We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,866: English reviews
Milwaukee
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent service, and it's the only place near Duval Street that has a nice sandy beach & pool and enough open outdoor space where you can actually relax and not feel crammed. Swimming in the ocean at the Reach is excellent because you can walk out a long way from shore (over 200 feet) and still feel the nice soft...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FjordFan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here Thanksgiving week and after reading the negative reviews we were planning to just make the best of it and enjoy the island. I was pleasantly surprised- Concierge service prior to arrival and after arrival was great, front desk staff was always helpful and we even got an upgraded room (I'm a Diamond member). Room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is convenient to Duval street ,which is so nice. You can walk to most locations. We went to Key West to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary . Our front desk receptionist (Diana) was so sweet. She sent us a bottle of champagne and gave us a day in a cabana. We enjoyed the hotel amenities so much. When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristi G
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Such a beautiful relaxing place to stay. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Nights can be what you want whether sittimg at the bar outside or eating on the patio. We couldn't ask for better accommodations. You will definitely enjoy yourself !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
Luke B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear Donna B, Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community! We strive to provide all our guests with excellent customer service in a beautiful beach setting, and we appreciate you noticing our efforts. We look forward to your return visit, at The Reach Resort, Key West. Kind regards, -Luke

San Jose, United States
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Only Pro: location and its private beach. I did enjoy it. Cons: Outdated, motel like room. Extremly dirty coffee maker. Shady ocean view room tricks that actually has only a minimum ocean view. (mostly yard view) I usually skip this part of the review. But I am so upset when I checked in the hotel in person. Everything looks so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 173jinl
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Between the two Waldorf resorts this one has an actual beach to enjoy. It isn't huge but it is user friendly. We stayed while a construction project was still being finished so it was loud during the day/week. Upgrades are needed however the staff is very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
Luke B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kerry S, Thank you for your review and for understanding the beach situation here in Key West. We consider ourselves fortunate to have the only private natural sand beach on the island, and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit soon. Warm regards, -Luke

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I'll start from the top Peter Carmichael the general manager has no tact, I was told that I was not allowed to keep our $1000 bike in our room even after I stated that there was no available space in there so called racks. He had me escorted by security to show me where I could keep my bicycles. Even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomaspH8489HQ
Luke B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear thomaspH8489HQ, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community. We regret that portions of your stay fell short of expectations. Your concerns are taken seriously, and will be used to assist in improving our facilities. Unfortunately, having two bicycles in the entryway of your guest room is considered a fire hazard, and while...

St. Petersburg, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The place sucked. Construction everywhere. Food Sucked. Birds attacked us (and we are from Florida) We expected a lot more from a Waldrof. We could have stayed anywhere on Key West (I mean anywhere). I will not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 841timv
Luke B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear 841timv, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay at The Reach Resort. I'm very disappointed that you had such a poor visit to our property, and apologize we didn't exceed your expectations. We're always aiming to provide excellent service, in a luxurious setting, and I regret to hear of your concerns. We appreciate your patience while...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel itself is quite good - location, beach, etc. The management however, was horrible. We did not have hot water for the first night that we were there and the hotel management was reluctant and not helpful at resolving the issue. Eventually it worked out but still it was a mood killer. Other than that, great city, lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank myjc116
Luke B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear myjc116, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased that you enjoyed our resort and location, but regret to hear of your concerns. We do apologize for any inconveniences experienced with hot water. There was a water main break here in Key West that caused the water to be shut...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good bar / nice pool. Great location near Duval St and also close to southernmost marker. Rooms are upscale but definitely show wear in carpet and bathrooms. Not what you would expect from such a high end property. Great nespresso in room coffee makers. Many rooms have good view of ocean - note that palms do obstruct views. Great beach....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett W
Luke B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Dear Brett W, Thanks you for taking the time to share your recent visit with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate your kind comments and agree, we have a wonderful beach and location here at The Reach Resort. We look forward to having you back soon! Warm regards, -Luke

1,481 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1135)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (230)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (240)
Viewed
Room/Suite (138)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
3:57
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (369)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (274)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Beach (26)
Viewed
Ocean-View Boutique Suite (49)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Traditional Room (43)
Viewed
Tropical Courtyard Room (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.9 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
1.8 km away
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
1.9 km away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#14 of 49 in Key West
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: RM1,621 - RM3,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Water view rooms instead of courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles 9kerrys, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The courtyard view was the best bet, as you also get a partial ocean view looking out onto the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles karenauclair, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the court yard view most have a slight ocean view.....”
 of 5 bubbles Flashrabbit, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some are better than others, we were on the street view. Not great”
 of 5 bubbles biggtman, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beach view!”
 of 5 bubbles margaretg885, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay