We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Beach Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Beach Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 306: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friends from Vancouver invited me over to stay with them overnight. We were cramped in a small room (but who cares!) The room was reasonable for a couple but not for 3 people. Right across is Wallgreens. Valet Parking was $42/24 hours. A cheaper option are parkades 2 blocks away from the place for $16/24 hours. There's a bar by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_only_surrealist
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just no. I have been in South Beach many times and this is the first time I really don't like my hotel. It's an old, decrepit, neglected hotel. Staff were nice, however the entire stay was horrible. Uncomfortable bed, walls have cracks and are like papers. Bad music from the hall, depressing atmosphere. Not recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siuppolina
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Siuppolina, unfortunately we don't have you as a registered guest in our hotel and we can't knowledge any issues you say you had. Nevertheless, as much as we would try (as any other hotel) not every property is acquainted for every taste. We are priced based on what we offer to our guests and we understand that sometimes different...

australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were a group of eight staying for five nights at South Beach Plaza Hotel. The hotel is conveniently located one block back from beach and bars. There is a Walgreens across the road. We paid a resort fee and a continental breakfast was included. We had a lovely big room on the ground floor, the others that we travelled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank usinaustralia
IngridHA1973, Guest Relations Manager at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your honest review. We are happy to receive good feedback from our guests when we work really hard to accommodate all requests as possible. The hotel is currently "refreshing" the property and we hope to have you back soon with us and see exciting changes!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

It is an old-looking hotel, but the location is great, it is at 100 meters of the Ocean Drive and the Beach, opposite to the hotel you have a Walgreens supermarket. The rooms were perfectly clean and had a pleasant smell. The service was great and the staff very helpful. Highly recommended if you want to go to Miami Beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alin507
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your honest review. We hope we can have you back soon!

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

I have many reasons for suggesting not to stay here, but it is mainly their lack of belief in good communication. First of all I tried to contact the hotel 5 times before my arrival via email and had NO response. Then housekeeping took my towel from the chair it was hanging from as well as my shorts. These were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirstyta2
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Kirstyta2: We are sorry for your inconvenience but also for the inaccuracy of your statement. You were at the hotel when you misplaced your shorts. We checked with the laundry that takes care of our linens and they didn't receive any objects with the regular whites. The Housekeeping Manager talked you personally to let you know. The front...

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Horrible, nothing like the photos on their website No customer service etiquette. Staff were rude. Rooms were very disappointing. Cracked walls, leaky faucets. Manager was just as rude as her staff!!! Not worth the rate. I don't recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janette A
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Janette, we are sorry that your perception of the room was different from what it shows on the internet. We do not use professional services for our pictures but are only taken with our camera and download them directly to the internet. We don't even use Photoshop. Regardless, our budget/economic hotel's prices are based on offer/demand for similar...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 29 July 2016

The Location is just perfect, the next street is Ocean Drive and the Beach, opposite to the Hotel you have a Walgreens (Supermarket). We booked a normal room but got an upgrade to a "Villaroom" which was great, huge with a Sofa and even a kitchen, nice Bathroom, everything was clean and newly renovated, it only had a strange odor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sun900
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your honest review. Your opinion really encourages us to work harder to make our guests as happy as possible with what we offer. We hope to back you soon!

Reviewed 4 July 2016

I have stayed in this hotel for 1 night when visiting Miami with my husband. The room was bigger size then expected however with interesting smell, which gave me headache. The hotel offered glass of wine each in the bar, which was a nice touch but we didn't try it. The reception staff always looked too tired and couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank So A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016

I was allocated a room on the second floor and someone helped me with my suitcase upon check in but upon check out I had to drag it downstairs myself (I didn t ask anyone as it was morning). The room was big and huge bed, it wasn t really well cleaned so ok-ish. The bathroom small and shower made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniela T
Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

The service was great until it was time for the staff to honor their promotional upgrade if you booked through their website and stayed at least 2 nights. First I had to inquire about it (as if it was going to be offered). Then coincidentally when I asked, "the room wasn't ready and come back tomorrow to check". When I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G G
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. G.G: We are sorry about the confusion. The Complimentary upgrade is based upon availability (this is informed in the website) and we can honor it an average of 90% of the time. I am sorry this wasn't your case. If there is something we are proud of and we never have complaints is about the cleaning. I would...

336 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (190)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
City View Guest Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Clifton Hotel South Beach
#169 of 206 in Miami Beach
281 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#128 of 206 in Miami Beach
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Shelley
#95 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,301 reviews
Villa Paradiso
#104 of 206 in Miami Beach
454 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#92 of 206 in Miami Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Price Range: RM478 - RM1,576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Beach Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Lake Wales, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Beach Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a big room, book the Villaroom”
 of 5 bubbles sun900, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“not sure where”
 of 5 bubbles 635danielat, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the auxilliary buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles 37DanielK, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
“ask for a room not on the ally, the trash pick up was loud”
 of 5 bubbles youngNYclubcouple, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from 1st level”
 of 5 bubbles mikkelr220, 24 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay