We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 237: English reviews
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

My husband, sister and I had a wonderful stay at Tropical Winds. Our unit was clean and neat and had a full refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Also dishes and flatwear. We didn't take advantage of the oven/range or cooking utensils. The location couldn't be better with private beach access. The two bedrooms were attached but with only one bathroom, one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferlsylman
CherylLawrence, Manager at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We will take a look at the noise coming from the air conditioner. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Luke & I thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us. Hope to see you again!

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We stayed here last weekend and had a very enjoyable experience. We had an efficiency apartment (unit #7) near the ocean. The small 1 bedroom studio was clean, updated and comfortable. My 2 small dogs had a nice time too. (Bring their dog beds.) The couple who manages the property are very nice and accommodating. The only downside was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudia C
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. It is wonderful to hear you had a lovely time during your stay. I am sorry to see that during your stay our water quality was less then stellar. During the summer months when we have storms passing through our area, we get all kinds of stuff washed into...

Tice, Florida
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Disappointingly advertises price online, also tells about $20 discount if you mention it.I had to call 3 times to get someone to help me. When I call is different price. I live in Ft Myers yearround. A, disabled senior citizen seeking staycation for a couple of days off season. Online says $20 off advertised price'latter is $89 yet on phone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FortMyersRecycler
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

I would like to clarify how these specials work. In order to receive these kinds of discounts you have to tell the person answering the phone which website you are looking at in order to get that price. As we have several promotions running on various websites. We will honor that price if the room that the price is out...

Titusville
Reviewed 2 October 2016

1st, this is not the Ritz Carlton. If you are looking for a modern, high end place to stay THIS IS NOT the place!!! If, however, you would like a clean place to stay where you and your pets can enjoy a great beach in relative seclusion this is a great choice!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your honest review! We love to hear from our guests about their stay with us. We hope you think of us next time you come to the island!! Danielle Sales and Marketing Tropical Winds Motel and Cottages, Sanibel FL

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I stayed Sept 5-9 2016 in motel/beach efficiency #9. It was the same room I had on my first time there in 2015. I enjoyed it as much as the first visit. The motel/beach section is from the 1950's and is very attractive. It's not a luxury property nor is it very large. The cottages are just across the small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank donOrlando
CherylLawrence, General Manager at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you came back and especially happy you enjoyed it again! Tropical Winds is known for our retro 50's look, serenity, and secluded beaches. We have many guests tell us that is why they come back. As you saw, we have upgraded the interiors in the beach efficiencies....

Miami, Fl
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stayed over Labor Day weekend there. Our first time at this place and we had a good experience. Now, this is a no-frills, very simple place, but it is super close to the beach (we were in #1 and it took us only a couple of minutes to get there) and super quiet day and night. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedro M
CherylLawrence, Manager at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback! We strive to offer a great experience for our guests. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Booked for2 nights Jul 27-29. Arrived on time, met Elsie. She showed us to room#1. This is the worst place I have ever seen in my life, it was filthy. Black hairs on the bed and pillows, overwhelming smell, don't know what it was. Dirty cupboards, dirty baseboards, hair on floors, hair ball on the bedroom floor, filthy carpet in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Edward N
GuestSvsMgmt, Manager at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

We again apologize for the poor experience you had during your stay with us. As you can see by our other reviews your experience is not a typical experience for our guests. We have since hired a new housekeeping staff after reviewing your situation. We attempted to make it right with you, by offering a different room, providing you a...

Plantation, Florida
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We were very surprised to find this hotel accepts pets. We arrived and were greeted with a small pet basket including a nice treat for our puppy. However, we were given the "quaint room". It is the smallest room they have. The room was clean so we were very happy with that. There was no where to just it and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLynnS01
CherylLawrence, Manager at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and next time make sure to book one of our spacious rooms.

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I love this place is quiet, clean and staff is very friendly. Is 1000 feet from the beach but they have wagons that you can borrow. Also is a pet friendly hotel and you can barely see other dogs or people at the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorenalenz
GuestSvsMgmt, Director of Sales at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your review!!! So pleased to see you had an enjoyable time with us. Think of us the next time you come to the island!! Danielle Sales and Marketing Tropical Winds, Sanibel Island FL

Mount Dora, Florida
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We were pleased to find the cottages were on a private beach since most of the public beaches are congested with people and traffic. We were greeted by a friendly person who immediately gave us tips on places to eat and directed us to the location of the private pool where we could find guest umbrellas, chairs, shovels and toys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlefishworld
CherylLawrence, Manager at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review! It was my pleasure to give your Mom a ride to the beach. Our guests happiness is very important to us. Next time, do not hesitate to call if you needed soap. We do supply soap, not shampoo at this time. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward...

377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (43)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
0:58
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (27)
Viewed
Beach Unit (48)
Viewed
Cottage (61)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come experience Sanibel with the charm of Old Style Florida! Located on the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, on the west end of the island, Tropical Winds is tucked away in a very secluded, private setting within a small residential neighborhood. Enjoy one of our beachfront or nearby cottages in our own tropical paradise! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages

Address: 4819 Tradewinds & Jamaica Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2605
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: RM937 - RM1,646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Motel And Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Tropical Winds Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only one has a king bed otherwise they have two double beds in the rooms -there are not many so booking ahead is helpful”
Iamwhereswaldo, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“unit 7 near ocean was clean and updated.”
484ClaudiaC, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Call to make sure rate is as advertised”
FortMyersRecycler, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any rooms but #5 are ok - #5 is just too small”
SLynnS01, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had room #6 - it was recently updated.”
  • Queen bed
  • Bathroom
  • 2 Full size beds
javiincf, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5