We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Booking.comUS$64*
View Deal
#9 of 24 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
See the most recent reviews
Showing 339: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Management is in the middle of renovating the property and doing a nice job taking this hotel to the next level. Our room was very clean with nice linens and mattresses. The bathroom was very clean and everything was neat and tidy. Hotel appeared to be quite full but was very quiet through the night so we slept well. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_from_Minny
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed and that everything was in order. Hope you will come back and visit us soon.

Maryland
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Friendly and courteous staff. Very good housekeeping service. Hotel very clean, rooms are nice an updated. Enjoy the fact you are alot to have pets stay. Would definatly return an use hotel again in future if had too. Worth the money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candice C
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you and your pet enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate having you and look forward to your next stay.

Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We had a one night stay in a quiet, comfortable room. The beds were comfortable and the front desk was polite. It's a no-frills option near the University of Delaware. There is a Friendly's and a Chinese restaurant within walking distance. Each room has a refrigerator and coffee maker.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FootlosseCapeCodders
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel a review. We are pleased you enjoyed and were able to take advantage of nearby restaurants. Having 7 within walking distance and being immediately off I-95 helps our guests limit driving around if it's not necessary. Hope to see you again on your next trip through.

North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

I couldn't picture a 5 star hotel being nicer then this. You can't tell from the out side but the whole building is absolutely beautiful, and if you're a AAA member it's the price of a motel. The GM and staff are nothing but welcoming and some of the most polite hotel employees I've ever had the pleasure of meeting....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rabb777
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We strive to be clean, comfortable and affordable. Glad you enjoyed and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Shelburne, Vermont
Reviewed 10 January 2016

I was recently in the Newark, Delaware area (unfortunately) for a funeral of a loved one. I just needed a quiet, comfortable room for overnight. I searched Tripadvisor for the least expensive rooms around and Red Roof came up. I was nearby, so I didn't bother with a reservation. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice K
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving our hotel a review and choosing us for an unplanned stay. Our sincerest condolences for your loss. We hope that you will choose our hotel again when visiting the area under better circumstances.

Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

My friend and I visit this location maybe 2-3 times a month, and it's because of their incredible staff and service. They are kind, friendly, and I appreciate the courtesy call after check-in. Really makes me des like my stay is important. Thank you so much for all you do, even the small things!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roshelle J
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review! We love that you come back and see us a few times a month. It means a lot that you enjoy your stay enough that you return time and time again. See you soon!

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Returning after many stays, As a Returning Customer, this one was different because we spent Christmas at the hotel. We used the tree downstair and placed the gifts for our family under it, to surprise the kids! while having Breakfast @ 7am. It was the closest feeling to home...and it fun! Mr. Patel an ALL staff welcomed Us back, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your family Christmas with our family! We are so pleased that you feel this is a home away from home. We love our guests and are always to see our return guests. See you next time!

Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 29 December 2015

My stay was wonderful from beginning to end so I have absolutely no complaints. My room was clean and spacious. Towels were white and thick - not discolored or threadbare like some motel towels and the beds were comfortable with an extra pillow on each bed. My room also came with a microwave, refrigerator, balcony and free wifi - which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jobe m
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you so for such a detailed review! Makes us smile when a guest has a great stay and wants to tell others about it. We are still a little "retro", but going through renovations and can't wait to show the world our new look. Come back again soon!

Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

I had a great stay. And Mr Pavan did an excellent job at making sure we had a great stay! The pool is in process of being built but I enjoy the breakfast. The WiFi is a BIG plus for me because I'm a social media worm. I enjoy the access of the balcony in our second room and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kauhlilking S
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review for our hotel. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and being able to be a great value. Internal hallways give the benefit of having private balconies for our guests. Being able to offer breakfast is a perk not commonly seen at Red Roofs. See you next time!

Reviewed 26 December 2015

The first impression is OK, but all weak points exposed gradually. I do check the booking review before I booked this hotel. The average is 7.2, it's not bad for a 2 star hotel. The picture is also temptation, in fact the actual room is exactly the same, but something can only be felt when you experience it. Here I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meta U
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to leave our hotel a review. Although we try to ensure each and every guest enjoys their stay and has a positive experience, reality is that isn't always possible. Please do reach out to our General Manager as he would love to be able to hear from you personally and make it right. Hope...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Newark
255 reviews
9.1 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
9.0 km away
Days Inn Newark Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
6.7 km away
Ramada Newark/Wilmington
1.1 km away
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University welcomes you to our pet friendly, family friendly hotel. We are located off of I-95 which offers easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment, as well as quick access to the university of Delaware. We are close to many corporate areas, state parks, and the Wilmington Riverfront. Scenic Lancaster, PA is just minutes away! This Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi, business center and guest marketplace. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. Check-in age is 21 years or older. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Address: 1119 S College Ave, I-95 & SR 896, Newark, DE 19713-2307 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn University Newark)
Region: United States > Delaware > Newark
Price Range: RM291 - RM500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Inn & Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
#7 Business Hotel in Newark
#9 Family Hotel in Newark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Nashville, Tennessee
over a year ago
West Hartford, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
njnjnj, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Excellent Location, Clean Room, Friendly”
  • Exactly what room looked like
ryanaO3114PN, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I found my balcony room to be quite nice.”
dasunlib, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“None all horrible”
rtrotta1974, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms have the same view. Parking is adequate with parking in the back for larger vehicles,”
oconnellroc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$64* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$64
Orbitz.comUS$64
Hotwire.comUS$64
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates