We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Beach Hotel

Expedia.comUS$113*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

412 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 359: English reviews
Kings Lynn
Reviewed 8 February 2016

We have been on a five week holiday and I can say this.is.the.worst hotel we have stayed.in. Tog e their with a cycle race starting at 3am on Sunday right in front of our room. Management of the hotel should have warned Trailfimders of this race and give n us the chance to book elsewhere. Together with poor table service.at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Team, Firstly thank you for sending through your review, we really do appreciate hearing from our guests, affording us as a Team to better improve our standards and guest experience. I am terribly sorry that the cycle tour disrupted your stay and that we let you down. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Beamish, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

We are currently stuck here and glad it's only for one night. We have a superior sea view room and yes we can see the sea but if this room is superior I would not like to see the standard rooms. The bathroom is awful the toilet is cracked. The carpet is old and tired as is the bed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suettttt
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your review and offering your perspective, allowing myself and The Beach Team to better ourselves forward. I can assure you that matters will certainly be addressed as best possible. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here but glad to see that you did...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We stayed at the adjacent hotel, so cannot comment on the hotel. However we used the restaurants often. Gingers is a more intimate restaurant but with a very good menu and outside dining, very good. The Crest restaurant has a buffet/carvery every night , which excellent and great value, adjacent to this is the Veranda restaurant which has indoor/outdoor seating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daztc
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you very much for the kind review and taking time out of your day to submit your valued feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Port Elizabeth. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 1 February 2016

The Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth is very well located near the beach.Small hotel with 3 very nice restaurants.Rooms are of a good standard.Restaurants can be very busy and it is advisable to reserve a table for dinner even if you are a resident.Hotel is close to all areas in Port Elizabeth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerryodonnell
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your valued review. Looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

This hotel was fit for purpose. Location was good, rooms had all the amenities that you need and breakfast was what you would expect, it was however, just a little tired and old fashioned in places. I wouldn’t describe the rooms as luxurious but they are definitely OK. Everything was clean which is the main thing. The biggest plus point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica O
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from The Beach Team, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We really do appreciate hearing from our guests and getting perspective from their experiences. Hope the rest of your travels went well. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 29 January 2016

The choice of food is good , the setting is beautiful , the interior is lovely , but the service is dreadful . You can really wait for ages to be served and then something will have been forgotten . It is a pity because it is in such a great spot . So if you have time to waste...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 365giannad
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Thank you for your review. We will be sure to spend more time with the restaurant staff on the Verandah. We strive for great service but it would seem that we have not delivered on this occasion. Thank you again for the review and affording The Beach Hotel Team to grow and improve.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The Beach Hotel for two nights. The location was great - right near the beach (as the name would suggest) and good for walking through the town. However, the breakfast and quality of the rooms were average for the price. We felt like we were staying in a small beachside motel in a country town - not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jandjadventures8
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for the review. We are indeed not a cold corporate hotel and I hope never will be, but rather a small family run hotel with a proud heritage and history. That being said there is absolutely no reason for breakfast being substandard and I will be sure to focus on that. Thank you for your review,...

London, UK
Reviewed 22 January 2016

I visited the hotel on several occasions on my visit to PE over the New Year period, for breakfast lunch and dinner. The reason for the many returns was the gorgeous unpretentious comfort, old fashioned genuine welcome, delicious good value food, but above all for the exceptional staff. I have to single out the amazing manager Asanele, as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnTLondon
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family, Thank you very much for taking time from your day to send this review. It is always such a treat to hear from happy guests and particularly when the efforts of the staff are noticed. I will be sure to tell Asanele and Constance. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We stayed here for one night. The common areas of the hotel are modern and comfortable with plush chairs however we found out room very small and the hallways to bedrooms and bedrooms in need of some refurbishment. We initial went to the Veranda Restaurant to have something light to eat after check in but found the menu limited so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiochelleL
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel, Many thanks for the review. Always great to hear from our guests and get perspective from your experience.

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2016

A one night stay turned into 24 hours of misery. We arrived on a Sunday when the restaurants were very busy. My husband ordered a bacon and brie sandwich. When it arrived the bacon was pale and congealed but unfortunately he ate it. Six hours later he was living in the toilet! Cannot prove it was tbe bacon but tbe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandihorwood
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel. I am very sorry to hear of your experience here with us. Truly not what we strive for with regards to our guests. I was alerted to the matter by my front office team when you checked out and can assure you that I personally checked the fridges as well as all control sheets....

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
1:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerstrand hotels
1.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.2 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
150 reviews
1.5 km away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Hotel is one Port Elizabeth's finest family hotels, situated on Port Elizabeth's magnificent beachfront, directly opposite Hobie Beach and next to the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Center. The Beach Hotel combines splendid service with quality accommodation, stylish cuisine and facilities for a perfect family holiday, business trip or relaxing getaway. The stunning four-star hotel offers homely comfort in its 58 spacious, en-suite bedrooms, some with stunning sea-views and others opening onto the tranquil courtyard. Guests are spoilt with choice, offering 3 onsite restaurants to suit everyone's palate. Enjoy a relaxing environment, sipping a cocktail white overlooking the ocean at The Verandah restaurant, or indulge in our famous buffets at The Crest. Resident foodies will love the fine dining cuisine at Ginger, voted one of the best restaurants in Port Elizabeth; it is definitely a must. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Price Range: RM449 - RM695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#8 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Although we were booked in for a sea view room on the first night it was on the side and the air conditioning was not working efficiently”
OmarK971, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room with a sea view”
Caggyot, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are lots of hotels on the strip - stay away from this one.”
Thedoc999, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in rooms 1 & 2 which were fantastic.”
Johnandpam103, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A strong recommendation to stretch your budget and get one of the front rooms. A view of the ocean right from inside my room (room #3).”
RobertFromTheStates, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$113* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$113
Booking.comUS$118
TravelocityUS$115
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates