We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bilit Rainforest Lodge

Save
Share
KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200 Malaysia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (1127)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (27)

About

#3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabatangan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bilit Rainforest Lodge is located beside the Lower Kinabatangan River in the village of Bilit, approximately 2 hours drive from Sandakan. It is a set of amidst lush tropical forest and offers comfort and peaceful relaxation as well as a base for easy exploration of the incredible diversity of plant, mammal and birds at the Kinabatangan region. All chalets and the restaurant are made from local hardwood material and are designed to blend into the nature giving a unique local native ambience. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a minimum of 600 sq.ft. for standard chalets and 800 sq. ft. for VIP permier chalets. A boardwalk connects the jetty, restaurant and all the chalets.
Read more
Property amenities
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Darts
Table tennis
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay

Location

Full view
Contact
KG Bilit Seberang Jalan Sukau, Kota Kinabatangan 90200 Malaysia
Getting there
Sandakan Airport49 kmSee all flights
Lahad Datu Airport52 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
337Reviews3Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 131
  • 48
  • 13
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Caroline-AndyC wrote a review Feb 2019
southampton33 contributions15 helpful votes
Sadly only stayed one night here, and actually wish we could have stayed longer. 2 hour drive from the airport, we were collected by our Guide Vinnie, he was so knowledgeable and made our stay! On arrival, you transfer up the river on a boat, we had a quick turn around before we went off on the afternoon river cruse. It rained a lot (yes i know its in the name!) so remember your waterproofs, although we were provided ponchos! we managed to see a fair few animals, but unfortunately missed orangutans. This is why we should have stayed 2 nights. Food was lovely and plentiful, and a special touch was the table had been decorated in flowers as they know it was our honeymoon! Rooms were basic, but clean and the aircon worked well, what else do you need! Thank you for looking after
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HadleyHo, Guest Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Responded 27 Feb 2019
Dear CarolineAndyC, Warmest Greeting from Bilit Rainforest Lodge. That was our pleasure to make your honeymoon trip memorable! You’re always welcome to visit us again and again.
Read more
Wanderer619498 wrote a review Sep 2018
Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom70 contributions44 helpful votes
My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay here and everything met our expectations. We saw plenty of wildlife during the boat rides in the early morning and late evening, including orangutans, monkeys and snakes. Particularly beautiful was a ride taking us down a narrow channel of the river through to the lake. The accommodation is comfortable, spacious and clean. The food adequate. Anyone seeking a bit of adventure- I’d recommend Billit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HadleyHo, Guest Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Responded 25 Sep 2018
Dear Wamderer619498, Warmest Greeting from Bilit Rainforest Lodge! Thank you for your valued reviews. Please introduce us to your friends and family so that they could enjoy the nature together!
Read more
498barbara wrote a review Sep 2018
Bromley, United Kingdom38 contributions13 helpful votes
Accommodation was adequate, comfortable beds, lighting dim as not enough light bulbs. Air con ok . Free wi fi was limited to 1 hour and not very reliable, you can buy more . The boat trips and our guide were excellent, however there is absolutely nothing else to do. You cannot walk anywhere and there is a lot of time to just wait between boat trips, so take books or cards etc. The food was ok but pretty basic. Breakfast was the best meal. The bar was practically non existent and they struggled to give change for anything. We did see animals and that is what you go there for but it is all pretty basic
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from HadleyHo, Guest Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Responded 26 Sep 2018
Dear 498barbara, Warmest Greeting from Bilit Rrainforest Lodge! Your reviews are valuable! In between the free and leisure time, there is a lounge with aircond provided some board games and pingpong activity. The main concern in lodge would be relaxing in the natural ambiance, hammocks are provided surround too for you to read your books. Thanks for coming, we are sincerely hope to see you very soon in your next visit.
Read more
Colin B wrote a review Sep 2018
London, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
The water borne wildlife experience is fantastic - great sightings of animals and birds, and if nothing else it's worth coming here for this. Our guide on the boat was exceptional - so knowledgeable and passionate on every trip. However, it could be so much better. The Lodge staff were totally disinterested - never helped carry our bags, did not get up to cook eggs on our departure day (despite about 50% of the Lodge leaving early), and an empty bar (no wine at all for the two days we were there, no Sprite on the second day, one beer option). The food was disappointing - other places we stayed at on this trip did a much better job. They just didn't seem to try. The rooms are ordinary - but you expect that - the bathrooms were like something from my 70s school days!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from HadleyHo, Guest Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Responded 26 Sep 2018
Dear Colin B, Warmest Greeting from Bilit Rainforest Lodge! Appreciated very much for your valued reviews and thanks for pointed out the mistakes. We will try our best for the improvements, we will take note with it and hopefully you will enjoy a better services from us in future. We are sincerely apology for the disappointments.
