We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cloister at Sea Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

782 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 775: English reviews
Start your review of The Cloister at Sea Island
 Click to rate
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We've stayed here a number of times and the Cloister is undeniably superb. It's over our normal price range comfort level and we have found a number of other resorts up and down the coast that are equally good but for less. For this trip, we wanted to go specifically to go swimming at their indoor pool at the spa,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pramstroker
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent three nights here for a business trip. We had stayed at this property 2 years ago as well. The property has a long history behind it-as it has been around for many years. The decor is in line with they style of the hotel-not modern, but very nicely done. We stayed in room 21 which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PGSR2010
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is good to see that while the weather didn’t cooperate very well, you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps at a time when you can take advantage of the many activities and outdoor experiences available to you.

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful resort and I am picky! The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms superb and even the food is good. The spa is a royal treat - cannot imagine making that any better. We were in a garden room, which was a short distance from the main building but absolutely beautiful and less than a year old. Highly recommend the garden...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KYPaula1013
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Broadmoor in the past, so had very high hopes for this property. It is beautiful for sure. The grounds are nicely manicured. The room we stayed in had been renovated within the last year. Comfortable with a nice patio. The room was clean, but it appeared that housekeeping service was so delayed. It was close...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Asolare95
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

While we appreciate you taking the time to post your comments, I must apologize that your experience with us was not at all what we always aim to provide. I hope that you will indeed visit us again.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately, during our Spring break stay, many onsite amenities not offered (ice cream stand and quick breakfast coffee bar closed), main lodge restaurant closed for renovations, construction workers everywhere and a large convention took over main lodge building. The aspect of several amenity closures and dining renovations were not conveyed to us at time of booking or we would have...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank bestfamilyadventures
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

While I appreciate your understanding that maintenance projects must be done, especially during the cooler months, I apologize that we did not respond appropriately to your concerns while you were here. We fell short of the mark, and I am sorry. I do hope you will consider returning to Sea Island for a visit which is truly typical of our...

Hollywood, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went for a romantic getaway. This hotel was beyond wonderful. The food was great. The Spa was luscious. I told the trainer he was "mean". He taught me how to use a new piece of fitness equipment that really pushed me. He was full of information and support and I wasn't even taking a class. Pilates was fun. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My experience at the Cloister proves that nothing beats service. A five star resort makes you feel like you're the only guest that matters and that's what happens here. We began our trip with a little hiccup during our first breakfast. We had a discussion with the manager and you could tell she was truly concerned and was going to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amar K
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Apologies for the long post, but this one is worth it. My wife and I stayed at the Cloister for a "mini-honeymoon" following our wedding in January. I read about Sea Island on a Travel + Leisure list of "Best of" Hotels, and it seemed like the perfect place to get away and relax. The Cloister is a huge property...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nadav K
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Cloister at Sea Island is one of those rare places where you feel completely at home the moment you arrive. It's the best of Southern warmth, hospitality and charm. The rooms are spacious, beautiful and completely comfortable. The interior design is a mix of antiques and lush fabrics. There is something for everyone in this little piece of paradise...from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
ScottSteilen, President and CEO at The Cloister at Sea Island, responded to this review

How nice to see how much you enjoyed your time with us at Sea Island. Now that you have discovered us, we look forward to having you with us again soon.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I spent 4 days at the Beach Club and had a fabulous time. The property itself is beautiful with lots of activities including multiple pools, game rooms, movie theater (open in season), kayaking, fitness center, spa...but what really sets the place apart is the wonderful staff. We were blown away by their friendliness and attention to detail...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NYCTripper_11

1,320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (515)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (162)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (178)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (776)
Viewed
Amenities (218)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Beach Club Adult Pool (7)
Viewed
Beach Club Pool (22)
Viewed
Black Banks Suite (117)
Viewed
Fitness Centre Pool (13)
Viewed
Main Building Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
Sea Island Suite (92)
Viewed
Standard King Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)
Viewed
Water Atrium Spa Pool (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Island
6.0 km away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
573 reviews
15.3 km away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
1,150 reviews
16.0 km away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
5.5 km away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
1,170 reviews
3.2 km away
The Inn at Sea Island
The Inn at Sea Island
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Resort that offers golf lessons plus a variety of other activities such as kayaking, horseback riding, sailing and swimming. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cloister at Sea Island

Address: 100 Cloister Dr, Sea Island, GA 31561-9705
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Sea Island
Price Range: RM2,428 - RM3,906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cloister at Sea Island 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cloister at Sea Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cloister At Sea Island Hotel Sea Island
Cloister Resort Sea Island
Cloister Sea Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cloister at Sea Island staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from The Cloister at Sea Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 21-spacious room with a great view and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PGSR2010, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are expansive - hard to go wrong. Garden wing is new.”
 of 5 bubbles KYPaula1013, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front for unbeatable views”
  • Corner room at the Cloister Residences
 of 5 bubbles NadavK_12, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It's worth spending a bit more for a room with a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles catandfinch, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ocean side suite”
  • ocean view bedroom
  • bedroom
  • living room
  • bedroom
  • bathroom
  • living room desk
  • The Cloister Beach Club Suites: living room with kitchen
  • living room
 of 5 bubbles 476jael, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5