We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hare & Hounds

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hare & Hounds
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 361: English reviews
Start your review of The Hare & Hounds
 Click to rate
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An overnight stay taking in the inn's recommended 9 mile walk, a lovely meal and fabulous bedroom (not to mention the bathroom and the much needed hot shower). The inn was fully booked for meals that evening and we could see why, excellent hosts 'encouraging' us to indulge, depite the pre-wedding diets! Our only complaint? Next time there will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmamcg2015
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Gave it a 2nd go after first going and being a little perturbed by the directness of the Landlady (owners partner). I was naturally excited about the refurb and even more excited to read a sign about live music but a slightly abrupt conversation informed me that they were just posters from the brewery and no live music was planned....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle J
kerry p, General Manager at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Hi michelle, I think you have spoken to a member of staff already that it wasnt in fact this Hare and Hounds that you visited! but we would love to see you if you are in the lakes please pop in!

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed every aspect of our trip. The hotel and our room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was exceptional. We had breakfast and dinner each day and the food was excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful and made us very welcome. We would definitely recommend this establishment and will return again when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ams3951
Lake District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Excellent accommodation and a big plus is the excellent food at very reasonable prices. Very cosy old English style Bar Restaurant, open fires, flag floors, Beamed ceilings Great place to stay and off the very busy Lakeside area's , but still within an easy car/cycle or even walking distance to Gummers How.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnb50
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We arrived quite late for lunch on a busy bank holiday (when the staff might well have been somewhat tired and harrassed and expecting a break) and were immediately given a very warm welcome, found a table (there was only one unoccupied and it needed an extra chair and place setting - no trouble), given a menu and had drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnhamwee
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We stayed for one night as an anniversary treat. The pub itself is beautiful. Very traditional and cosy, low ceilings, roaring fires yet very well maintained and modern. We were greeted by very attentive and friendly staff on arrival and shown to room 3. This room is a standard double and very cosy. Other reviewers have posted that it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJEJF
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Dear Mr Firth, thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are very happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that we have managed to make your anniversary a treat. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and delivering another memorable experience in the near future. Regards Kristian

London
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Stayed one night in this lovely old pub. Our room was super comfortable (room 5) with a large bathroom with bath and separate shower. Our dinner was excellent and breakfast delicious and made to order. The location is stunning - feels remote but actually very close to the southern end of Lake Windermere. Very pretty valley and lovely views from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjcvo
cumbria,u.k
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

2 night stay with my husband. Room 4 lovely room with nice roll top bath and separate shower. Very clean. Mattress bit too hard for me personally. Lovely breakfast cooked to order. Had dinner both evenings good choice on menu Steak and ale pie the best I have had. Deserts gorgeous. Lovely walks locally too. Would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julieCumbria_u_k
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We booked to stay on the recommendation of friends so knew it would be good. On arrival, although the room was lovely there seemed to be a problem with the radiator. On mentioning this to staff we were immediately offered a choice of alternative rooms both of which were more luxurious than our original room. What great customer service! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L L
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review, we are pleased to hear that you had such a wonderfull time staying with us. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again in the near future Kind Regards Kristian

Cumbria
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Ate at the Hare and Hounds, Bowland Bridge earlier this week with a family group. We live locally and this is one of the very best places to eat..highly recommended!! Kerry & her team have the golden touch and the new menu is superb!! Top tips are the lamb and the steak & ale pie. Also worthy of note is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaMerlin
kerry p, Owner at The Hare & Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, its great to hear that you had a fantasic time and we look forward to seeing you again soon kind regards kerry

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowland Bridge
0.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
534 reviews
0.0 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.0 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Hare & Hounds

Address: Bowland Bridge LA11 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowland Bridge
Price Range: RM498 - RM800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hare & Hounds 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Hare & Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hare & Hounds staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Hare & Hounds staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 - large bathroom and walk in shower, all facilities including great tea tray and hairdryer”
 of 5 bubbles emmamcg2015, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Highly recommend room 5”
 of 5 bubbles DJEJF, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was beautiful with fab roll top bath!”
 of 5 bubbles 739LL, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try room 2 on top floor. Windows are high up but if you stand next to them great views.”
 of 5 bubbles 392gerryh, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure what the other rooms were like, but room 3 was adequate as a base for a couple”
 of 5 bubbles jhst1, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5