We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Start your review of Econo Lodge
 Click to rate
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel looked like a flop house. The staff was fairly nice. There were drug dealers and prostitutes in the parking lot. I was thoroughly disgusted. I stayed there only because it was the only hotel under $100 on a holiday weekend across the street from Busch Gardens. Stay away, stay far away. You can definitely hear everything (and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
Saskatoon
Reviewed 30 January 2017

My Wife and I were passing through Tampa on the evening of the 20th of January 2017 and we had stopped to find a room at a few places and they were booked so when we arrived at the Econo lodge we were happy to find they had a room!! This is absolutely the worst place we have ever stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
Winter Garden, Florida
Reviewed 6 January 2017

My field guys stayed here during two projects in the Tampa area. This hotel was nothing fancy but covered the basis for basic needs. My guys did not complain about the rooms and the front desk team was easy to work with when booking rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
Quality Inn T, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we will show our department heads this review. Looks like you did not have any issues while your employees were staying here. I was confused to see we only received 2 rating from you.

Reviewed 5 October 2016

Listen, we are evacuating from the east coast hurricane zone and simply wanted an affordable yet safe place to stay. Traveling was myself, my mom, and the 2 young kids in our care, my toddler and my special needs nephew. As nice as the staff was, the hotel was confusing, sketchy, and everything was under reconstruction. The sliding patio door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kailey M
Quality Inn T, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we will show our department heads this review. I am not sure what you meant by confusing? I am sorry to hear about the issues that you had.

Reviewed 14 September 2016

hadnt been to busch gardens since I was a kid. so I decided to drive down and check it out again. i booked this room cause it was next door to the park. i got a room that was upstairs real close to the front desk. the room wasn't too bad. it had a balcony. parked right outside my room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Indiana2017
Quality Inn T, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we will show our department heads this review.

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Under new managememt. No longer a Quality Inn. It's now called Mosi Inn. We stayed 8 months ago and dont remember it being this bad. It felt unsafe. We were greeted by a crackhead begging for money while we drove out back to look for parking. We decided to park farther away from our room because the area where our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
Quality Inn T, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we will show our department heads this review. Thank you letting me know about about the door issues, we will more security patrols to make sure that door keeps closed. Sorry that a "crackhead" asked you for money, we are right off the main road and can not control who...

Stuart, Florida
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

I would give it no stars if I could. This place is discussing. Do not stay here! I booked it online and when I got there I was appalled at the deplorable condition this place is in. Dirty doesn't even describe how bad it is!! Mold growing every where the pool has no water in it and mold and weeds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rita b
Quality Inn T, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we will show our department heads this review. I am not sure about the pool not having water? I am not sure you stayed at our hotel, we do not have weeds growing all over the place. Please drop us an email and let us know what you were referring...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Pros: 1) Reasonably priced. 2) Close to Busch Gardens and highways Cons: Old, dated, and seemed unkept. Did not feel safe while staying here. Woke up several times during our stay to sirens and a police helicopter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seevert
Quality Inn T, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we will show our department heads this review.

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We usually stay at another hotel, but it was booked. I read the reviews but for only one night and a discounted price on the booking site I used, we gave it a shot. Parking lot had quite a few people hanging around, lobby set up was strange. Check in was quick and easy and saw that there are cameras...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I read many reviews about this property. A majority of them were negative. So I arrived expecting the worst. That ended up not being the case. To begin with, we arrived late (Around 9 p.m.) due to leaving Tallahassee after I got off work. The Front Desk clerk on duty named Kim was professional and showed concern for me and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl0719
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that Kim took care of your needs. I am am the new manager at the hotel, and look forward to meeting you on your next stay in town. Eric

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 km away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
1.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tampa Near Busch Gardens
6.6 km away
Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
3.0 km away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Econo Lodge, a Tampa hotel near Busch Gardens Africa in Tampa Florida. The Econo Lodge is ideally located within walking distance of the entrance to Busch Gardens Africa amusement park. This Tampa, FL hotel is minutes from the Florida Aquarium, the Museum Of Science and Industry (MOSI), Florida State Fairgrounds, Florida Hospital, the Raymond James Stadium, the University of South Florida and the Ybor City historic district. Several beautiful beaches are about 30 minutes from the hotel. Many shopping opportunities are also close by. Visitors will enjoy recreational activities like jet skiing, parasailing, golfing, sport fishing, scuba diving and boating. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and entertainment venues are located in the surrounding area. In addition, the Tampa area offers some of the best seafood under the sun. Hotel amenities and features include:•Free continental breakfast•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free local calls•Free coffee. After an exciting day of sightseeing, guests of this Tampa, FL hotel will enjoy relaxing in the outdoor pool. All guest rooms have hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Some rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, sofa sleepers and balconies. Laundry facilities are located on the property for added guest convenience.The perfect location, affordable accommodations and friendly customer service make the Quality Inn hotel the perfect place to stay for business and leisure travelers. We look forward to serving you when visiting the Tampa area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 4139 E Busch Blvd, Tampa, FL 33617 (Formerly Quality Inn Busch Gardens)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Price Range: RM305 - RM525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here.”
  • This was the best part of the hotel room. It was gross.
 of 5 bubbles adambZ3450CZ, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No good rooms here / Hookers and Drug dealers”
 of 5 bubbles W1622LHdarrens, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get a room close to front desk where you can look outside and watch your car”
 of 5 bubbles Indiana2017, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“For the price this is a pretty good value. Much better than a lot that is available this close to Busch gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles islandgirl0719, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“stay elsewhere for same money”
 of 5 bubbles tbone32204, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5