We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbor Lights Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Harbor Lights Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harbor Lights Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 320: English reviews
florida
Reviewed 25 June 2015

BE CAREFUL if you ever choose to stay at this motel. My husband and I are avid travelers and the manager here was the rudest individual we have EVER dealt with- EVER! It started when trying to make a reservation here for 1 night through a popular travel site. By accident, I didn’t realize that the website auto populated the...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank travelfairy6
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

The great thing about this site is we get to respond. The bad thing is that a person that never stayed at the hotel can still leave a bad review. What she is complaining about is that she did not like the terms and agreement that they clicked on from a 3rd party site that made them acknowledge all the...

Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Ok, here we go! This motel is the worst motel I've ever been to. I went with 4 other women, and we stayed in 2 adjoining cottages, one had a kitchen and the other one didn't. Let me first start by stating facts: There was a major ant problem in the kitchen and bathrooms; there were no towel racks, soap...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Susan H
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay! We try very had to provide a clean and affordable oceanfront resort, and are so very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations! We will share your comments with our staff, and hope that you return again in the future so we can show you how we...

A TripAdvisor Member
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

This was our first time here. Old Keys charm, beautiful views, and super clean rooms with kitchens. We had a wonderful weekend cooking out on the ocean side, fishing, and swimming. Dog friendly as well. We will be bringing ours next time. This was my birthday present. I couldn't be happier!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so pleased that we have another "regular" to add to our list! See you again soon! Todd & Becky

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 14 June 2015

My husband and I were worried when after reserving our room for our stay here in June we read the reviews by a number of folks that got removed from the property by the police over the Memorial day weekend. We brought our 17 year old son along on our 20th year anniversary trip and wanted a family friendly low...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kimberly B
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for the great review! We are so very pleased you saw past some of our negative comments and gave us a chance! As we have stated previously, we cannot stop the people we evict from reviewing us negatively (we have tried, believe me!) and over the holidays and summer weekends we tend to get more than our...

Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

Very rude "owner" , " you parked like an @$$hole" ?? For real ?? Good way to talk to a guest. Ill make sure you go to one 1 star... Be ready for 200 reviews. Good luck making business that way. People stay away from this place. For the same money you can go to a different place....

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Ceva15
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

This reviewer is the same as the one star review below. They were asked to leave after it was discovered that they had 8-10 unregistered guests on the property. We remember them specifically because we almost had to tow their car, which was literally blocking the driveway for hours - no one could get to their rooms! We are sorry...

minnesota
Reviewed 10 June 2015

My husband and son stayed here 4 out of the 5 nights I had paid for-yes they left a day early and stayed elsewhere even though they had a paid for room because it was a s that bad!! They said they could live with the outdated look and the floor tiles all coming up and the peeling paint, but...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank trillium1
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

These people stayed "elsewhere" because they were asked to leave by the police. Todd & Becky Chandler

Jupiter, Florida
Reviewed 8 June 2015

My fiancé and I usually stay in marathon when we go to the keys, so we pass by this motel every time we drive down. We make a handful of trips every summer. This past visit we were going to the keys to celebrate my fiance's birthday, so we decided to try something new and book this motel. Plus, we...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank CSpan333
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Wow. That was a long review! We thank you for taking the time, but I do wish you wouldn't have mixed up a few of the facts, as it gives the wrong impression. First, as you were told, there is no way that you can book 5 adults in a one bedroom room at this hotel. In 26 years I...

Melbourne, Florida
Reviewed 8 June 2015

I've been to the keys a half dozen times or more. Mostly the middle keys for sun, fun and boating. My friend had stayed at Harbor lights before and so she and my sister and I booked for four nights. I travel a lot and as soon as I book a hotel I look at trip advisor for reviews and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Raftrider1
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We wish all our guests were exactly like you! We think your review hit the nail on the head, and it made our whole week! Thank you again! Todd & Becky

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

After being here it's obvious that the negative reviews are bogus. The owners couldn't be nicer. It's perfect for the Keys. It's not South Beach and it's not the Four Seasons, it's the Keys. The negative reviews (and I've read them all), appear to be from someone trying to scam a bunch of people into a room or those that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review! We are so very happy you took a chance, and hope you can come back soon. We want to remind the readers all seven 1 star reviews over memorial day weekend (May 23-28) were the result of these people being evicted by the police. We cannot stop them from writing reviews (believe us,...

Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

We've stayed here four times over four Summers and have never had any real issues. Bring our boat, on the water all day, cook at the grill, swim at the pool and enjoy the old Keys atmosphere. We so enjoy the view and easy going attitude. If you are looking to party to the wee hours, don't come here. Todd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tiger312
HarborLightsMotel, General Manager at Harbor Lights Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review! We could not have said it better! As you can tell by the last half dozen bad reviews, we get a lot of people that think it is a "free for all" atmosphere, and we really try an make sure that our core clientele (like y'all) know that we will do all we...

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (208)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
7.9 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,166 reviews
7.8 km away
Sands of Islamorada
Sands of Islamorada
#16 of 19 in Islamorada
174 reviews
0.1 km away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 km away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
540 reviews
1.2 km away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
2.1 km away
Chesapeake Beach Resort
Chesapeake Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Islamorada
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Harbor Lights Motel in the gorgeous Florida Keys. We are located at Mile Marker 85, which is right in the middle of the best fishing, diving, dining and entertainment in the area. The motel offers standard rooms, efficiencies and cottages. All our guests enjoy the fabulous water views, free boat ramp, dock, barbecue area, private tropical pool and beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbor Lights Motel

Address: 84951 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Price Range: RM368 - RM1,122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Lights Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor Lights Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Lights Hotel Islamorada
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbor Lights Motel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Florida
over a year ago
Brick, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Harbor Lights Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Saw a few less then positive reviews which mentioned unfriendly owners. This lady is a new owner because she was VERY Friendly & Positive.”
 of 5 bubbles rhpettitt, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT choose 16. Rooms 15 or 14 would be a better choice or the ones above 14 and 15 give lovely views of water.”
 of 5 bubbles Allusionist, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Find another place to stay!”
 of 5 bubbles Linzee012, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you have pets first floor is best. You can request it but you'll be put where the owners want to put you.”
 of 5 bubbles 555Karen555, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see it first”
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
  • Icky bathroom... The door didn't even shut.
 of 5 bubbles 23krystinr, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay