We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 3 September 2014

ENGLISH Y ESPANOL: Everything about the hotel is so-so. It's got all the basics, even a pool and decent location, but it's not optimal in any way. No hay nada que resalte de este hotel pero tampoco tiene nada malo. English: It's hard to review this hotel because there was nothing bad nor anything great about it. It's got all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank artedalia
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We'd like to take the time to thank you for writing such a detailed review. We are glad that your overall experience was a good one that you enjoyed our location, the service, and the value. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us - We hope to have the opportunity to have you back. Warm...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Its not a luxury hotel, its very simple but confortable. Everything was working well, i have nothing to complain. I've found a cheap hotel and its good enough for the price I've paid. If you are looking for a better hotel and if you can afford it, go and book an expensive one and do not complain for what you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank talitanicola
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm glad you enjoyed our beach and thought us to be in a great location. I'm sorry the Wi-Fi was not working in your room, I will make sure to notify our provider of this issue. Best Regards, Hotel Management

Manchester
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The most relevant thing to say about this hotel is that a party of eleven of us, booked last year through one of the bigonline booking brokers, was almost denied admission. On enquiry, the hotel claimed it changed management in February 2014 and also the booking system. A booking was simply not carried forward! I award three stars rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LesManchester
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We did change ownership and management but I am sorry you had to deal with the hassle of your reservation not being in our system. I’m glad to hear our front desk was able to resolve the issue in a timely manner. I will let the restaurant know you enjoyed your food. We hope to see you again....

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Four year ago (2010) was a good hotel; today (jan/2014) is not the same, plus there charging for parking and sports facilities, free before. Great location (North Miami Beach), quiet location opposite the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francisco201014
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I apologize if you were not aware of these charges prior for the parking and the resort fee prior to your arrival. We are so happy that you enjoyed the great beach location. Thank you for your comments as all feedback helps to improve the hotel. Best Regards, Hotel Management

Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly located on the sea cost - however the design is quite outdated, and the breakfast included in the price is quite pure vs. European breakfasts; the staff is really helpful - special thank to Omar, who was helping us to have a real honeymoon experience here! Thank you very much !! - Beata & Geza from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beáta G
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so happy you liked out beach location and that you thought our staff was helpful. I will be sure to let Omar know the comment you left for him on a job well done. We hope you enjoyed your honeymoon and that we will see you again. Best Regards, Hotel Management

Lakeland
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great location! Front desk staff awesome! HIGHLY recommend updating entrance, and more accessible! Too many steps! Not very up to date with handicapped accessibility as well.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee Ann M
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit. I would also like to thank you for recognizing a job well done by our front desk staff. I will communicate your concerns regarding the entrance and handicapped accessibility as all comments help to improve our hotel. Best Regards. Hotel Management

Essen
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Heinz-peter E
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Santa Maria
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I booked this hotel through bookit and the description they have on this place is not the same as reality. If you want to be let down this is the perfect place. You will be disappointed on this hotel at almost every turn. One positive thing about this place is the staff was pretty friendly and the hotel is on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gene P
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, T hank you for taking the time to post a review. We would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations during your stay. Unfortunately the breakfast is not included in the hotel stay as the restaurant is separate from the hotel. We are sorry you were not aware of his and will make sure to notify...

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Yes the price is cheap, but the hotel needs some SERIOUS renovation. The hotel itself smells like armpits, WIFI Only works downstairs in the lobby. It looked and smelled dirty. The hallways smells, the rooms all smell like if they were for smoking, the rooms where dirty. The bathrooms where dirty and dusty. The kitchen was nasty. The service at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Miggy S
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the taking time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short our expectation due to a few issues you have encountered during your stay. I would communicate your concern to maintenance and housekeeping so that they can correct any issues. Again, thank you for staying with...

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hotel is old, furniture is horrible: with spots and holes, old-fashioned TV from last century, we have only 2 working outlets to plug in in our room. Rooms not be cleaned until you ask, lack of towels, room maid always put only 1 towel set in our room in spite the fact that there were 2 people in room. Sunbeds...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julia T
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, every bit of information is valuable to us. I apologize that every aspect of your stay was less than 100% satisfactory. The appropriate departments have been notified regarding the comments so that way may improve the areas of concern you...

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.1 km away
Solara Surfside Resort
Solara Surfside Resort
#4 of 9 in Surfside
217 reviews
0.9 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
1.6 km away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
460 reviews
0.2 km away
Beach Place Hotel
Beach Place Hotel
#113 of 207 in Miami Beach
488 reviews
1.3 km away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel

Address: 8701 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33154-3403 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: RM291 - RM612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#119 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tip everyone!”
MissAshKetchumz, 26 Jan 2015 | Read review
“we took beach facing, sunrise is beutifull”
AnilWadhwa, 2 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Get a room that looks over the ocean obviously ..or there's a creepy forest view on one side of the building also..”
Jgc4248, 17 Oct 2014 | Read review
“All rooms have a bit of a view whether they are on the side or directly facing. There might be some without a view since they might be on the streetside. Todas las habitaciones tienen algo de vista al mar, ya sean los que están a los lados o las que están directamente en la playa. Puede que hayan los que dan para la calle.”
artedalia, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
“WiFi is supposed tyo be in public areas - but poor. Our room happened to have WiFi access - not sure how. Good try asking for that.”
LesManchester, 27 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5