We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Dora
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Start your review of Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Weston, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We just returned from a two day getaway and let me tell you, it was so hard to leave, Randy and Margie are the best hosts we have ever encountered. They not only made as feel at home, but also pampered to the core. They have made us feel we just steeped into this surreal world of tranquility, peace and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roxanaking
Lake Worth
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just returned from a 3 day get away, we were guests at the beautiful Heron Cay B & B. The reservations on the phone w Margie went very easy, we receive an email w confirmation and directions to their home. We arrived early, but were welcomed to leave our items and walk a short distance into town. We loved...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunshinegirl0707
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We needed to get out of dodge and I wanted a fireplace! Even though our room did not have one, our gracious host lit the fireplace in the sitting area for us and stoked it as long as we needed. Our room was surprisingly spacious and very clean. Breakfast consisted of baked sweet bread, fruit, and a hot entree. Coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgbtrvlr
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I think for the price they need to clean it better and keep up with repairs. Not worth going and spending money on when they have better B&B in the town. They have many dogs so going out side to use pool was not an option.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimacooper1969
heroncay, Owner at Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Pure revenge . . . This past guest had cancelled their reservation multiple times; the last time was the morning of their arrival for a weekend visit. Heron Cay’s policy is: ‘to reschedule your visit to a more convenient date, if you cancel at least 7 days prior to your arrival date’ (and we usually do it most other times)...

keystone heights, fl
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Just shared a very nice, 2 night stay at Heron Cay with myself & 7 sorority sisters. We booked both 3rd floor rooms so we could all be together. We enjoyed the sitting area of the Queen Victoria suite where we could all sit together, talk & laugh. There were wine glasses & a corkscrew in each suite, along with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gtrtravel
Amelia Island, Florida
Reviewed 9 January 2017

My husband and I just visited this B&B and thought it was lovely. The rooms were large and comfortable, and the proprietors were helpful and very friendly. I am completely confused by the reviewer who "walked away hungry". We came downstairs early, and got coffee and amazing (and still warm) homemade banana bread. A nicely arranged platter of fresh fruit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy1186
Safety Harbor, Florida
Reviewed 24 December 2016

We have visited this fine B&B twice before, and always have a wonderful time. This is the first time visiting at Christmas and neither the town of Mt Dora, nor Heron Cay disappointed. Both were decked out in traditional finery, and we spent two days enjoying the ambiance. The park in the center of downtown, especially, must be seen at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hgolsen2
Key West, Florida
Reviewed 23 November 2016

The establishment was lovely and very well-maintained. It was within walking distance from the downtown district - a "plus" as traffic and parking there was tough. The only down side was the "never-ending" breakfast. Coffee wasn't put out till 8:00, then fruit at 9:00, then a casserole (no choices) at 10:00. Starting the day at 10:30 is not what most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Conchette
heroncay, Owner at Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Most of our guests enjoy our casual breakfast/brunch and prefer the later times, they are on vacation and downtown does not open up until 10:30 or 11am; we offer 8am continental breakfast . . . Guests are told about our breakfast/brunch on our website and when their reservation is made, they are again notified of the breakfast / brunch service...

Reviewed 21 November 2016

B and B ?? ... great bed but had a hard time with the breakfast part. Paid $450.00 for a weekend with my new wife. Lot of money for a bed. The breakfast was a joke; not at all like the internet photos'. Breakfast was a 3 course starting at 8 am with coffee, juice and much later a pumpkin...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David K
heroncay, Owner at Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Actually website photos of the buffet are accurate, now breakfast is even better, there is always plenty of food at all times, not as this guest described (read other reviews). No one requested an early breakfast except this individual at 9am the morning of, other guests were happy. It is very distressing when guests who only think of themselves are...

Bradenton Beach, Florida
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

This overnight stay taught me another travel lesson. Always ask if the hotel/B&B is for sale. Usually it's a little run down if that's the case. That being said, the room was clean, very eclectic (shells all over as decoration with Victorian touches also), and very large. I was informed on the phone while making reservations that our room had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Beachrat44
heroncay, Owner at Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

In my many years of real estate sales, I generally found that when a property is offered for sale it is in top condition . . . There are five large windows in the sitting room of the Queen Victoria Suite that unfortunately have filtered views because of the trees. Pets are generally limited to our two ‘pet friendly’ rooms...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.6 km away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Dora
877 reviews
3.7 km away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
7.9 km away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
484 reviews
1.4 km away
Farnsworth House
Farnsworth House
#4 of 11 in Mount Dora
208 reviews
0.7 km away
Mount Dora Historic Inn
Mount Dora Historic Inn
#5 of 11 in Mount Dora
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gracious Victorian Residence with a Tropical Flair overlooking Lake Dora, recently created to reflect times from our glorious past. Most of our rooms/suites have a view of Lake Dora, three have a fireplace and most can accommodate four guests or more if needed; they are unusually spacious and have an ensuite bath, mini frig, coffee pot, TV, embroidered bathrobes, irons/boards, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer and other amenities not typically found in small lodging establishments. You may find less expensive accommodations, however you will not find any that are nicer.. We also offer Handicap and separate 'Pet Friendly" accommodations and are a short walk to Historic Downtown Mount Dora's fine shops & restaurants, Mount Dora is 'Someplace Special.' ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast

Address: 495 W Old US Highway 441, Mount Dora, FL 32757-4400
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Price Range: RM555 - RM889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Heron Cay Lakeview Bed And Breakfast
Heron Cay Lakeview Hotel Mount Dora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Heron Cay Lakeview Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get the room with the huge master bath and fireplace!”
 of 5 bubbles roxanaking, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't even bother to go”
 of 5 bubbles kimacooper1969, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are in a hurry to start your day, stay in a Motel/Hotel.........this is a B&B, and a leisurely breakfast is part of the experience.”
 of 5 bubbles hgolsen2, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Heavenly room has a huge jetted Jacuzzi.. There is not a bad room in this mansion”
 of 5 bubbles Italyhome, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“WE did not go here for a room.”
 of 5 bubbles Pettitt5, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5