We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Yellowtail Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Yellowtail Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yellowtail Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Simsbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I've stayed here in the past, and although the rooms are not the cleanest, the value is there. We were really pleased we could now get breakfast delivered to us on the beach or right to our room!! My husband and I visit the Keys regularly, and like this location a great deal. I do agree cleaner sheets and towels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RodneyL3
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, and for your continued business! I am happy to inform you that we have just received a large order of brand new sheets and towels! We can't wait to see you again!

Sabillasville
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The hotel is a run down shack. The beach is nothing but muck. SLOW internet. Could not even read mail when I asked the attendant to reboot the router he said " what do you expect it is free.. go to the internet cafe" . What a joke.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ann V
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I certainly didn't mean any offense by suggesting other venues that have wi-fi, I was only trying to be helpful. Also, myself and another staff member were both able to connect to the network on our laptops with no problems

Reviewed 25 August 2012

A week ago my girlfriend and I recently stayed in the Yellowtail Inn. After checking in, we dropped our stuff off in the room and left right away to meet our friends for dinner. We did not return back to the hotel until around 11pm Friday night. While walking up to our room, I heard a chirping sound and when...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Runnerupxian
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, but the appropriate time to alert us to any problems would have been while you were still here, instead of several weeks later. The simple fact is that you stayed for the full length of your reservation and didn't alert our staff to any problems while you were here. Our management...

Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This place was a DISGRACE! Extremely tiny, the staff was VERY inconsiderate when it came to their customers and did not care one bit about what we had to say, there was sandspurs and grass in our bedsheets, orange stains on our bedsheets, sandspurs and brownish stains on our towels, a spider in our bathroom sink, our smoke detector broke...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tiara R
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. It sounds like you have some very legitimate complaints which, and we would be very happy to talk to you about them. I wish you would've brought these issues to our attention during your stay, as we might have been able to offer a different, more suitable...

Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I recently stayed for a week. and the location is fantasic, and really draws you in. but the numerous pieces of trash on the beach was digusting. the smell of the seaweed was horrible. i didnt even want to walk on the beach or dock. the room of course is very old. and dirty. stains on the couch and bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renee M
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback. I'm sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay with us, but frankly I think this review is just sour grapes. The suite you reserved had been completely renovated only a week prior to your stay, and you were the first guests to use it. It is an excellent suite and we are very proud of it....

Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I booked a trip based on the pictures provided online. I was in SHOCK when we arrived. The 2 feet of seaweed stunk so bad as we got out of the car. When we arrived at the front desk we were greeted by only a pair of eyes gleaming over 3 computer monitors saying you need help? i ASKED ABOUT...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Burklew
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, I'm sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay but allow me to take this opportunity to educate you a little about the geography of the Florida Keys These are coral rock islands, not sandy ones like you'd find in the Outer Banks. That means that there are no natural sandy beaches in the keys; any sandy...

Poznan, Poland
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Keys were waiting for us - we arrived about 11 pm. The beach and ocean views were excellent. In the accommodation there was a fully furnished apartment (two rooms, kitchen and bathroom). They charge to my credit card after we stay there $ 6.00 - $ 3.00 I don't understand why. I know when the staff will charge to you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mery_master
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, we appreciate your feedback and your business! We're glad you enjoyed your time at our resort! The $6.00 charge was our resort fee, which is typical of hotels in the Florida Keys. I'm sorry if it surprised you or if you weren't expecting it. Thanks again!

Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

I read a lot of bad reviews about theis place before I stayed and thought it would be much worse. Actually this place is not too bad. Not worth $130 a night but it was ok. I did not like that they do not come to make the beds or clean the rooms daily. The pool is tiny. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank floridarazorback
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback! We understand your feelings about the seagrass. Unfortunately it comes in with the tide every day. We do what we can to keep our beach clear of it. Hopefully you'll stay with us again!

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed for three nights in first storey suite of rooms that could sleep more than the four of us, after intitially booking online the Bonefish next door. The lady on reception was helpful and very friendly. Had lovely view over the water and I agree with the reviewers that enjoyed the place without having the high expectations of some of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lcfcabroad
BonefishResort, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We enjoyed your visit and we hope you'll stay with us during your next trip to the Keys!

South Florida, Florida
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed 6/29/12 thru 7/02/12. After booking the room and then reading alot of bad reviews, I was very nervous about the place. When we arrived it wasn't as bad as I expected. Was it brand new? No. Was it the Hilton? No. Was it clean? Yes, Did it do the job? Yes. We had 4 adults and 4 kids. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert Z
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate the kind words. We realize that the Keys aren't for everybody, and we love it when we have guests who really appreciate the Keys for what we have to offer. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (213)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
16.0 km away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 km away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
255 reviews
7.3 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
707 reviews
16.2 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
34.0 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
changing to LaTeDa By The Sea www.latedabythesea.com ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yellowtail Inn

Address: 58162 Overseas Hwy, MM58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6024
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Price Range: RM961 - RM1,365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowtail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Yellowtail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowtail Hotel Marathon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yellowtail Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Yellowtail Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 105 is an oceanfront cottage where we stayed. Looks like one of the best on the property for scenery and relaxation.”
 of 5 bubbles 831grege, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go here.”
 of 5 bubbles clarkebar99, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles PEFB, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Look at rooms online, then call and ask questions. Different units have different amenities”
 of 5 bubbles Mermaidindisguise, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Move along to the next hotel on your list”
 of 5 bubbles johnthefixerman, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5