We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
31/12/2017 01/01/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Blue Hen Bed & Breakfast

    1202 Nottingham Rd, Newark, DE 19711-2020
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    31/12/2017 01/01/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in NewarkSee available hotels in Newark
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (12)
    Dining (4)
    Overview
    • Excellent90%
    • Very good10%
    • Average0%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “b b” (15 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Suites
    Pets Allowed
    Wheelchair Access
    Business Centre
    Self-Serve Laundry
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (66)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 66 reviews

    Reviewed 2 October 2017

    Our first time here and really looking forward to going back. Our son attends the Univ. of Delaware so we've experienced three of the hotels in the area already. This was like being at a family member's home (even better). Very clean. Smelled like homemade...More

    Thank jdenick623
    Reviewed 22 May 2017

    My wife and I did an art class led by Don for our anniversary. It was such a great experience, especially if you're a fan of Bob Ross and have always wanted to give his painting technique a try. The class was very self paced...More

    1  Thank pbaiocco313
    Reviewed 25 April 2017

    As lodging for a business trip to Newark DE, the Blue Hen provided all the comfort, charm, value and delicious food necessary to keep us going through our busy weekend - with plenty of modern amenities as well. We also enjoyed peace and quiet, as...More

    Thank watkinsmartinez
    Reviewed 11 March 2017

    My wife and I stayed on a Saturday night and we had a roomy, comfortable room and a fantastic breakfast. The couple who manage this bed and breakfast are very friendly and try hard to please their customers. This is a very nice place to...More

    Thank dplumsteadmarshall
    Reviewed 3 March 2017

    We had a wonderful Valentine's day stay with Amy and Don. They made us feel like one of the family and were very attentive. Our room was cozy and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was a special treat which we thoroughly enjoyed. Truly a...More

    Thank ezzie304
    Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington Christiana
    526 reviews
    #1 of 24 hotels in Newark
    11.1 km
     
    HOTEL DU PONT
    188 reviews
    #2 of 13 hotels in Wilmington
    21.2 km
     
    Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
    1,369 reviews
    #2 of 24 hotels in Newark
    11.1 km
     
    Hampton Inn Elkton
    359 reviews
    #1 of 8 hotels in Elkton
    6.9 km
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator in room
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$100 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Suites ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 3
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Delaware >
    • Newark
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (12)
    Dining (4)
    Hotel & Grounds (26)
    Family and Play Areas (3)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 24 hotels in Newark
    Hampton Inn Elkton
    359 reviews
    6.93 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Blue Crab Grill
    175 reviews
    3.05 km away
    Amalfi Pizza & Italian Eatery
    23 reviews
    3.04 km away
    Deer Park Tavern
    144 reviews
    2.85 km away
    Vita Nova - University of Delaware
    36 reviews
    3.02 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Glasgow Park
    208 reviews
    2.81 km away
    Milburn Orchards
    170 reviews
    3.48 km away
    White Clay Creek State Park
    129 reviews
    2.31 km away
    Borderland Vineyard & Tasting Room
    6 reviews
    5.54 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Bombae
    31 January 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Bombae |
    No answer after a week. Oh well, on to the next bed and breakfast. Disappointing response
    0
    Votes
    Scarlett0714
    30 September 2014|
    Answer
    Response from Amy E | Property representative |
    We only have one room available that weekend and just for Friday night if you are still interested.
    0
    Votes
    Scarlett0714
    30 September 2014|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Amy E | Property representative |
    Hi - I've been trying to respond to your request and I had sent you one last week indicating that we didn't have availability so I hope your received it. I keep getting notifications that I haven't answered you. Hope you... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "If you're unable to do steps, request a room on the 1st floor. No TV or fridge in our room, but there..."
    Read review
    "We saw them all and they were all appointed beautifully."
    Read review
    "they have a suite which is HC accessible, other rooms are upstairs"
    Read review
    "We loved staying in the Mary Cassatt Room & the Wyeth Room looked lovely - if you do mind dogs though I..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing