We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Show Prices
#38 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 645: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The location was fab, we parked the car up on arriving and didn't use it again until it was time to leave. Our room was spacious, we were on the upper floor with an outside balcony furnished with a couple of chairs and a table which caught the morning sun. Good choice of food available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 259thompsa
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review

We are so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again sometime!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights. Staff excellent throughout our stay. We changed rooms as originally placed in a room next to the breakfast area and pool and felt we had no privacy and it would be noisy. No quibbles and happy for us to have a room in the attic. The room was very small but had everything we needed and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lobodoh
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review

We're sorry you felt that something was lacking overall, but it's great to know that our staff was excellent, you liked the lovely outdoor area overlooking the roof tops of Key West, our location is great, and the parking was very reasonable. Thank you for being our guests.

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very nice, Lyenna a real asset to their front desk, welcoming us in such a way that we felt at home. The pool was clean and is open until 9 or 10 at night, but really needs a heater! Our room was perfect for an overnight stay but the floor had been overlooked by housekeeping. Their continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacie D
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review

We agree that Lyenna is a real gem. We're lucky to have her at our front desk offering helpful and courteous service to our guests. The pool is heated to 82 degrees which most people find to be a very comfortable temperature. If it were much warmer, some people might find it too hot. It's hard finding a temperature that...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We loved the location as it was walkable to everywhere. There is parking should you need it. The room was very spacious and beautifully clean and the bed was really comfortable. The shower was large, powerful and hot. The towels very good quality. The breakfast choices were varied and fresh. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy462014
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel with good breakfast and good internet. AC in room a bit noisy, but overall very satisfied. The hotel has three parking spaces for 10.75/day, but on the street is free parking and it seemed to be fairly easy to get a spot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anders B
Friendship, Maine
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was good sized and mostly updated and modern but they forgot about the carpet. The bathroom was totally updated and the shower was wonderfully large. There was a refrigerator between the 2 queen beds which was the only place for it because there was only one plug outlet in the main room. Only one in the bathroom too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank firstmatedi
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We have stayed in countless heritage/boutique hotels and inns. Perhaps the staff here could do the same to gain some perspective. Our room was ridiculous-small, no hangers-heck no closet, no luggage rack, no room to walk around the bed, couldn't lock the door. When we voiced our disappointment, were told there was nothing else available (the vacancy sign was prominent)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PegRose
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review

My name is Mary, and I've been responding to the reviews for just over three years. I aim to be thoughtful, thorough, and balanced. Guest feedback is so important to us, and the reading the reviews is a good way for us to learn things we might not already know. I certainly hope our comments aren't perceived as insulting.....It wouldn't...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I can forgive a lot about this boutique hotel, after all it is historical. However a main reason to get a room is to sleep and I got very little last night due to walls that seemed as thick as paper. I got to know the footsteps of my neighbour, his phone call back home, his yawns and his bowl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pusskka
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review

Hello Pusskka, I'm really sorry to hear you didn't get a good night's sleep, as we naturally want all of our guests to feel rested and refreshed every morning. PLEASE can you do me a favor and send me an e-mail to let me know the number of the room you were in (or alternatively your name and dates of...

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Have been coming to key west on and off since we got married 22 years ago, we've Evan brought the kids three times The hotel was fantastic Clean , great staff, breakfast ok, pool ok The room was wonderful also, big spaciouce , first floor with Balconey, 33a I think, king room. For me the pool wasn't my favourite but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thefolly4
Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We visited here for the first time in Feb 16 and returned again for our 2nd trip in October- all the staff are attentive and Matthew is the perfect host! We had rooms 31 & 33 both of which was perfect.. only downside is that in room 31 can be a little invasive (had to close the curtains to change)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janlord1956

549 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (293)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
1:25
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (228)
Viewed
Amenities (75)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (32)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (37)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 km away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#16 of 49 in Key West
1,249 reviews
0.5 km away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.8 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 49 in Key West
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.4 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#4 of 49 in Key West
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: RM802 - RM2,305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chelsea House Hotel in Key West staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Chelsea House Hotel in Key West staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a fan as well as A/C, much quieter when trying to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles Tracy462014, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is on Truman Street which is pretty busy so request away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles firstmatedi, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There's no lift but I'm sure staff would do your cases.”
 of 5 bubbles thefolly4, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Away from the pool is the quietest, breakfast is served at the pool, but really all of the rooms are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Myti3c, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back away from the roads are quieter.”
  • Room 4
 of 5 bubbles 333sherim, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay