We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Truman Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Truman Hotel
Truman Hotel
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

949 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Truman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 583: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

For our wedding we stayed in the king suite, very lovely! Private balcony with a curtain to pull closed or leave open. We were able to open all of the windows & leave the door open if we wanted, still with all the privacy we needed. No hot tub... Only downfall, but the pool are is very nice. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank houchsam
NYC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

we stayed two nights in January (peak season), with three generations, grand mother, mother and daughter. I had very hard time to find a good hotel in Key West: 1) it was a peak period, 2) many B&B do not accept child, and 3) we wanted to stay in a city center (no car). I tried many booking websites but... More 

Helpful?
Thank doranobi
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting. As anyone can say that has stayed with us, our breakfast is small. We know this and we try to offer the best we can within our small pool area. The pastries are from the local french restaurant and the juice and coffee are fresh. Our space is limited and this is why there is additional seating... More 

Crevalcore, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We booked two nights in this wonderful hotel and we found just what we've imagined to find after reading the excellent reviews: a fantastic hotel, with nice rooms, clean, comfortable, all new, modern and well-finished furniture.The bathroom was also very nice with a very big mosaic shower.The staff was very polite and friendly, always ready to give us advises. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank bettyluv
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! We appreciate your time in posting your thoughts here! More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The first room we were shown to was road facing with very little natural light, i asked if they had other rooms available and was moved to a room away from the road but still with very little natural light. The room was very well appointed and the communal spaces are very nice and welcoming. Car parking was convenient under... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jackhat
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thanks! More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

On some levels this place could get a 2 and on some it could get a 4, so this is a lopsided review. The rooms they show on their site to exist and do look just as cool as that. BUT, at least half of their rooms look nothing like this and are very disappointing. After one room that had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank shelli247
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review

Our website clearly shows a photo of each room type. No secrets there. We want our guests to book the room type and location that they want. There is no deception. When someone is not happy with their choices, we do try to move them because we want our guests to enjoy their stay. This is not always possible but... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

This hotel was absolutely beautiful. We stayed one night, and for the price were extremely happy. Location is a little out of the main area (around a 10-15min walk from Mallory Sq) however this means it felt very quiet, secluded and had an oasis like feel. My only downsides (and they are not really very bad) is that the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank ry1985
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! Happy New Year! More 

Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Lovely boutique style hotel. We had a large king room, comfy beds, nicely decorated and very clean. The bathroom is very large with a walk in shower. The rooms are built around the pool area. The pool area is stylish decorated and is great for a relaxing morning or afternoon at the pool side. The breakfast is served next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sanne F
Burpengary, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We spent four lovely days at the Truman, everything about it was wonderful, the rooms were immaculately clean the linen and towels were of excellent quality. Breakfast was served by the pool ever morning, there is not one bad thing I could say about the place. I look forward to returning one day. Thank-you!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review

It is always great to know we have met or exceeded our guest's expectations. We appreciate your time in posting here. Thanks for your business! More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights at the truman hotel. Great location -- just off Duval street. Quiet - but close to all the action. Beautiful rooms, clean and well appointed. Lovely pool area, free parking, wifi and delicious continental breakfast! Great place to stay!

Helpful?
Thank arperlstein
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The location is fantastic, two blocks from the action of Duval but far enough away to enjoy some peace. The decor in our room was modern and chic and the room was comfortable and spotless. It reminded me of W hotels I've stayed in but cleaner. Bath & Bodyworks toiletries were also a nice touch. The only downside was the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gels_Suitcase
dBranham, General Manager at Truman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We appreciate your business. More 

645 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (401)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (75)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Double Room (52)
Viewed
King Room (61)
Viewed
Pool (41)
Viewed
Queen Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.8 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 49 in Key West
1,572 reviews
0.2 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 49 in Key West
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#4 of 49 in Key West
1,974 reviews
0.3 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 49 in Key West
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Truman Hotel

Address: 611 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Price Range: RM885 - RM1,760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Truman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Truman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Truman Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Springfield, Virginia
2 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Truman Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Poolside rooms are fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles Deej79, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are ideal”
 of 5 bubbles 115lesleyw, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 210 was just perfect.”
  • Access room 210
  • Our Room entrance and private table...
  • From room 210
 of 5 bubbles PierreL559, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms appeared to be great!”
  • Our room
 of 5 bubbles Buckster1955, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor....we walked the close proximity to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelhR8615NS, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay