We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tropical Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Tropical Cottages
Tropical Cottages
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 256: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 April 2013

As with any accommodation, you can't really tell what a place is like from the net, there is always an element of unknown that you hope turns out ok. I was pleasantly surprised by this place. The cottages are really comfortable and clean. The common bar area is great for socializing and the staff were really friendly and helpful. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MassimoBas1
MDUSA
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Agree with those who have said this is a great basic base in Marathon. It is not the Hilton/Marriott but we dont want the Hilton/Marriott. A word to the wise ... be sure to confirm an inside shower if that is important to you (as it was to us and not all the cabins have this) Cottage 10 has a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GTWassociates
Portland, ME
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed at this location for 2 nights and rented the deluxe(?) cottage. Far from deluxe and very disappointed. It was basically a converted trailer that was in very poor condition. The front door had a shade that was broken, missing slats and taped together with scotch tape. Obviously they felt it wasn't necessary though it would been of minimal...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Janice F
Sheila L, Owner at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us Janice. Cottage #1 is not a "converted" trailer....it is in fact a mobile home. . Although #1 is a mobile home, Rich, the handiest man in The Florida Keys, has put up dry wall, and a new tub surround, and a fresh coat of paint...so...

Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

I want to first say my boyfriend and I stayed in cottage 10 so I am only speaking about that one. I will say if you are used to or you are desiring Hilton/marriott this is not the place for you. The room was clean no ants and cell charged fine. Water pressure was slow but I washed my hair...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LSB3324
Sheila L, Owner at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Jesse Jett on guitar at the Tiki Bar on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights is definately one of the highlights here at Tropical Cottages. Listening to his music, having a tropical drink, enjoying the Gulf Breezes....is exactly what the Florida Keys is about! And thank you for pointing...

Milford, Delaware
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Found Tropical Cottages on bed&breakfast.com. We were in #4 and it was nice.Tile floor, king size bed was clean and comfortable. Cable TV and air conditioned. The kitchen had a full size frig, coffee maker and microwave. The Tiki Bar was nice. It was perfectly located for exploring all of the keys.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LBBA2010
Dallas
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We booked this place and it was priced at 150.00 on Priceline... Rip Off!!! Priceline claims that it is a two star hotel!!!! We were shocked to see it priced later in the week for 199.00 (Cottage 12). The bed had tons of dead bugs behind it and had blood stains on the bed cover. Asked staff to change or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelsalot2010
Sheila L, Owner at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you were so unhappy during your stay with us. Although I do imagine the statement of "tons" of bugs behind the bed may be an overestimation, I do see how some bugs are dead after extermination day. And I know our exterminator will agree....a dead bug is a good bug! #12 is one...

wayne, nj
Reviewed 26 February 2013

on our way to key west we needed a place to spend one night in.....I was so afraid that we wouldn't find one that I booked online through priceline this place the tropical cottages.....the pictures made the place look really nice.....and if I had paid $79 or even $99 it would have been worth it....but they have the audacity to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sparkleina
Sheila L, Owner at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The star rating from Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline is based on customer satisfaction surveys. We have 13 rooms, with different amenities, bed size and decor, in the hopes of meeting the needs of each group. We try very hard, but cannot meet the needs of everyone. We...

niagara falls
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights was comfortable and quiet. great little tiki bar and guitar player. located in the middle of all the keys easy drive in either direction for day trips to keywest or south florida.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natejr
Menasha, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at Tropical Cottage in January. The first room we booked was located between 2 other rooms and it was horrible, we could hear the other guests, no privacy at all, so don't book #12. However, the staff was great and on our 3rd day offered to upgrade us to private cottage at no charge. The private cottage was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
Sheila L, Owner at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your entire stay with us. We saw your issues and tried our hardest to solve them. Our apologies about the noise from the room next to you. And the guests that were in that room were extremely embarrased that we offered to move you due to them. The gentleman in the...

Reviewed 20 February 2013

My fiance and I stayed here last week for three nights. We were a little disappointed with how small our cottage was (we were in #7), but it was clean and comfortable. A DVD player would have been handy since it rained for most of our stay (boo!), but we didn't even think to ask about one until our last...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wickedlittledoll
Sheila L, Owner at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, in spite of the weather. It is so unusual to have such disagreeable weather for more than one day at a time throughout the winter. And believe us, if there was one sigle thing that we could control....we would choose the weather. Glad to hear you made...

408 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (207)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (87)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Premier King Cottage (55)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
3.4 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
3.6 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
252 reviews
5.7 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
683 reviews
3.1 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Tropical Cottages

Address: 243 61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050-2702
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: RM695 - RM1,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Cottages Hotel Marathon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tropical Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay in Unit 2. Could hear traffic from highway and airplanes overhead”
 of 5 bubbles telmquist1, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are probably no good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles KenB912, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get the bigger rooms, they are the nicest!”
 of 5 bubbles 559tashal, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't depend on wifi,usually didn't carry internet, i.e. router was on but no signal in. Sombraro Beach! Close & NICE!”
 of 5 bubbles Airboatmatt, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wouldn`t go back again !!”
 of 5 bubbles R788JVtrevors, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5