We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach

39642 Jefferson Bridge Road, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-3723
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
8 people are viewing this hotel
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/09/21
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (25)
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (162)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#2 of 3 hotels in Bethany Beach
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach!The Holiday Inn Express, just 2 blocks from the beach in the heart of Delaware's 'Quiet Resorts', puts you in the heart of it all! Just a few short blocks away from the famous Bethany Beach Boardwalk, you're central to everything Bethany Beach has to offer; including bountiful tax-free downtown shopping, renowned restaurants, Bear Trap Dunes, Salt Pond, and just miles from Fenwick Island, Ocean City, Rehoboth Beach and the Cape May-Lewes Ferry. Whatever your reason for visiting, you'll find our well-appointed, luxurious guest accommodations are fitted with the modern amenities and conveniences sure to meet your every need. Awaken each morning to a free full hot breakfast, featuring a wonderful variety of both hot and cold selections from which you can choose. Our thoughtful amenities such as free wireless internet access, sparkling outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, plush Simply Smart linens and award-winning shower heads help ensure each night is a great night and every day starts out right!No matter your reason for visiting Bethany Beach, the Holiday Inn Express is here to make your visit to a success!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Bulgarian, Romanian
384Reviews10Q+A62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 150
  • 158
  • 45
  • 15
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stefani H wrote a review 19 Jul
Maryland23 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel has been sold to a private owner. It is in desperate need of a renovation which is supposedly happening in the fall. In the meantime they are just limping along unti then. We had 4 rooms, broken closet doors, on the first floor rooms we had centipedes in the bathrooms and even in the towels, carpets are filthy (socks turned brown), curtains and lampshades are dirty stained and need to be replaced. Cleaning is not up to Covid standards or even any standard for that matter. Bathrooms were not fully cleaned. We spent close to 5k on 4 rooms. The manager credited us back $300. the manager was gone our entire stay. She returned the day we were checking out…we were not the only people who had issues this past week. I suspect there will be more unfavorable reviews coming…
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Fred K wrote a review 17 Jul
Gaithersburg, Maryland25 contributions2 helpful votes
It's like only 1 of 3 hotels in Bethany Beach. The rooms are quite large with two queen beds, small loveseat sofa, smaller tv with 69 channels (no HBO), microwave and refrig with small freezer. Beds were fine and room overall was clean (keep r shoes on though!)Bathroom was larger then most. Has a six plug outlet by table thankfully, as there aren't many wall power outlets. Wifi had good speed. There is a wall safe inside the closet. Housekeeping was nonexistent due to Covid. They are doing their best for breakfast (don't know why they haven't reopened their breakfast room yet; don't know if Delaware lifted buffet ban; Maryland did). Comprises of frozen Jimmy dean breakfast sandwiches, very sugary yogurt, pasties, and cereal that you pick and choose from and they will put it in a to go bag. The pool was nice and refreshing after spending time at the beach. The beach is about a 5-10 min walk. Wish people rinse their sand off first before going in the pool. Front desk provides pool towels. There is a Walgreens and Mickeys Crab restaurant (must dine here for blue crabs). A very short walk to CVS and Bethany Boathouse (it's an okay place) and couple more minutes walk to Dunkin Donuts. Across the street is Cottage Cafe and Fins Seafood, if you don't want to do to 20 minute walk to Garfield and Bethany Beach boardwalk.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Ash wrote a review 2 Jul
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania3 contributions1 helpful vote
To start we had to wait 4 hours past checkout time for our room to be cleaned and ready.. and it would have been longer if I would not have insisted to have my room key to see if they were working on the room (which they were not). I then found some housekeepers in the hall and kindly told them I would vacuum my own room and such because I insisted I got my room, even if it was not cleaned yet. They, of course, did not let me do it myself but after finishing the room they were at on a different floor came to our room. They were kind and understaffed so I feel for them, but still unacceptable. I understand things are weird with covid right now but they do not clean your room until you have been there for FIVE DAYS. I had to leave my garbage out in the hall and ask for new sheets and towels. FIVE DAYS. We only stayed for 5 days so, our room was never cleaned. No management ever approached us to discuss the check in issue, I was given 15% off because I approached the front desk they next day in regards to the delay to my first nights stay. Staff was nice for the most part, and the vicinity was decently clean. Location is nice, close to the beach. Decent pool area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Ashley K, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We’re the first choice of travelers who need a simple, engaging place to rest, and it seems that we've missed the mark. I'm sorry to hear that your room wasn't ready upon arrival. I recognized your discomfort due to the limited Housekeeping service because of the pandemic. What you described is certainly not the experience we want you to remember us. I shared this with our hotel management. Your feedback will be used as a reference to coach our team, so better service will be sorted out. We appreciate you choosing us for your accommodation needs. I hope you'll give us another chance to host your stay and we'll make things right this time! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Katherine wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
I was so happy to find this hotel for our vacation for the week of June 3rd -10th, 2021. We had some trouble with our reservation, but the front desk clerk, Lisa was all over it and quickly fixed the problem. It was very clean, the staff, in particular, Lisa and Marc, were incredibly helpful and so friendly, they made it difficult to leave. At the time of our visit, Covid restrictions were still in place, so cleaning services to the room were limited, but if you needed towels or sheets, the staff kindly provided them immediately. Breakfast was also limited due to restrictions, you could get muffins or fruit etc., but I highly recommend the Sandy Pony's Cinnamon Bacon doughnut diagonally from the hotel. Your doughnut is made on the spot and is perfection. The location was also extremely convenient being a short walk to the beach. For a simple, pleasant, enjoyable, convenient, friendly stay, I highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Sleep Quality
Rachel S wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
A lot of money for a mediocre room. Beware the extra $25 per night parking charge! Nothing like checking your account after the trip to find the hotel has charged your account additional $ just to park outside. What else are we supposed to do with our vehicles?!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Rachel S, Thanks for the stay and feedback. I am so sorry to hear about the unexpected parking fee on your card. Rest assured that your comments won't go unheard as I have taken note of this and shared them with management for review to take necessary actions to address these concerns. I hope you give us a chance to host you again in the future. Best Regards, John O Case Manager IHGService
Read more
US$110 - US$337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn express bethany beach hotel bethany beach, holiday inn bethany beach, bethany beach holiday inn
United StatesDelawareBethany Beach
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach?
Nearby attractions include Bethany Beach Boardwalk (0.9 km), Bethany Beach (0.9 km), and Bethany Beach Books (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sunshine Crepes, Cottage Cafe, and Fishers Popcorn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Bethany Beach.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Romanian, and Bulgarian.