Read more
Szaki123 wrote a review Aug 2018
Solihull, United Kingdom1 contribution
Our guide Mus was excellent. He was extremely knowledgable and very engaging. He was always clear with the plans for the day and happy to answer questions, all of which he answered with exceptional detail. We would definitely recommend him to anyone looking to explore Sabah. The food in the lodge was great and the staff as they were helpful and friendly.We would highly recommend staying at Bilit Rainforest Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from HadleyHo, Guest Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Responded 13 Aug 2018
Dear Samir Zaki, Warmest Greeting from Bilit Rainforest Lodge! First of all, we would like to thank you for recommend us and also on behalf of Mus! He will be glad to hear that you’re satisfied your tour with him :) Thank you.
Read more
JackAverre wrote a review Jul 2018
London, United Kingdom70 contributions31 helpful votes
Our stay at Bilit lodge came as a very pleasant surprise to us! As we arrived we expected old, run-down and uncomfortable rooms but were shocked to find incredibly spacious rooms: each person has their personal king-sized bed which is very comfortable, which is virtually unheard of in the hotel industry! The activities on offer are also good fun, including 2-hour boat drives down the river where you can see animals such as crocodiles and orang-utans, and small walks into the rainforest. There is also a ping-pong table, which is great fun to use in-between activities and during the evening. The only reason I don’t give the lodge 5 stars is because the food isn’t particularly good, but is certainly not awful. If you are on your way to Borneo, I would definitely recommend you give
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from HadleyHo, Guest Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Responded 13 Aug 2018
Dear Jack, Warmest Greeting from Bilit Rainforest Lodge! Thank you for you valued review and we are glad that you were happy during your stay with us :D however, the bedding is 2 queen size beds in every standard room instead of king size bed whereas the king size bed will only be provided in Deluxe Room. Last but not least, we will try our best to keep improve in our food in future. Thank you.
Read more
CleverOwl wrote a review Jul 2018
Chichester, United Kingdom25 contributions25 helpful votes
We just had 2 nights at the lodge. So much more comfortable than expected and to be honest they can give a lot less as the wildlife and experience you will have outweighs any hairdryer or any other little silly thing some of the reviews mention. We did 2 cruises per day and apart from the pigmy elephants we saw everything: crocs, birds, monkeys, orangutans etc. The food is good, people are lovely and the guides/captains very skilful. An amazing time!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HadleyHo, Guest Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Responded 13 Aug 2018
Dear CleverOwl, Warmest Greeting from Bilit Rainforest Lodge! We are very much appreciated for your valued reviews towards our lodge, it is helpful :) we are sincerely hope that will see you in your next visit over here again! Thank you.
Read more
NikkiB1105 wrote a review Jun 2018
Melbourne, Australia22 contributions18 helpful votes
I loved our stay here, we had 2 night and wish we'd had more, accommodation was far better than I expected, and an abundance of great food and monkeys everywhere!!!! We were very lucky on our boat rides and saw a herd of pigmy elephants, wild orangutan, heaps of monkeys, crocs, birds, everything we wished for. Staff were incredible, it was the highlight of my trip
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from HadleyHo, Guest Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Responded 27 Jun 2018
Dear Nikki, Warmest Greeting from Bilit Rainforest Lodge! We are glad that you’re satisfied with your stays with us, and you’re definitely lucky to meet the pigmy elepants! Your review is very much appreciate. Thank you.
Read more
Paul B wrote a review Jun 2018
Sydney, Australia648 contributions213 helpful votes
+1
If you want to spend some time checking out Mother Nature along the Kinabatanga River then stay here. The rooms are comfortable, the meals are plentiful and tasty, the staff so friendly and you're in the right spot to buzz up and down the river appreciating the antics of monkeys, the soaring hornbills and even pygmy elephants. Such a delight.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from HadleyHo, Guest Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Responded 19 Jun 2018
Dear Paul, Warmest Greeting from Tropical Gateway Tours! We are glad to hear that you are overall satisfied with your stay with us! We hope to see you in your next visit :) Thank you.
Read more
Hayley J wrote a review Jun 2018
Dudley, United Kingdom69 contributions33 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights and would definitely stay here again. We were in the vip lodge and it was sufficient enough. It was clean and spacious, and the toilet and shower were great. Was lovely waking up to the monkeys every morning and watch them be mischievous. The staff are all so lovely and welcoming. We didn’t lift a finger the whole time we were there! Jimmy is a lovely guy, always on the go keeping the lodges and ground clean and tidy! Thoroughly enjoyed the river cruises!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from HadleyHo, Guest Relations Manager at Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Responded 5 Jun 2018
Dear Hayley, Warmest Greeting from Tropical Gateway Tours! Thank you for your reviews and it was our pleasure to make your stay enjoyable. Mr. Jimmy will definitely glad to hear from you! We are delighted to see you in your next visit, we believed that we could provide even better in future!
Read more
ALSO KNOWN AS
bilit rainforest hotel sabah
LOCATION
MalaysiaSabahKinabatangan DistrictKota Kinabatangan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing