We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 562: English reviews
Start your review of The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
 Click to rate
Florence, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A Very nice hotel. Stayed on a recent college baseball spring training games in Port Charlotte. Good location for restaurants. Apparently, significantly better than the PG waterfront according to other parents. One complain on the Wyvern is that there are NO bathroom fans - very bizarre!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dibst
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Dibst, Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and do hope you visit again soon! Sincerely, Summer Holman

East Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 week ago

ppdecided on this hotel at the last minute. I couldn't have been happier when we arrived. Arrival went smoothly and the person at the desk was so nice. When we got up to our room we could not have been happier. Room was spacious and had very nice furniture. The bathroom was elegant. Stopped in for a nightcap and service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emp617
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are thrilled you gave us an opportunity to showcase our amazing property. It's great to hear you enjoyed your room as well as restaurant. Please visit with us again soon! Thank you, Summer Holman

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

WOW!!!! By far the best hotel in Punta Gorda. Classic, Clean, large, beautiful rooms. The staff was too nice!!!!!!! My parents stayed at the Sheraton Four Points and we made a reservation here. We won!!!!! My mother was not happy with the room or staff. We visited once for about an hour at the Four points and went to there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Thomas G, Thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel. Its very pleasing to hear our staff took such great care of you while staying with us. Glad you enjoyed Perch 360 rooftop restaurant and bar as well. Please come back and visit with us soon! Regards, Summer Holman

Central Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We travel frequently and really value staff who love what they do and take pride in their work. We find that a really great hotel stay most likely always starts at the top; who is hired, excellent training, empowerment to enhance customer satisfaction, fine elements chosen for comfort. This hotel is in a good location and is nice, but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kamsgma
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind words about our staff and how they took such great care of you during the duration of your stay. We are pleased that all members of staff including our servers and front desk made a lasting impression. We do hope you come back and stay with us again! Sincerely, Summer Holman

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a long day of travel, we were especially happy to find their outstanding rooftop tapas restaurant with beverages. It is on the sixth floor with a great view of the harbor. Our server Dana from Syracuse was exceptional. It comes from the top down, and we asked to meet the manager named Harrison. After a beautiful sunset, we finished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldBNeal
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear WorldBNeal, Thank you for staying with us a few days in Punta Gorda and taking advantage of everything we have to offer at the hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed Perch360 as well as our staff. Please visit again with us in the near future. Sincerely, Summer Holman

winerunner
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came for a repeat visit to Punta Gorda Jazz fest- limited options in PG and decided to give the Wyvern a try. Nice rooms-spacious, comfortable sitting area, large beautiful bathroom and frig were all a plus. Dining-Breakfast was good. My veggie omelet was well-prepared and tasty. Server was pleasant although had to track her down to pay the bill...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank winerunner
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us over the Jazz & Wine Festival. We understand your frustration with the reservation for Perch 360 as we typically only take reservations for the Cabana and Fire Pit tables and the remaining tables/chairs are on a first come first serve basis, with that said I'm glad to...

Lake Orion, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice place to stay, I've been to Punta Gorda 4 times first time at this hotel. I was very pleased with the hotel, clean large room, very comfortable. I usually do not eat at hotel based in part on overpriced mediocre food. I decided to give it a try. I ordered two entrees the clams and beef on weck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjvoges6
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for being a loyal guest of ours and for trying some of our excellent menu options we provide in the restaurants. We hope you come back soon and try the many different dining options we do have to offer. Sincerely, Summer Holman

Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had lunch today with a friend, service was okay, food very disappointing! we ordered a Bison burger ( very small) and a regular burger, medium, both were over cooked and my friend said that is not bison! would not return. the meat was not the least bit tantilizing to say the least.,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harley4417
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at Perch 360. Our dinner menu is a Tapas Style so portions are made for sharing or for ordering multiple items to get a sample of the different varieties we offer. For lunch our menu is based on everything being under 600 Calories. We take pride in having...

Decatur, IL
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here 7 years ago and couldn't come thru this area without staying here again. We love this hotel and it's location. The staff couldn't be any nicer. It's great to be able to walk to bars and restaurants and not worry about driving. Love the rooftop bar and restaurant. The lobby restaurant is now a sports bar with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Floyd80
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Dear Floyd80, We are happy to hear you are a returning guest! Our hotel is a perfect location to try other restaurants and bars as well as shopping within walking distance. We do hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Summer Holman

Eveleth, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visiting from MN and always wanted to try out the Wyvern bar/restaurant in Punta Gorda. What a view! Our excellent waitress, Rosie, recommended the jalapeño margarita. Delicious! Would have loved to have more than one... The menu had a variety of tapas/small plates. I loved it, but I don't think my husband would have enjoyed the smaller portions. I'll be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
Summer H, Director of Sales at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Hi Sue K, Thank you for your kind words about our property and restaurant, Perch 360. Glad you enjoyed the menu and drinks! We hope you and your husband can visit with us again soon. Regards, Summer Holman

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.4 km away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#4 of 7 in Punta Gorda
474 reviews
5.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
9.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Price Range: RM571 - RM1,320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room was quiet, nice view of the Marina”
 of 5 bubbles Mydoojacks, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The top floor can be a bit loud at times from the roof, we like the 4th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles guggleplex, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are nice, don't worry. 6th floor room had some evening noise from the pool bar area, but wasn't too loud.”
 of 5 bubbles prowler1, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Harbor facing rooms may be quieter on weekends. 2nd floor rooms are pet-friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles DebOnTheRoad, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the north side, if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles KNOS128, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5