We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

605 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 473: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
 Click to rate
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I remember old Florida and back then it was OK. Now its just dated, and tired. The rooms were sized well, two queens and a nice but shared patio. The bathroom was tiny. Just large enough for the tub/shower, a toilet and sink. Might be the smallest I've ever seen. The hotel has a characteristic odor of damp carpet or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rspivak360
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Holidays Inn Coral Gables for a business trip. I needed a place close to the University of Miami and this place was about 20 min walk in high heels! I had a second floor room that had a view of the outdoor pool. The ambient was surely nice looking. Staff were also very friendly. Cleaning staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hosna J
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel that is very close to the University of Miami campus. Hotel staff from check-in to check-out were fantastic. The lounge area is a great place to unwind. Outside patio is very nice. I will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhatARusher
Freeport, Trinidad
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel is quite close to Uni of Miami as well as the metro. It is a bit old but keep very clean. The staff are very friendly and they also keep packages for you before your arrival. The only thing though is that breakfast should be included in the packages or free for that matter. However there are a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zzbabe
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Hello Katz411, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Coral Gables University, FL and posting a review and rating your stay. It is great to know that your stay, over all, was satisfactory. Thank you for the compliments for our accommodating staff and finding the location of the property suitable for your needs. All your comments and ratings have been...

Reviewed 22 December 2016

Front desk staff was very friendly and efficient, club status was recognized. Room was at the end of a very very long hallway and as a female traveling alone that made me a bit uncomfortable. I would request a room closer to the elevator if I stayed again. Carpet was dingy and needs replacing. Adequate desk and small table in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear Heather D, Thank you for staying with us and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased that you found our staff efficient and beds clean and comfortable, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings...

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed from the 11-13. Had a great experience all around. IHG status recognized by front desk staff, Juan at the bar provided excellent service while we watched the game. Not too pricey for a hotel bar. Room was cleaned while we were out next day. Only negatives would be no alcohol during the day, but plenty of local places. Photo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessy P
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Great location and secure area but, after staying a few times at this hotel, I can definitely say that every room I stayed at this location the AC unit blows a weird smell.im I'm not sure if it needs new or better air filter making the room overall with too much humidity.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edgar C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear Edgar C, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are glad to know you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. On the side note, we are sorry for the unusual smell you noticed with our air-conditioning system. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the...

Finland
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Stayed there 3 nights for business in January 2016. The hotel is old and rooms were outdated, only basic amenities available. Location isn't great either, you definitely need a car. Staff was really friendly but I would definitely think twice choosing this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mervi212
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear Mervi212, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay and choosing our hotel for you business needs. I appreciate the kind remarks regarding our hotel staff. Although, it is saddening that some aspects of our hotel did note live up to your expectations. I also apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced...

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

The room was comfortable but the hotel is of a much lower standard than uk Holiday Inns. The lobby area was poor. I asked for a change from the first allocated room which was at the end of an extremely long corridor, because it smelt of urine. The second room was odour free and comfortable. I ordered a steak salad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WgC910
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear WgC910, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Coral Gables University, FL. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about the room, breakfast and our staff. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the lobby. We will address these...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Even though I arrived at 4 pm, my room still wasn't ready, so they put me in one on a lower floor closer to the street traffic, alas. My room phone didn't work, had to wait quite a while to get it fixed -- and I couldn't call reception to find out the password for Internet that they neglected to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherOnTheMove
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review

Dear ChristopherOnTheMove, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to some of our amenities and services. We always strive to provide our guests with the best accommodations possible and we regret that we did not meet your...

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:27
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#5 of 11 in Coral Gables
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33146
Region: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Price Range: RM771 - RM1,301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Monroe, New York
Georgia
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
10 months ago
Annapolis, Maryland
11 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“An in facing room is much better, the other room face to parking or the road.”
 of 5 bubbles rspivak360, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“hallways are very long request near the elevator if you don't want a long walk”
 of 5 bubbles 679heatherd, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bring a "chip clip" or oversized paper clip to help keep the shades closed.”
 of 5 bubbles barryr779, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask the staff.”
 of 5 bubbles e3ceprise, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to request the king sized bed - a bit more room!”
 of 5 bubbles Dancingred1, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5