We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barefoot Mailman Motel

Official SiteUS$48*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Barefoot Mailman Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of Barefoot Mailman Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved this motel..it's friendly staff,cleanliness, and reasonable price.It had a comfortable bed and good shower.We were delighted to find it a spacious room with a microwave and small fridge.Although it is located on a busy street it is in a beautiful neighborhood..lovely walking area close to the water and a park.We enjoyed the coffee on the deck in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
Management138, Assistant Manager at Barefoot Mailman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Angela B for your review. Our motto is "An Old Style Florida Place to Stay". The Florida of day's gone past didn't have all the mega-hotels and pricey restaurants. There were lots of small, independently owned motels like ours and family restaurants where you could experience that small town feel of genuine friendliness and people helping make your...

HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Wow what a hidden gem of a place. I can walk to everything . Very clean rooms with refrigerator and microwave. Friendly staff Bill and Paul are wonderful. I have been to many budget motels in the area and glad I found this place.I spend a lot of time in Delray beach area it is just a short $2 bus...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Modelttom
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Management138, Assistant Manager at Barefoot Mailman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I particularly enjoyed our "coffee talks" each morning. The central location in Lantana and the closeness to the Intracoastal and Atlantic Ocean does afford our guests a unique opportunity to walk to many quality restaurants featuring a virtual cornucopia of cuisines. Easy access to the bus system, Tri-Rail and airports does allow many of...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went down to florida for a family death, booked with barefoot mailman thru tripadvisor. They were very courteous and friendly, helpful when needed also. room very clean, an spacious, beds were clean an comfy nice pillows too. for the price an location it worked out great, if we go down again we will be staying again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank crystaleakle1031
Management138, Assistant Manager at Barefoot Mailman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad we were of some comfort to you during your loss of a loved one. It is always a help during those trying times not to have issues on where you are staying on top of everything else. We will be looking forward to seeing you again in happier circumstances. We want to...

Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small motel w/lots of outdoor space (garden, patio, deck, bbq grills, no pool), rooms are clean, tidy & the price was reasonable, on site parking, bars, restaurants & shops within walking distance, beach is close (a mile or less). The railroad is across the street, we heard it a couple times but it didn't bother us. The only downside was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy G
Management138, Assistant Manager at Barefoot Mailman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, Peggy G. It was our pleasure having you both as our guests. Even when we are full, which happens a lot this time of year, the outdoor facilities are spread out enough to get pockets of space to our bbq-ers and to those who just want to relax with a book or browsing the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Old fashioned place with an accent on relaxing There is an outdoor covered seating area that has many beautiful plants- we sat outside and played several games on our backgammon board A water fountain that has filtered water is a cool touch. great for filling your bottles up The room is very clean and had tile floors so no questionable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
Management138, Assistant Manager at Barefoot Mailman Motel, responded to this review

Tom P. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. I am glad to see you talking about the covered seating area where you sat to play backgammon. Too often these days when you go to motels there is little area outside the rooms suitable for just relaxing and enjoying nature. That little Finnish Bakery (Palm Beach Bakery) right...

buckinghamshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

They were noisy but apart from this clean good value stop over I wouldn't stay more than 1 night but it did what we needed the staff were very helpful and free morning coffee as stated in other reviews the trains are noisy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonval
Management138, Assistant Manager at Barefoot Mailman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We can only affect the things we have control over. Can we provide free coffee in the morning? Clean, safe and inexpensive rooms? Beautiful landscaping? Yes. Can we control the FEC train's schedule or noise? No. We are glad you found a good value in your one night stopover. Management

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

(Tempted to rate a 2 because of the noise.) A lovely place. Small bathroom and a little cramped, but loved the flowers and the "cottage" feel. But, the train noise was unacceptable and for a week, our sleep was not only disrupted but mostly impossible with trains, whistles, noise every 15 minutes? The proximity of the train should be included...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pxr99
Management138, Assistant Manager at Barefoot Mailman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are a little dismayed that the train noise was unacceptable for a week and you didn't come to us early in your stay. We understand that the train noise can be a problem for sensitive people and are always willing to refund the balance of the unused room cost and even assist in helping...

Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I've had the pleasure of staying at Barefoot Mailman on more than one occasion, including one that was several weeks. Bill and Paul are most gracious hosts, and have a very quirky, but quite charming motel. Right up front, I'll state that THERE IS A TRAIN...ok, several trains that go through on a semi-regular basis, including 5:50am....(see "MY COUSIN VINNIE")...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pevarnikbuilders
Management138, Assistant Manager at Barefoot Mailman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed having you around so much so that once you left, we are actually missing you. We hope all is going well with you. We wish you the best. We are proud of our location in the little town of Lantana and are happy to do what we can for our guests to...

Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Nice little motel near the beach and centrally located to both West Palm and Boynton Beach area. No glitz or glamour, but comfortable bed, clean rooms and cozy environment. A little close to the train tracks, but we are early risers, so that didn't bother us much. We'd stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johanh616
Management138, Assistant Manager at Barefoot Mailman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. Management

Brodowski
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Clean, confortable, amazing people and good location! I stayed just one day but I saw a good and safe place. The train was no problem because the rooms are very confortable. Realy the best option in Lantana.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruoneg
Management138, Assistant Manager at Barefoot Mailman Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We get a lot of people, like you, who are looking for a clean, comfortable and safe place to stay while on business in the Lantana area. When there are so many options to choose from, it is sometimes hard to know just where to stay and how much you will have...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
4:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lantana
6.4 km away
The Inn At Boynton Beach
The Inn At Boynton Beach
#10 of 14 in Boynton Beach
322 reviews
1.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lantana - West Palm Beach South
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lantana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boynton Beach
3.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
5.4 km away
Sun Dek Beach House
Sun Dek Beach House
#1 of 1 in Ocean Ridge
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 17-unit family-owned family-run motel just one block from the Intracoastal Waterway in Lantana Florida, the Barefoot Mailman has rooms for the budget traveler up through families on a vacation. All rooms are "Non-Smoking", No Pets, Air Conditioned, Tiled Floors, Color TV, WiFi on premises and so much more. Check us out for your next visit! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman Motel

Address: 138 S Dixie Hwy, Lantana, FL 33462-3211
Region: United States > Florida > Lantana
Price Range: RM216 - RM281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barefoot Mailman Motel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Barefoot Mailman Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was only inside the one room but everything looked nice from the outside.”
183harryc, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No matter what room u stay in your going to hear the train,but to me I love trains!”
vinc426, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Love all the upgrades , maybe to let the travelers that stay in the rooms by the patio. That there is parking in the back . ”
tweetthing681, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are on one level. Smaller ones open into garden area, still large enough for two people.”
H9846UYwendyb, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a garden room.”
alamito, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Official Site
US$48* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates