We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

519 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
See the most recent reviews
Showing 510: English reviews
Arlington Heights
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Place is pretty nice but not worth $270 a night. There was a baseball tournament near by so they jacked up prices. If you stay here for $150 a night or less I would recommend. Rooms are a bit dated however very clean. Location was great. Nothing wrong with the place just not 5 star choice.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Naptown2
ZackOxleyGM, General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

Naptown 2, Thank you for taking the time to offer us some feedback. Our Housekeeping Team works extremely hard to make sure our guests are in a clean, comfortable, and well appointed room. Our rates due tend to fluctuate greatly depending on the time of the year, or the events in town. Often times the prices may seem high, but...

pattaya
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We loved the Wyvern....harbor view rooms....very modern, quality furnishing, excellent bedding, and great location. Very nice roof top lounge. Many restaurants within walking distance...quiet and comfortable....will be back...highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John B
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the wyvern during a business trip. I am previously stayed just down the road at the Sheraton but was not too happy with my experience there. The wyvern is a very nice hotel with very nice rooms which are very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and is quick to help with anything that you have. The rooftop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jsikes17
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Just back from the Wyvern after having cocktails on the rooftop and dinner in the sports bar. An all round excellent experience. Staff are all very helpful and a delight to deal with. Had looked up the menu beforehand only to find later that it is way out of date. Although this was disappointing we were certainly not disappointed with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
ZackOxleyGM, General Manager at The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda, responded to this review

David A, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! Delicious food, a great view, and a nice cocktail are some of the wonderful things we offer here at the Wyvern Hotel! Chef Bob takes a great deal of pride in making or guests and patrons miss his creations when they are...

Frederick, Maryland
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Truly a beautiful hotel! From the moment we arrived it was clear this was going to be a wonderful stay! The staff was attentive. The room was perfect! Immaculate, inviting and comfortable. The rooftop bar - complete with guitar player, offered fantastic fun for viewing the sunset! Perfect respite after a long day of flying! Kudos to the bar staff!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c w
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Our two night stay at the Wyvern was a wonderful experience! Every aspect of this facility and its staff were top notch. We were treated extremely well by all personnel, but must give special credit to Marilysys at check-in and Gisela during check-out. Both were so kind, friendly and helpful. They made us feel so welcomed! Our breakfast in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peg L
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewed 19 May 2016

The Wyvern is my home away from home in Punta Gorda. I have stayed here twice on business. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quite. There is a wide variety of places to eat within walking distance. From the Tex-Mex place with the live band next to the Wyvern to some casually upscale places less than a block away. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psb238
St. Augustine, FL
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This is a real great value for the money! The room had upgraded amenities, very clean, quiet and a beautiful view of the bay. The front desk was extremely helpful in pointing out things to do in the area. We were there for only one night and regretted not staying additional nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beth0928
Sarasota
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The hotel was wonderful! Clean, conveniently located, and great staff. The rooftop bar was great to watch the sunset. The only drawback was that while we had a great view of the harbor from the 5th floor, our room was directly under the band that was playing on the roof. It was very loud! The good thing was that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. We had a great time. The room was comfortable and nice. Our favorite part was the roof top pool and bar. Everyone was very friendly and professional. Jen, Chris, Cody, and Dana were all very good to us. They were all great people that made our vacation as great as it was. No complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryannnnnnnnn

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
0.3 km away
Four Points By Sheraton Punta Gorda Harborside
0.4 km away
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
PG Waterfront Hotel & Suites
#3 of 7 in Punta Gorda
444 reviews
5.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Port Charlotte
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn Port Charlotte / Punta Gorda
9.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Charlotte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newest addition to the Punta Gorda area is simply breathtaking — The Wyvern Hotel is proud to welcome guests who appreciate luxury without pretense. Our 63 room boutique hotel is impeccably appointed with every comfort you could desire for an ideal getaway to this remarkable location on Southwest Florida’s Gulf Coast. Our meeting and event space is ideal for everything from romantic wedding receptions to corporate gatherings of all types, uniquely paired with our in-house LuLu Restaurant & Sky Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda

Address: 101 E Retta Esplanade, Punta Gorda, FL 33950-3637
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Punta Gorda
Price Range: RM493 - RM1,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Wyvern Hotel Punta Gorda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the gulf side”
 of 5 bubbles megw80, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“River side is definitely quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles NHJD, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the parking lot side - too noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles MisterFroggy, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the bridge will be quieter and offer a view the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles pwill144, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The view on the "water side" is nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles 2briang, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay