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vap88
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from The Beach Hotel Family, Thank you for your review and support. It is greatly appreciated. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
1:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.3 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
447 reviews
0.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
149 reviews
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
109 reviews
1.5 km away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Hotel is one Port Elizabeth's finest family hotels, situated on Port Elizabeth's magnificent beachfront, directly opposite Hobie Beach and next to the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Center. The Beach Hotel combines splendid service with quality accommodation, stylish cuisine and facilities for a perfect family holiday, business trip or relaxing getaway. The stunning four-star hotel offers homely comfort in its 58 spacious, en-suite bedrooms, some with stunning sea-views and others opening onto the tranquil courtyard. Guests are spoilt with choice, offering 3 onsite restaurants to suit everyone's palate. Enjoy a relaxing environment, sipping a cocktail white overlooking the ocean at The Verandah restaurant, or indulge in our famous buffets at The Crest. Resident foodies will love the fine dining cuisine at Ginger, voted one of the best restaurants in Port Elizabeth; it is definitely a must. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Price Range: RM483 - RM748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#7 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in rooms 1 & 2 which were fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles Johnandpam103, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A strong recommendation to stretch your budget and get one of the front rooms. A view of the ocean right from inside my room (room #3).”
 of 5 bubbles RobertFromTheStates, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea views are across a busy road but not too loud”
 of 5 bubbles mariemusicademy, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 27”
 of 5 bubbles john0653, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles alpinahed, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5