We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

5.3 km from Gainesville centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 310: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
 Click to rate
Tampa, FL
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Reasonably priced property convenient to the UF campus. Free onsite parking. Property shows its age, worn carpet in hall, noisy AC (it doesnt cycle on and off, just on constantly and loud), aged bathroom. Very large pool on level 3.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tailstrike
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "tailstrike," Good evening. Thank you for your recent patronage and subsequent feedback. The location is very convenient to the campus and "reasonably priced" for all occasions. We are in the midst of a significant redevelopment of our meeting space as well as construction of a new breakfast café. Your feedback will be shared with my team as well as...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

You definitely can't beat the location of this hotel if you want to be close to the university. You can walk to midtown and walk to the stadium or the O'Dome. But the guest rooms are in desperate need of renovation. It seems clean enough and the staff were very pleasant and professional. The breakfast offered in the morning was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jessica j
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "jessica j," Thank you so very much for your feedback and recent patronage. Absolutely, "you can't beat the location of this hotel" if the desire is to be at or near the globally respected University of Florida or any one of numerous other attractions in the city! We appreciate your comments relative to our breakfast offering and the professionalism...

Wellsville, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this hotel as my employer had reduced the *Best Available Rate of $169.99 to $99.99. It's located in the heart of downtown Gainesville, I was impressed at the price. But let me advise you, I was not impressed with the hotel at all! I was in the hotel for only 10 minutes before I demanded a refund. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Anthony J," Good evening. Thank you so very much for your recent patronage and feedback. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the product level expected during your visit. In spite of not achieving the exaggerated occupancy and average rate you highlighted, our goal is to maintain an unparalleled high service delivery. In relation to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a great place to stay next to downtown. If was near the college and on a main street so it was fairly easy to get around. They were in the middle of renovating so it was a little messy. The complementary breakfast and hostess Michele were wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela H
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Angela H." Good evening. We truly appreciate the very kind summary of your visit to the Holiday Inn University Center Hotel in Gainesville. It was both a privilege and pleasure hosting you as our guest. Your feedback will be shared with my entire team, particularly Michele. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the relatively...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I paid for a more expensive room. I got the 4th floor (6th = highest). The carpet on the hallway was dirty, the door to my room had been pried open a while back and the repair was bad and gave the impression of third rate hotels in third world countries. The doors, window facing the outside and the walls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMartos M
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "LMartos M.," Thank you for your recent patronage and subsequent feedback. We're extremely disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations. Your commentary will be shared with my entire team as well as ownership group. We wish you the very best in your future travels. Respectfully yours, Odyssey Leach, CHA General Manager

Blue Ridge, Georgia
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms are very nice and clean the staff are very informative on sites to see close by The rooftop pool area was very clean and everyone enjoyed sitting by the pool at the tables was just there for one night for Dr appointment but would highly recommend for pleasure

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pat1546
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "pat1546," Thank you so very much for your feedback and recent patronage. We are extremely happy that we met and exceeded your expectations. Your comments will be shared with my entire team. Hopefully we'll have an opportunity to host you again in the very near future at our "great place to stay..." Warmest regards, Odyssey Leach, CHA General Manager

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

I really wish I could rate this hotel higher, but I just can't. The rooms are large and had obviously been recently renovated. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was nice and quiet for a peaceful night's sleep. However, the renovations were obviously done very haphazardly. The bathroom mirror and switch plates were hung completely crooked. It looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dini O
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Dini O," Good evening from the Holiday Inn University Center Hotel in Gainesville. Thank you so very much for your patronage and subsequent feedback. Please accept our humblest apologies for failing to meet your expectations. Although very disappointing, I will share your commentary and renovation expertise with my ownership group as well as maintenance team. I assure you that...

Weston, Florida
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

When I first called to make my reservations, I asked for a first floor room. I was not talking to Holiday Inn corporate. I called the hotel where I wanted to stay direct. I asked for a first floor room and the lady stated we will make every arrangement possible. When I showed up there is NO first floor rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jlmcclendon
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "jlmcclendon," Good evening from the Holiday Inn University Hotel. Although very disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations, thank you for the opportunity of hosting you as a recent guest. My sincerest apologies if any member of my team incorrectly implied that we provide first floor guestrooms, whether a corporate reservation staff or onsite hotel team member. Secondly,...

Reviewed 12 January 2017

Good rates for in town with courtesy shuttle to hospitals. Nice restaurant across street. Excellent meatloaf And very good crabcakes. Decent wine buy the bottle . Rooms clean and beds comfortable. Mini breakfast in AM.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John B
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

2016 Dear "John B," Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We're extremely happy that we were able to meet your expectations and that you had a wonderful dining experience nearby. Your commentary will be shared with each member of my team. Hopefully we will have an opportunity to...

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The staff were really nice and helpful, special thanks to Michele, the breakfast hostess for her friendliness. Having a do-it-yourself laundry, free shuttle service to the airport and places close to the hotel (e.g. Florida museum of Natural History at the University of Florida) was very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bubblejetty
Odyssey L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center, responded to this review

Dear "Bubblejetty," Good day! Thank you for your recent patronage and subsequent feedback. We are happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with each member of my team, particularly Michele. Hopefully we'll have an opportunity to be your host again in the relatively near future. Warmest regards, Odyssey Leach, CHA General...

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.3 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.9 km away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
#14 of 45 in Gainesville
98 reviews
3.2 km away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#19 of 45 in Gainesville
1,246 reviews
6.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn University Center is surrounded on all sides by the University of Florida, local shops & boutiques, restaurants, in 'the Heart of Gainesville.' This 6 story 'almost on campus' city landmark offers a roof-top swimming pool surrounded by 14,000 sq. Ft. Of 'sunning' space. The fitness room is located adjacent to the pool on the third floor. Complimentary transportation is provided to the airport and local hospitals daily from 7am-11pm. Free High-speed Wireless Internet service, In-room movies, are available in all rooms. The hotel offers an open and spacious lobby with open business center. The hotel has also recently completed the Holiday Inn Relaunch and features luxury linens, fresh pillow selection, and new signage. Piesanos, an exciting new Italian themed restaurant, is open 7 days a week serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center

Address: 1250 W University Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Price Range: RM655 - RM1,961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gainesville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
Jacksonville, Florida
over a year ago
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Looks like there might be renovations going on, so maybe ask if there are any recently renovated rooms?”
 of 5 bubbles 164jessicaj, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not book at this hotel. Go to a Hilton.”
 of 5 bubbles 60anthonyj, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I paid the higher room rate and got noisy room with smelly bathroom, dirty carpets and defective plumbing.”
 of 5 bubbles lmartosm, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Free transport to the airport and to places close by.”
 of 5 bubbles Bubblejetty, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a room with a campus-side view. The view from other side of the hotel is not as pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles ashleybH4351PX, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5