We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Seas Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
South Seas Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,977: English reviews
Start your review of South Seas Island Resort
 Click to rate
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Sunset Beach is a wonderful spot to hang on the beach all day and await a magnificent Captiva sunset. We've been coming here for years. Delbert, Jonathan and the rest of the beach crew at Sunset Beach work very hard at making sure every guest has a chair, towel, umbrella. Very hard workers!!! Thank you for taking care of us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KKCaptiva
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My husband and I arrived with our three small children yesterday around noon. At reception, the lovely woman who was checking me in noticed there was a note on our reservation. She was unsure of what it meant and called on the manager who told me, "There is nothing wrong with your room, don't worry, it just hasn't been cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a fantastic vacation at South Seas over February break! Our second visit there. Resort was spotless, friendly, tons of stuff for kids teenagers grandparents and couples to do. We love it here they're so friendly we will be back!! The marina villas can't be beat!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elisa b
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We come back year after year to South Seas Resort, and there is a litany of reasons why. First, the accommodations are very pleasant, and configured to meet the needs of you and your family, from one bedrooms to wonderful homes (e.g. the White Ibis). Second, the best location to sit by a pool is at the end of Captiva,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P. Swale... P
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Thomas, It is always a treat to welcome you and your family and we can’t thank you enough for taking the time to share your wonderful review! We agree that South Seas is a place that our guests seem to enjoy more, the more they stay with us. We’re so glad you’ve learned the lay of the land over...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Upon arrival, we were told that our reservation for a 2 bedroom Marina Villa wouldn't be possible because of an air conditioning problem and that we were being "upgrade" to a Gulf Cottage. Granted, the view is amazing and access to a lovely beach is easy. The "cottage" was dirty and dated. Upholstery and lampshades were stained, shutters were broken,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lovetotravelabout
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear LoveToTravel, We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback. Our housekeeping team prides themselves on their attention to detail and we regret learning that some of those details were overlooked in your experience. We are terribly sorry to see that our accommodations fell short of your expectations and our own high standards,...

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I, empty nesters, decided to stay at South Seas Island resort due to a medical meeting held there. It provided a little respite for us to mix education with vacation with the advantage of it being a business expense. We have been long time visitors to Sanibel Island for many 25+ years and have loved the area....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Ellen K
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ellen, Our resort team values guest feedback and we thank you for sharing your detailed review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our pools and views and got to see some of the resident wildlife on Captiva Island. We regret that other aspects of your stay fell short of your expectations and we appreciate you letting us...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for 6 nights. Room is outdated. Windows dirty. Worn out. Worse yet, last night of stay there was "machine noise" in our room. We called front desk and maintenance came out at 10pm. Said is was the pool equipment below our room (we were on first floor above the ground level). They said there was nothing they could do....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff K
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we appreciate you sharing your feedback. Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the noise disturbance you experienced on your last night with us. We regret learning that this kept you from getting a good night’s sleep and we are sorry that you were not...

Flower Mound, Texas
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

First and last stay. It is 5 PM and our $400 a night room is still not ready. Worse yet, the front desk staff don't seem to think this is a big deal. Others are complaining as well. Over priced, outdated, insensitive and poorly managed. Please stay away. Not worth your money for the hassle.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank philandlisad01
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Philandlisa, Our hotel team values guest feedback and we thank you for sharing yours. We were terribly sorry to learn that you experienced a delay upon arrival, as this is certainly not typical of our property. Customer service is one of our core values, and we are pleased that we were able to speak with you directly so that...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just returned from South Seas with my family of four, including my 15 yr old and 17 yr old. We very much look forward to returning simply because the beauty of the beaches can not be beat and we appreciate the amenities such as beach chair/ umbrella set up and being able to order food/ beverages on the beach. At...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank schance65
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Schance, We loved hosting you and your family on your recent vacation, and we thank you for sharing your review! We’re so glad to see that you were able to get into “vacation” mode by relaxing on the beach, where everything you need is provided for you, and we hope you were able to try out some of our...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The resort is split into 2 distinct areas - the South Village and North Pointe. The South Village is where you enter the resort. It's a quick walk to some cute shops and our favorite place to eat - Doc Fords. However, the majority of the action is on North Pointe, which is about 2.5 miles away. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank doug g
Hotel_Mgr_365, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Doug, We were delighted to welcome you and your family to Captiva Island and to South Seas Island Resort! From wildlife sightings to a bike ride across the island and ice cream at Slices & Scoops, you enjoyed some of our favorite highlights, and we appreciate you sharing! We’re glad that you got to visit our pools and beaches,...

2,670 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1842)
Viewed
View from Room (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (354)
Viewed
Room/Suite (271)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (227)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (21)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:55
Videos (8)
Viewed
Other (739)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (701)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (52)
Viewed
Harbourside Guest Room (60)
Viewed
Harbourside Guest Room Marina View (62)
Viewed
Harbourside Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool 1 (33)
Viewed
Pool 2 (54)
Viewed
Pool 3 (16)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Spa Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)
Viewed
Three-Bedroom Villa (160)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (64)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
1.8 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
17.4 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,055 reviews
18.5 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,567 reviews
23.6 km away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,354 reviews
18.2 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Price Range: RM1,081 - RM3,295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from South Seas Island Resort staff and other travellers.
205 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (205)

Questions? Get answers from South Seas Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach views will cost you, and I'm generally satisfied staying in the tennis villas or harbor.”
 of 5 bubbles thomaspswalesp, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“gulf view facing west would be the best view and most pleasant reason to stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles EllenK868, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“North Pointe is more convenient to everything”
 of 5 bubbles douggE3136XQ, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“One bedroom tennis villa with pull out couch is great for family of four.”
 of 5 bubbles iowastone, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side are quieter Corner units are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles mchuguley, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5