We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven
See the most recent reviews
Showing 286: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Our son attends the University of New Haven and this is our second overnight stay in the area - both times at this hotel. I agree with some that the curb appeal definitely needs some improvement. However, the front desk staff was pleasant both times and the breakfast was pretty decent. Our room was clean, air conditioning worked perfectly, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank bgarcia171
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Bgarcia171, Thank you for sharing your glowing review of our Best Western Executive Hotel-New Haven -West Haven. it is so great to see you continue to come back and stay with us because of the comfort and cleanliness of the room. great breakfast. Thank you for being a return guest. Your review and your business are appreciated. Sincerely, Jocelyn... More 

New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Excellent service, friendly staff. It has a full breakfast, I recommend best western executive suites to anyone who looking for quality service and I give them five stars...Best Western is the only hotel in the area with an indoor pool,easy proximity to beaches in west haven.

Helpful?
Thank naji j
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Naji J, Thank you fro sharing your wonderful review of our Best Western Executive Hotel-New Haven-West Haven, It was very nice to know that while you were here in West Haven area that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the kindness of our great team. I will be certainly sure to share your great feedback with our... More 

Centerville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Overall this hotel is a great place to stay. Room is big. Internet was fast. Breakfast was good. Room insulation was good as well. I have only 2 minor complains. One is the bed sheets appeared not clean. Maybe they were old. The other is the plastic knifes and forks were not strong enough to cut even pancakes. Other than... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Matthew W. We are glad to have provided you with a great stay. We appreciated your kind words concerning our staff and our hotel. Your review is greatly appreciated. In regards to your comment, We do appreciate your honest input and will keep your comment in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guest's experience..... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2015

As someone who's been staying in this area for years on our trips into CT, I was immediately disturbed by the way the "curb appeal" has degenerated on this property. To spare you the sight in person, before you can even SEE the BW, you're greeted by rotting dilapidated buildings and a poorly maintained lot in the front driveway and... More 

Helpful?
Thank M W
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear MW, I was disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel, and regret that we did not provide a level of service that anticipated and responded to your needs. I apologize for the issues that you reported and the poor impression we have made . I hope that you will give us another chance . Sincerely, Jocelyn Rojas More 

Travellers are raving about these West Haven hotels

Brooklyn, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2015

The value for what you get at the hotel is excellent. It has a full breakfast, not a continental one. This was the only hotel in the area with an indoor pool. Easy proximity to New Haven - Yale and to beaches in West Haven.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diane R
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Diane R. Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a nice review of our hotel, Best Western Executive Hotel-New Haven-West Haven. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed the comfort of your room, pool and the kindness of our great team. We hope... More 

Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We had an awesome experience with this hotel. In town for just one night only. Our room was very clean, bed was super comfortable, and I have to say (after reading so many reviews stating that it was very loud and noisy) we didn't experience any loud noise whatsoever! Room was very spacious and modern. Will definitely book here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy S
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Stacy, We really appreciate your review of our Best Western Executive Hotel-New haven West Haven. It is so great to see that you enjoyed your stay even for one night only .And we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Jocelyn Rojas More 

Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2015

EXTREMELY Clean, Bathroom shower could be updated but very clean and usable. Staff very accommodating. Pool area clean. Everything about this place was thumbs up. Very quite. Highly recommend. Housekeeping very thorough especially with 2 pre teen girls. Because of our experience we felt we had to write a review about our stay

Helpful?
1 Thank johnrX4805DF
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear JohnX4805dF, Thank you for your nice review of our hotel the Best Western Executive Hotel- New Haven-West Haven. We are glad to have provided you with a great stay during the soccer tournament it was very nice to see while you were here for the tournament, that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the kindness of our... More 

murrieta, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2015

I always make it a plan that when I am in this part of Connecticut I stay at this Best Western Hotel. It's like my Home away from Home. Very close locations to restaurants and for general shopping needs. I look forward to my return to stay at this Hotel. I highly Recommend a stay here.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David G
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Mr. David G, We are glad to have made your stay a great one and would like to Thank you again for another great review of our hotel. Your business is always appreciated and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Jocelyn Rojas More 

west newbury, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2015

check in was quick and professional gentle very courteous. the room was very clean. wish that i wasn't so tired i would've gone and enjoyed the pool. i wont hesitate to stay again especially with a night staff like that.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nelly O
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Nelly, O, Thank you for taking the time and sharing your great and glowing review of our Best Western Executive Hotel-New Haven-West haven It is so great to know that you had a great experience while here in New Haven-West haven. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We hope to see you back. Sincerely,... More 

New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Had to stay in this hotel for a softball tournament. We stayed for 5 days and the entire trip was terrible. First here are the positives.....The place was bug free, and the staff was nice. Now the bad things....The hotel is right off interstate 95 so if you like the sound of cars and trucks all night then this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank americana515
bestwesternWesthaven, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven, responded to this review

Dear Americana 515, Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. as we always strive to make every guest stay a great one. We have certainly failed that mission with your stay with us. We have taken your comment and addressed the issues right away with all Departments and we apologize for any problems you had... More 

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Haven
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
4.4 km away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
374 reviews
5.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
540 reviews
5.7 km away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
6.0 km away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are easily located right off of Hwy. 95. two miles away from 7 miles of beach on Long Island Sound and 4 miles from downtown New Haven. Newly remodeled guest rooms and public areas! Full Breakfast is included. Come try out our new pancake maker! We also have 3 private meeting rooms ready for all of your group needs! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven

Address: 490 Saw Mill Road, West Haven, CT 06516
Region: United States > Connecticut > West Haven
Price Range: RM458 - RM600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western West Haven
West Haven Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel of New Haven-West Haven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a room on the other side of the highway if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles wendyw195, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for rooms that are not on the highway side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles rbsa2016, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor corner so you are not near many b”
 of 5 bubbles PrincessVahineMaui, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Windows on the top floor are floor to ceiling, so try and request a room there!”
 of 5 bubbles cecesimms, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“I was on the second floor, and it was still very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles michellelN1698XX, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay