We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harbor Lights Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Harbor Lights Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harbor Lights Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 327: English reviews
Cherryville, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 July 2015

We just got back home from an 11 day vacation at Harbor Lights. The motel is just like it was advertised on their website. The area was very peaceful and the views were spectacular. The motel has some age on it which means that it's not for people who are used to staying at 3-5 star hotels. If that is...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank crwalker89
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review! We are so happy you enjoyed the stay, and this review should be super helpful for people considering the hotel for their needs in Islamorada! Note: We do offer irons and hairdryers at the desk for anyone who needs them! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon! Todd &...

Palm Coast, Florida
Reviewed 25 July 2015

The pictures on their website are probably 10 years old. Everything needs updated! The beds were the worst ever! The hammock outside was more comfortable! The room was always clean! Linens and towels were also clean! No locks on the windows! This really concerned me, being on the ground floor! Fridge, TV and AC all worked! Overall I would not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 17Denise70
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review! We are going to throw you a shocker now: We get NO LESS than ten requests a week for the brand of mattresses we use because people LOVE THEM! This just goes to show you that something like a mattress preference can be great for 999 out of 1000 people, but that...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 22 July 2015

The night before scheduled to arrive at the Harbor Lights Motel, my wallet was stolen in Sourh Beach, Miami. The next day, while dealing with the police and the nightmare of being stranded without money or identity, I called the Harbor Lights and asked the reservationist Becky about the cancellation policy which I paid extra for when booking with Expedia....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Pacoandfriend1
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

We are so sorry you felt the need to take your frustrations out on the property, when we clearly are not the "bad guy" here! On very busy weeks we get dozens of calls from people who book rooms on the internet (we are on over 3500 websites, by the way) and try and call us direct to change or...

NEW SMYRNA BEACH
Reviewed 14 July 2015

This was a great motel to stay in especially for families who like to spend their days exploring and sight seeing. Its not a luxury motel, they do give you extras like a fridge and microwave and clean towels everyday. The only time spent there was to sleep, and we only used the pool once or twice but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ARLENE S
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We are assuming you stayed in one of our basic queen or double rooms. In fact, most rooms DO have kitchens, fridges and micros! Rooms are also serviced every day, and like most hotels we change out all towels left on the floor - we try and help the environment as much...

Reviewed 13 July 2015

The manager was extremely rude and disrespectful, even if she had a small reason to be mad there was no need to be so disrespectful. She made the stay considerably worse apart from the room. The room had gross carpeting, the cabinets were falling apart, the toilet was clogged when we got there, the AC barely worked, and the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank patricialferrer
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

All we have to say is that we must have had a problem with this guest - they mentioned doing something wrong in their own review! We usually have hundreds of guests at the hotel. Often we have to make quick and decisive actions to insure that each of our patrons get the chance to enjoy their stay, and this...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Any other Trip Advisor review giving Harbor Lights Motel a score better tahn a 1, must live under a bridge. In fact, that's a good comparrison to our stay at the Harbor Lights. Disgusting. Ants crawling all over our room. Wet carpet. The smell of mold. The window unit A/C is way under sized, and the room never got cool....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Karl W
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

We are so very sorry that your stay was less than perfect! We wish you would have let us know about any problems while you were here, so we have the opportunity to address them immediately! We are very sad it rained during your stay, as it often puts a damper on a vacation. The rain can be crazy here,...

Reviewed 2 July 2015

I have stayed here in the past quite a few times and I was there in June of this year and it was HORRIBLE. The mangement was very rude. We had a whole cottage and 1/2 of another, 2 families with a total of 8 kids and the owners and staff were questioning the kids about who was staying where...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Angela T
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

We are so sorry you felt that your stay was less than ideal. As you may imagine, we have a difficult time during the holiday weekends with guests that are not registered. We apologize for asking you about who was in your party, but we do have to regulate the hotel property so that everyone can enjoy it! We are...

florida
Reviewed 25 June 2015

BE CAREFUL if you ever choose to stay at this motel. My husband and I are avid travelers and the manager here was the rudest individual we have EVER dealt with- EVER! It started when trying to make a reservation here for 1 night through a popular travel site. By accident, I didn’t realize that the website auto populated the...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank travelfairy6
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

The great thing about this site is we get to respond. The bad thing is that a person that never stayed at the hotel can still leave a bad review. What she is complaining about is that she did not like the terms and agreement that they clicked on from a 3rd party site that made them acknowledge all the...

Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Ok, here we go! This motel is the worst motel I've ever been to. I went with 4 other women, and we stayed in 2 adjoining cottages, one had a kitchen and the other one didn't. Let me first start by stating facts: There was a major ant problem in the kitchen and bathrooms; there were no towel racks, soap...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Susan H
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay! We try very had to provide a clean and affordable oceanfront resort, and are so very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations! We will share your comments with our staff, and hope that you return again in the future so we can show you how we...

A TripAdvisor Member
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

This was our first time here. Old Keys charm, beautiful views, and super clean rooms with kitchens. We had a wonderful weekend cooking out on the ocean side, fishing, and swimming. Dog friendly as well. We will be bringing ours next time. This was my birthday present. I couldn't be happier!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so pleased that we have another "regular" to add to our list! See you again soon! Todd & Becky

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
7.9 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,201 reviews
8.8 km away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
359 reviews
7.8 km away
Sands of Islamorada
Sands of Islamorada
#15 of 19 in Islamorada
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
19.8 km away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
555 reviews
2.1 km away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Price Range: RM454 - RM948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbor Lights Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Florida
over a year ago
Brick, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Harbor Lights Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“sleep with one eye open!!”
 of 5 bubbles gypsy_wind48, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask if there is a renovated room off the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles 484rafar, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Saw a few less then positive reviews which mentioned unfriendly owners. This lady is a new owner because she was VERY Friendly & Positive.”
 of 5 bubbles rhpettitt, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT choose 16. Rooms 15 or 14 would be a better choice or the ones above 14 and 15 give lovely views of water.”
 of 5 bubbles Allusionist, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Find another place to stay!”
 of 5 bubbles Linzee012, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay