We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

945 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 887: English reviews
Start your review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I paid extra for an Ocean View room, only to find that almost all of the view was obscured by the parking lot. When I showed a photo of my view to the receptionist, she pointed at the thin sliver of ocean between the parking lot and the wall and said "well that IS the ocean". The room also had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Been staying with Christine & Ms. Gwenn for the past nine years, just a great staff, very friendly always have time to talk. Very fair rate & clean rooms... In my opinion just a wonderful place to stay & enjoy the views of the world famous Daytona Beach...AAAAAA++++++

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bgn742017
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I just returned home to Canada after spending a month at the Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort. It was my third visit and having never stayed during the winter months - it was a first in that regard. It was and is - just as terrific as ever. Clean and well run, thanks to Christine Lane (The Manager) - who keeps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed 4 nights with 2 friends. Room was awesome...large, clean, well equipped kitchen, gorgeous ocean views and private balcony. Plenty of parking and location convenient to everything. Both washing machines were out of order but staff returned my money promptly. Ended up at laundromat off property. Bed pillows small and square and not good quality. We asked for 2 extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your Tropical Winds experience with fellow travelers. Sounds like you truly enjoyed your stay with us, especially the spacious room with the beautiful ocean views. I do apologize for the issue with the pillows. We do provide 3 pillows on each queen size bed and 5 on...

Clinton, Ohio
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Yes, the place could stand some updating ; but, the cleanliness, Courteous and helpful staff made the stay a great one. We were there for two weeks and did not have one complaint. The beds were just like home and the cleaning staff did an excellent job. We will go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lolacraw
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us for 2 weeks and for your nice comments. As you mentioned we are an older hotel, but everyone here works very hard to provide our guests with the utmost customer service and cleanliness. Glad to hear that you are already planning a return visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

Chapin, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were looking for a nice hotel on the beach for my parents and this place was perfect! Staff is super friendly, rooms are nice and large with microwaves, refrigerators, table and chairs....all the essentials. Oceanfront balcony is perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine. Cafe is cute and convenient. Great location away from the noise and crowds of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GraceUnderPressure1
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. Glad to hear that you appreciated everything we have to offer. We do pride ourselves in providing very clean rooms and outstanding customer service to our guests. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Christine Lane - General Manager

Stuart, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been to many trips to Daytona beach. Several different hotels. This by far was the best. Every thing was super clean. Quiet. Breath taking views. Great price. Rooms are extra large. Nice bath rooms.a great actual working safe in the room. My only minor complaint since I'm from Fla an get cold fast. the indoor pool that is supposed to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeniedawn
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post such a nice review. Sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed all the amenities we offer. I am a bit surprised about your comment about the indoor pool - this time of year the temperature is kept at 88 degrees and the outdoor one at 83 degrees and most...

Anmore, BC Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice, older small hotel on the beach. Somewhat dated but clean rooms, nice staff. No one to help with luggage. Small coffee shop on premises with limited breakfast and lunch available. 15-20 minute walk to the pier and central area. Seemed like a long-stay place for many snowbirds. Small lobby had a social gathering in the evenings. Some ok restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. Sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We do have a lot of snowbirds that spens several months with us every year. I am sorry that nobody helped you with your luggage. We do have someone available to do that between 7 am and 11 pm if you so...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awesome location right on Daytona Beach!!! Staff were very nice and accommodating. We loved our corner room. We didn't expect to have much of an ocean view given the lowered price we paid, but ended up having an awesome one! Wish the room's water pressure was a bit better though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunu M
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your appreciation of the nice view even our side rooms offer. Sorry to hear about the water pressure - this has not be an issue with other guests, so we will be sure to look into it. We look forward to your next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

Newport, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel only has eight floors and my wife I were on the 8th floor facing the Atlantic Ocean. We had two queens beds, a full size refrigerator, a small four burner stove, a toaster and a coffee maker. Plus dishes, silverware, a few pots and pans and a Microwave Oven. The staff was very helpful and friendly. And the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald E
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for posting such a nice review. Sounds like you truly enjoyed everything we have to offer. Thank you for commending the staff on their friendliness and helpfulness. We look forward to your next visit. Christine Lane - General Manager

512 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (393)
Viewed
View from Room (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (145)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (117)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Room (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
7.2 km away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#8 of 103 in Daytona Beach
747 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
11.7 km away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#15 of 103 in Daytona Beach
1,296 reviews
1.9 km away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#16 of 103 in Daytona Beach
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Price Range: RM424 - RM1,396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Indianapolis, Indiana
Indianapolis, Indiana
Greenwich, Connecticut

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Oceanfront - why are you there????”
 of 5 bubbles JuliaS912, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“beachfront is wonderful”
 of 5 bubbles lolacraw, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get an ocean facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles F2266BQlindaw, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The eighth floor facing the Atlantic Ocean. It is quite a view.”
 of 5 bubbles donalde295, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the ocean front or north side get the morning sunrise.”
 of 5 bubbles hdelectraglide, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5