We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Gates Hotel | Key West

Show Prices
#26 of 50 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Gates Hotel | Key West
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

751 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 524: English reviews
NY
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loved this hotel. The perfect setting for a relaxing get away. Poolside room with patio was so clean and comfortable. Staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. A free shuttle to town plus being a stop on the on/off Trolley made getting around very easy. On site food cart was delicious plus a Starbucks right next door. Palm trees and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joiohjoi
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Although a bit out of the way the complimentary shuttle runs every half hour to take us into town! The hotel is pristine....it feels like we are stepping into a HGTV magazine! Such a fun outdoor bar and awesome food truck for late snacks and superb breakfast foods! The concierge staff is top of the line...add I. The welcome drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank McCartney R
Clarkston, Michigan
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was our first time in Key West, we loved it. Our hotel was a short distance from the downtown area, we actually rented bikes and rode them around the island getting to the hotel on bikes is easy but what's awesome is that they have a free shuttle that takes you downtown and brings you back every half hour....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YvonneRNer
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A little out of town but regular courtesy bus service runs to the town, rooms are immaculate and large, friendly and helpful staff, funky food truck, relaxing and good cocktails. Ideal location for everything - hire some bikes and cycle around the Key West....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will J
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

Will J We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel and island! We have to agree, renting bikes from our on site concierge and cruising around the island is the best way to get around the island! We hope to see you again!

Sycamore, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night, but wished we stayed longer. Although pricey (as most hotels in Key West), the room was nice, spacious, and comfortable. We even upgraded to a poolside room with a "veranda" (a couple chairs outside the room but very private). There is a nice sized pool that looked quite busy during the day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn S
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

Cathryn S We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and how beautiful you thought the resort was! We are also glad that you were able to take advantage of our amenities, especially the shuttle that is included with the resort fee! We hope you visit us again soon!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Of the three hotels we stayed at in our recent Keys holiday, this was the most expensive and the worst. First of all it is quite a way out of the centre of Key West, so we needed to drive everywhere. The worst thing about it, however, was the lack of a restaurant. On our first night, since we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peterdavies2016
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

peterdavies2016 We appreciate your feedback about your stay and apologize that it wasn't up to your standards. We are always looking for ways to enhance our hotel and this feedback will be shared with our food and beverage team so that we don't have any further issues with quality.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

She was friendly, full of smiles, extremely helpful, and accommodating. She went above and beyond in her customer service skills. Because of her all 10 of us would definitely come back to The Gates! She is an absolute asset to your property! We can't thank her enough! Treat her well and don't ever let her go! Thank you from your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbie H
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

Abbie H We are so happy to hear about your stay with us and how fabulous Dea was during your stay! We hope that you get to visit us again soon!

The Villages, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

New and extremely attractive Hotel on the north end of Key West. Very pet friendly, even to the point of providing your furry friend a "welcome" doggy bag complete with toys and treats. Though not walking distance to the Doral Street action, there is a shuttle (free) that runs every 30 minutes back and forth and you don't have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dewline1
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

dewline1 We are happy to hear about your stay with us and that the friendly staff made this a winner! We are glad you were able to enjoy our amenities, especially our shuttle! We hope to see you again.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very clean and updated - very refreshing from the standard, carpeted dark rooms. We had a small fridge, a pull-out sofa, an armchair and coffee table, along with our king sized bed and the room was still quite spacious. 2 of us fit very comfortably and I think 4 people would still fit fine. The decor of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa V
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

Vanessa V We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to enhance our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our modern décor. We will be passing your service issues along to ensure that this doesn't happen to another guest. We are happy to hear that you will...

Graz, Austria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is pretty new and i really liked it. Its like a modern motel with nice swimming pool. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean and new. The beds are to small for 2 adults. If you have a lot of baggage the room can be a little to small. I was with my family(...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dijak4
Sara P, Front Office Manager at The Gates Hotel | Key West, responded to this review

dijak4 We are happy to hear about your experience and that the staff was so friendly and helpful during your stay. We are glad that you were able to use our amenities like the pool and shuttle. We hope you get to visit us again.

432 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (398)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (220)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
2.0 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
4.9 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#31 of 50 in Key West
374 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.8 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#38 of 50 in Key West
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gates is a new lifestyle hotel in Key West offering an intimate setting that invites guests to celebrate the island's colorful history and creative spirit. Mixing contemporary design with retro Floridian flair, The Gates Hotel features 100 guestrooms with modern amenities that uniquely combine upscale sophistication and polished service with the island's casual laid-back vibe. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gates Hotel | Key West

Address: 3824 N. Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040-4535
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: RM877 - RM1,993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gates Hotel | Key West 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gates Hotel | Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Key West Hotel Key West
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gates Hotel | Key West staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
4 months ago
over a year ago
8 months ago

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from The Gates Hotel | Key West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from this hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles peterdavies2016, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“West side is better view than east. Stay away from pool and bar area, though they get quiet by 10pm.”
 of 5 bubbles dewline1, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask not to be near the housekeeping room”
 of 5 bubbles 343vanessav, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“view on pool”
 of 5 bubbles dijak4, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pool view is not one worth paying for”
 of 5 bubbles NYCulinaryGoddess, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay