We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lake Chatuge Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Lake Chatuge Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 244: English reviews
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We made two four-day stays here while visiting family in the area. the decor is basic wood, very appropriate for the outstanding views over the lake and surrounding mountains. Our room did not have a refrigerator or microwave. All rooms have a balcony or patio; the view is better from rooms on the east side. Staff is very "down home'... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walter E
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad that you were able to spend so many days here. I'm sorry that the wifi was "laggy" so I will have this looked at. You mentioned your room didn't have a refrigerator and that's true because only some king size rooms in the hotel do. You can request a fridge for... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you're looking for peace and quiet with great views, this is the place. Some reviews have noted the lodge as being outdated but we found it a bit of a throwback, and amazingly charming. Yes the balcony seats are plastic.....so what. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We will stay there again for sure !

Helpful?
Thank zig5555
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your amazing review. I appreciate your kind words in regards to the hotel being a "throwback". We do try to keep the rustic charm of the hotel while trying to update as needed. I will pass your kind remarks to the staff as well. Thank you again and I hope that you will be back... More 

Kodak, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were on our 50th wedding anniversary trip. We have stayed at the Lake Chatuge Lodge many times and have always been pleased. They had added the free breakfast when we went this time. It was average. They still have coffee and cookies in the lobby. The room was very clean and comfortable. We were on the 1st floor. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger G
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for you celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary here at Lake Chatuge Lodge. As you mentioned, we do offer our continental breakfast along with 3 hot items on the weekends now. We do keep our coffee fresh 24 hours a day in lobby and we put out fresh cookies every afternoon at 3 pm. I understand your concern with... More 

Chatsworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent one night here - Nov. 12th. Loved the location & the lobby was very nice. Sunday am the breakfast was very good, which included eggs, ham, & hash browns. Our room was very comfortable. We had everything we needed. We would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks highlighting your stay. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you will stay here again. Please call us anytime to make your future reservation 1 800 613 4349 and we will be happy to see you again. Thank you, Katie Stancil General Manager More 

Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very pleasant experience at the Lake Chatuge Lodge. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. I especially liked sitting in the Great room with the fireplace going in the evening. Lake and mountain views are great. Interiors could use a bit of updating. Would stay there again if... More 

Helpful?
Thank kaemar24
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate you taking the time to write some of the things you enjoyed during your stay. Our lobby is a great place to gather beside the fireplace in our new lobby furniture. I hope that you will be able to make a return trip to our wonderful area soon. Thank you again, Katie... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Quiet motel in Haiwassee. The view of lake and mountains make it worthwhile, otherwise average hotel. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Walk to Chophouse restaurant, it's great! Buffet breakfast good

Helpful?
Thank Marcie S
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel does offer great views of Lake Chatuge and the surrounding mountains. The Chophouse of Hiawassee is located on property but it is a little bit of a walk from the hotel. All downhill to get there and uphill on the way back. As you... More 

Fairfax County, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

This business uses their location and cozy lobby to carry the weight of everyone's stay, however once in your room you will be sorely disappointed. We encountered a broken elevator for the duration of our 3 day stay, a toaster that sets off the fire alarm in the entire hotel DAILY, holes in our blankets, dirty walls, crumbling ceilings, outdated... More 

Helpful?
Thank novaisnotva
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

I apologize that your stay wasn't a good one. I do hate when a guest leaves not satisfied. I would like to take the time to address a few of the concerns you mentioned in your review. The toaster oven was a new conveyor type that we were trying out to make it easier for our guests to toast certain... More 

Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Great location, Helen, Crane Creek Vineyards all close by and Brasstown Bald at sundown...our deluxe room was clean and quite. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Sitting around the fireplace or sitting outside with other guest was a way too finish of a busy day.

Helpful?
Thank daddylowegotech
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us as you "re-connected." The Lake Chatuge Lodge is a great place to stay because it is central to many areas/activities located in the north Georgia mountains. I'm glad you enjoyed the fireplace as a gathering place to talk to others guests staying with us. I hope that you will be back soon to stay... More 

1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We were in Hiawasee to attend a concert. Lake Chatuge Lodge was within walking distance of concert venue. The lodge is older but was clean and had a friendly staff. Good breakfast was included with the room.

Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review of your hotel experience. As you mentioned, we are within walking distance to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds. Our staff tries very hard to keep the hotel extremely clean. I will pass along your kind words to our entire staff. I appreciate that you took the time to write a review of your stay and... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Overpriced - outdated - blinds taken out of the "den" area of suite and holes not filled in- deck chairs dirt/cheap-carpet/furniture worn/faded. Very disappointed. Glad just 1 night - won't be back. Check listing for other hotels in area.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review

I'm sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay here at the hotel. I see that you booked one of our king suites. I will make sure to correct a few of the problems you experienced during your stay. There are new patio chairs placed on the balcony and the holes in the wall have been repaired. We... More 

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
4.6 km away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
633 reviews
29.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
20.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
29.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen
6.6 km away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Young Harris
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located on Lake Chatuge in the North Georgia Mountains. Right next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and Anderson Music Hall--all within walking distance. We offer free breakfast, USA Today, high speed wireless internet and parking. All rooms include private balcony or patio. Views of Lake Chatuge and mountains. Conference and meeting facilities available. Restaurant on property. Catering and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lake Chatuge Lodge

Address: 653 Hwy 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Region: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Price Range: RM413 - RM533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Chatuge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Chatuge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada, The Lodge On Lake Chatuge Hotel Hiawassee
Ramada Hiawassee
Hiawassee Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lake Chatuge Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Chatuge Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“East side rooms have the east view of the lake; you have to request this with your reservation.”
 of 5 bubbles WalterE_12, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room on an upper floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 327rogerg, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get the lake view!”
 of 5 bubbles 477marcies, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have views, 3rd floor low even#'s 300's on back you will face lake and be in afternoon shade...”
 of 5 bubbles daddylowegotech, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quiet and gorgeous views.”
 of 5 bubbles _rakins7, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay