We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Away Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Away Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Start your review of Away Inn
 Click to rate
Berkshires, Massachusetts
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here long term several times. Staff is great, always taking great care of their guests. Setup of suites great for long (or short) term stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Kitchen is modern and well stocked. Lookin forward to returning for many years.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmmmor
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The room we had, while supposedly non-smoking, wreaked of stale cigarette smoke. The pillows also smelled of smoke. We tried spraying febreeze, but it didn't help much. There were little black hairs all over the bathroom and soap slime in the tub. The ac didn't work when we got there and we had to ask three times before they sent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dawk422
Jaynel007, Front Office Manager at Away Inn, responded to this review

We have won the "WHITE GLOVE AWARD" 5 years in a row and have also won the TOP HOTEL PARTNER in Germany. We are a 3 DIAMOND 3 STAR FOR AAA the highest award for our type of boutique hotel. Our efficiencies & suites are ALL non smoking. We DO NOT have bed bugs or any bugs whatsoever. You must...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Our room had a terrible smell when we checked in. Like someone had just sprayed roach killer. The ventilation in the bathroom was covered in dust and rusted over. There was mold all over the bathroom ceiling. The chairs had holes in the material or were torn in some way. The a/c barely worked. Maintenance came once but the a/c...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jlip256
Jaynel007, Front Office Manager at Away Inn, responded to this review

Please read the previous review since it seems that this is the same person writing incorrect information on the hotel. WHITE GLOVE award 5 years in a row. TOP HOTEL award for Germany TOP HOTEL award in holiday check BOOKING.COM 8.1 points out of 10 EXPEDIA 9.1 points out of 10 TRIP ADVISOR 4.5 point out of 5 HOTELS.COM 4.5...

Reviewed 7 January 2017

I have stayed at this property multiple times and have never came close to experiencing the problems described in these recent reviews. My most recent visit over the holidays was no different. We traveled with several other families and none had the problems described in these posts. The Away Inn is a great place to stay, especially if traveling with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim M
Jaynel007, Front Office Manager at Away Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Mr.Mcnicol for this "truthful" review we are always happy to have you and your extended family as guest that visit every year, thank you and we will see you soon.

Tarrytown, New York
Reviewed 1 January 2017

My husband and I stayed here in December. We were eaten up by bedbugs the first night. At first, they blamed it on the hotel across the street. Then they suggested we brought them in with our luggage, which was ridiculous. The place was filthy. There were crumbs on the counter and in the cabinets and ants all inside the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mdoy56
Jaynel007, Front Office Manager at Away Inn, responded to this review

Here at the away inn there is always someone either on the property or not far from the hotel, front desk is always open until the arrival of our last check -in no matter what time they arrive and our business hours display a telephone number if assistance is needed someone will come out right away, all rooms are NON-smoking...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We stayed here for three days and wish we had booked another hotel. Our room smelled terrible when we checked in. It was supposedly a non smoking room but there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke. There was hair in the shower and mold growing in the corners of the bathroom. The refrigerator was filthy. The sheets were stained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bthorn85
Jaynel007, Front Office Manager at Away Inn, responded to this review

Here at the away inn there is always someone either on the property or not far from the hotel, front desk is always open until the arrival of our last check -in no matter what time they arrive and our business hours display a telephone number if assistance is needed someone will come out right away, all rooms are NON-smoking...

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 28 December 2016

This place was by far our worst stay ever. When we entered our room, there was a terrible musty smell and odor of cigarette smoke. The sheets on the bed were stained. The manager was nasty to us when we asked for new sheets. There were crumbs and ants on the counter. The dishes had dried caked on food on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jrich460
Jaynel007, Front Office Manager at Away Inn, responded to this review

All rooms are NON-smoking rooms, whether check-out or check-in our cleaning staff does a "thorough" job with each and every room our outside area is also always maintained and groomed every day, "equally important" our "pool area" which we take pride in maintaining seeing that we are the only hotel to offer a "heated pool" and our guest traveling at...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 22 December 2016

When we checked into our room, there was a terrible stench of cigarette smoke. My husband killed three cockroaches the first half hour we were there. The tub was dirty with hairs everywhere, and had mold and mildew growing in the corners. There were still feces in the toilet. There were bed bugs. The police were called to break up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lbrianna84
Jaynel007, Front Office Manager at Away Inn, responded to this review

We here at the away inn are a team an we are like that because we want to give our guest the most enjoyable stay so if something ever happens here on the property whether It be maintenance,front desk,or house keeping, someone will know about it especially police activity, and no one can recall an incident like this ever happening...

Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

When we checked in, our room had a musty smell and was filthy. The bedding and pillow cases were stained. There was a used bar of soap left in the tub and some type of slime on the bottom of the tub. The mattress cover and blankets had burn holes. When I pulled the covers from the bed down, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cvall35
Jaynel007, Front Office Manager at Away Inn, responded to this review

When there is a check-out or check-in our cleaning staff does a "thorough" job with each and every room our outside area is also always maintained and groomed every day, which makes it very hard for me to believe this review as I have stated earlier in a previous response, we hold the WHITE GLOVE award 5 years in a...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in no way a three star hotel. Our room reeks of roach killer and the bedsheets are stained. Staff unable to say if any rooms don't reek of roach killer. Literally disgusting. No Star hotel. Avoid at all costs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMcMuffin
Jaynel007, Front Office Manager at Away Inn, responded to this review

When there is a check-out or check-in our cleaning staff does a "thorough" job with each and every room our outside area is also always maintained and groomed every day, which makes it very hard for me to believe this review as I have stated earlier in a previous response, we hold the WHITE GLOVE award 5 years in a...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.4 km away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#12 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
120 reviews
1.1 km away
Dolphin Harbor Inn
Dolphin Harbor Inn
#27 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
27 reviews
0.6 km away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#14 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
164 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#11 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
376 reviews
1.1 km away
Horizon By The Sea Inn
Horizon By The Sea Inn
#19 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Away Inn

Address: 4653 N. Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: RM571 - RM1,289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Away Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Away Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Away Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Away Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Away Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor rooms get better sun”
 of 5 bubbles M9672EXtimm, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor was nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles MiamiPaul26, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“They all face the pool, which I imagine could be quite noisy when busy.”
 of 5 bubbles mgeremia1, 15 Dec 2014 | Read review
“a bottom floor room to avoid the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 214barbarak, 29 Nov 2014 | Read review
“we had a ground level room, which i would recommend for this property. easier hauling of luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles tup30, 18 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5