We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 374: English reviews
Start your review of Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
 Click to rate
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Reasonable rates for room. Clean and walking distance to Ripleys and St George Streer. St. Augustine has some really over priced, old, and nasty rooms. This hotle was the first I've been to where the value equated the rate. Clean tub, toilet, bedding. Comfortable bed and pillows. We did not eat breakfast because we had early tours.

Thank k d
Naples, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The people who run this hotel are very friendly and cordial. They could not have been nicer. Sadly, it appears they are doing their best to help you ignore this disaster... This hotel is located adjacent to a freight rail line. It's about 50 feet away from the property. The trains roar through at any time. In fact, at check...

Thank naplesfoodlover1955
Lake Mary, Florida, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Newly renovated facility that is not too far from the old fort and historic district. It was a short walk through some nice older neighborhoods right up to the waterfront. Breakfast was hot and good and one of the owners (I think) was there making waffles for everyone and serving people. A rare level of service. The only negative was...

Thank Charles B
Palm Bay, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reasonable rates. Nice room but the owners and staff made all the difference. Very nice and they go the extra mile. We would stay there again! They are doing upgrades now. 2 nice decks for sunset viewing will be done soon on the west side. The hotel is right next door to a visitors center.

Thank Palmbayra
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I travel constantly for business, I have stayed everywhere in St Augustine. This hotels location is excellent, the service is sweet, the movies are free, so is the breakfast, its next to the welcome center w a trolley that takes you everywhere in town, you also get free attraction tickets for checking in. My kids are 8 and 10 and...

Thank jackchazen
Ericka K, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

We are so pleased we exceeded your expectations! Thank you so much for staying with us and recognizing our exceptional amenities we provide to make your stay more enjoyable. Our great river view and the historical train attract many of our valued guests. We look forward to welcome you on your next Saint augustine visit.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 9 February 2017

This hotel would have rated a terrible, however when we arrived the staff was fairly friendly. After our initial moment everything seemed to go down hill. The room was very damp and musty, it also seemed like it hadn't had a deep cleaning in a long time. The location is a little bit out of town, in that you can...

Thank CandyCritic
Ericka K, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hoping that we will eventually be able to earn a 5 star ratings from you as our renovation complete. We sincerely apologize for your experience however I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you our usual exceptional service and clean rooms.

Ft L Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed 31 January 2017

The hotel's rooms are on the outside. We were greeted cheerfully. The lobby was very nice. The rooms had been recently redecorated. Tile floors. The walls were painted several calm colors & very creative. The curtain over the window was not fancy, but quite clean. The bathroom was really nice. No tub, but a step in tiled shower with a...

Thank linedancer6
Ericka K, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our Hotel. We appreciate your recognition of the great team members and amenities. Please come to see us again!

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

The inside lobby isn't very fancy but the front staff, Gerry, was so nice and helpful. The rooms are really clean and has all your basic needs. The price is affordable for this area and you're just a few miles from the center of it all. I would stay here again.

Thank Babyblue1972
Ericka K, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our Magnuson Hotel! We appreciate your comment and recognition of our team members. Looking forward to see you on your next visit to St. Augustine.

Reviewed 11 January 2017

Hotel is under construction from the Hurricane, some of the rooms have been updated with tile floors no carpet. As the other reviewers had stated there are train tracks right behind the hotel so if your a light sleeper ask for a front room or the trains will wake you up during the night all night long. Wonder staff especially...

Thank Lovelylady036
Ericka K, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice comments! As you said we are remodeling, will be tile floor, brand new furniture, bath room design and amenities in all our rooms. Please tell your friend about us and come to visit again!

Reviewed 3 January 2017

We should've known this hotel (more like a MOTEL) was bad, when the clerk locked the lobby and had us check in via a window (like a gas station). The room was clean, but the room was dated. The shower had no curtain. The bed were rock hard. The a/c took forever to cool. The other dogs were noisy and...

Thank CAcosta63
Ericka K, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and comments. We are apologize you were so disappointed. We always want to make sure that our guests feel that our hotel is the best choice for their stay in Saint Augustine. Please give us another chance after our renovation is complete. Looking forward to see you again!

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (76)
Room/Suite (14)
Bathroom (8)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
View from Room (2)
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Room/Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
0.4 km away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#22 of 79 in St. Augustine
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#44 of 79 in St. Augustine
400 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
1.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine is located in scenic downtown St. Augustine, overlooking the beautiful San Sebastian River to the west. Leave your car and walk to area restaurants and shops, plus the town trolley and train stops are a 10 minute walk from the Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine. You will be minutes from shopping at the Belz Outlet Mall, gator viewing at the Alligator Farm Zoological Park, and the fast paced world of racing at the Daytona International Speedway are all near the Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine

Address: 1111 North Ponce de Leon Boulevard, St. Augustine, FL 32084 (Formerly Quality Inn Historic)
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Price Range: RM492 - RM1,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Historic Hotel Saint Augustine
Quality Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Falkirk, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Select a room on the street side.”
 of 5 bubbles charlesb878, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we have stayed in the suite which was fantastic but also the regular room is cool too.”
 of 5 bubbles jackchazen, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are quitter in front part of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Lovelylady036, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“next to train, dingy, shady staff & location”
 of 5 bubbles CAcosta63, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles 111chantalm, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5