We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,106: English reviews
Orlando
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Overpriced for run down but ok room. Nice beach and pool. Mediocre food at restaurant. Plan ahead for another place w better quality for the price. Sheets are ok. Carpet on floor, some mold. I would have sucker it up as a budget place but this was not cheap

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wondcerland
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Please feel free to contact me personally so I can attempt to make this right for you. Tim H

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Great resort to stay. It is possible to walk to shops, bars and restaurants at Armand Circle, it takes about 30 minutes. The resort has free shuttle if you dont feel like walking. Great pool area, pool towels are provided. Pool bar is excellent, the two girls Rachael and Missy do a great job. There was a Christmas party disco...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickchambers
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

We are all excited that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sandcastle Lido Beach. Thank you for your comments and we really appreciate your business. We stand ready to welcome your return. Tim H

Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

This used to be the old Helmsley hotel, and not much is changed since it changed hands. The rooms are basic but acceptable. Staff is friendly, and the entire property is well-maintained for its age. The best part is the location and access to the beach. You can't beat this for those reasons, and the affordable cost. I will be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David G
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you will be returning to our gem. We have new beach chase loungers, new pool deck furniture and have totally revamped the lobby. We continue to invest in this special location and look forward to having you return year after year!! We appreciate your stay and look forward to your return....

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Perhaps the resort physically closest to the beach. The resort was a throwback to the 50's and 60's but in a good way. The layout and courtyards made you feel like you were stepping back in time, but overall the property was clean and well kept. Some of the rooms were dated, but the resort is do No work to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for trying the Sandcastle on Lido Key. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and ask that you keep us in mind for a return trip. I am not aware of anywhere on the West coast of Florida that offers such accessibility to the Gulf of Mexico with its White powered sand! Don't forget our Jr. Olympic pool...

Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights starting on thanksgiving. It was his birthday trip and could not have been more perfect! Check in was fast and easy and we were surprised to find we were upgraded to an ocean view room. We got to our room just in time to see a perfect sunset and 2 dolphins...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johannae1977
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is the perfect spot to recharge your batteries and enjoy a oversize beach with the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico at your back door. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

This was our third stay here over the last few years but this time it seems to have gone really downhill. The rooms have always been a little dated, on this visit the rooms don't seemed to have been cleaned properly and our room had a lot of what we later told were sugar ants. The staff offered to fumigate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bryancrawford54
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Please feel free to contact me directly to make this right. We thank you for your continued patronage and would like to serve you again in the future. Tim H.

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

I grew up next to The Sandcastle. So when I got married, I had my family and friends stay there. We got married on the public beach and had friends over to the hotel to celebrate. The staff set up a fire pit on the beach and provided music! All my friends were given guest passes to park with Zero...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg G
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Congratulations on your wedding. We are thrilled to have been a part of such a special moment in your life! Thank you for having such a special occasion with us and we are all wishing many years of happiness for you and your new family!! Come celebrate your anniversary with us next year and we are here for special needs...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Been to the Sandcastle a few times over the years and its a must stay place for us. Spent a few days there earlier this month. On arrival there were a few issues as the room we had booked was subject to external maintenance however after raising my concerns with Dennis things were sorted out. The key thing about this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank h0lidayfun11
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words. We could not have explained our hotel better. The staff will make the difference no matter where you choose to stay and how much you spend. Some of the most expensive hotels I have stayed at sometimes offer the least amount of personal service that todays traveler is looking for. We pride...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

My wife and I stayed at this resort for two nights (15 & 16 November) as part of a longer fly-drive down the Gulf Coast. We were impressed with its location, right on Lido Beach but frankly were disappointed with the hotel. First impressions were it appeared somewhat tired and was in need of a refresh. Our bedroom was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. I am disappointed to read that you were not able to enjoy the property to its fullest extent. We print out all of the amenities included in the resort fee and I apologize that our staff did not go over that with you. Umbrella's are included and do not cost...

Frittenden
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This place is like marmite - you either love it or hate it. The first room we were shown to was pretty awful it was on the edge of the property overshadowed by the next door hotel and although it had direct accèss to the beach the beach there was pretty scruffy. The room was really tired and the carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaFrittenden
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business. Tim H.

675 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (651)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (152)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (91)
Viewed
View from Room (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (191)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
7.2 km away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,202 reviews
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
4.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 49 in Sarasota
1,864 reviews
6.8 km away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#7 of 49 in Sarasota
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Price Range: RM999 - RM1,842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Bridgend, United Kingdom
over a year ago
15 days ago
Estes Park, Colorado
2 months ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Face the Gulf if possible. Sunsets are incredible.”
 of 5 bubbles pat162, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a ocean front room.”
 of 5 bubbles national23, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the second floor of the building that offers both bool and ocean views!”
 of 5 bubbles 305kerrim, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the gulf side-- we like the first floor so we can walk right out to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles indulgent_traveler, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a gulf view even if there's only one with two double beds.”
 of 5 bubbles l0vet0travel999, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5