Mataking Reef Resort

Mataking Reef Resort

Traveller (1375)
Pool & Beach (279)
The Reef Dive Resort
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 resorts in Tawau
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Mataking Reef Resort at Mataking Island is an exclusive romantic & diving destination in the Celebes Sea, located just 40 minutes boat ride from Semporna, East Coast of Sabah in Malaysia. It is a promised island with majestic treasures, natural warmth and friendship for holiday makers, spa lovers, honeymooners and divers alike. Whether it is a retreat for yourself or exciting undersea exploration, you’ll find Mataking the perfect choice.The resort is caressed by the tropical sea breeze. Our executive king chalets, premier deluxe rooms and brand new luxurious beach villas designed in traditional architecture offering simply elegant and exquisite accommodation for up to 100 guests in a serene and cozy environment. Enjoy Malaysian and International cuisine with an enticing spread of fresh local seafood or relish the weekend barbecued favorites at our sea facing restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Concierge
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Massage
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
Chinese, Malay

Location

Jalan Kubota, Tawau 91000 Malaysia
512Reviews8Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 327
  • 108
  • 40
  • 18
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Oliver Tang wrote a review May 2022
Sungai
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are group of 7, travelled on the 17/5/22 to Mataking after 2 nights in Semporna and a night in Kepalai resort
We stayed 4N/5D here. Janice was very helpful with information and the booking.
We stayed at the Beach Chalet and King’s.
The rooms were clean and the air con powerful and the beds comfortable. Bottled water were available in each rooms and the glass bottles are refilled daily. But if you need extra, you can go to the dinning hall to get more.
I personally prefer the Beach Chalet as it is more spacious with a large veranda lounge chairs and has a jacuzzi but its further from the dinning hall. (A nice long walk)
Beach chalets faces the sunrise while the Kings’ faces the sunset. However the King’s chalets are newer and cosier and nearer to the dinning hall.
The food is ok. Not fantastic. I was suprised not much sea food was served as we were in sea food heaven.( For good sea food, you need to stay in Semporna town. The restsurants there are good and sea food really fresh!) I enjoyed the free flow water, milo,coffee, tea and biscuits in Mataking.
The snorkeling in Mataking is killer. Esp near the Mataking kecil area. Plenty of fishes, corals and turtles. The highlight was the release if 96 baby turtles. Super!
Mataking kecil is beautiful. Dont underestimate the distance between the 2 islands. Its looks nearer than it actually is. Dont miss the Bikini Bar in the island which was a real surprise!
We were disappointed not able to do the night walk to see the coconut crabs.
There is a karaoke room that can use by guests for free. Its a great place for socialising with the other guests
Overall, all of us had a fabulous time.
Would like to take time to thank John, Wawa and Lan. They were helpful and informative.
I strongly recommend this resort even if you are not into diving. If you are indecisive if to stay here or Kepalai. This is better.
Also this better than in Maldives where you pay a bomb for similar experience
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: You need to go in the low season. Suggestion: stay 1-2 days in Semporna for the the fresh sea...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Reef Dive Resort Mataking Island, General Manager at Mataking Reef Resort
Responded 23 Jun 2022
Thank you for your positive response and we look forward to serve your even better in the near future and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay at Mataking. Hope you can visit us again and enjoy our weekly BBQ which has just been launched recently. Please stay safe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo8Cumbria wrote a review Apr 2024
Great Salkeld, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
tiny beautiful island with amazing snorkelling feet away from the shore in the crystal clear waters , the island is only about 100m wide at most and you can enjoy sunrise on side and sunsets the other
friendly staff . excellent diving area
the majority of tourists come from China and as a result it is very geared up to the Chinese market especially with food choices ,but we enjoyed the buffet style meals and food was very good.
the resort is only just getting back to normal post covid and when we visited they did not offer any day trips or activities other than diving and snorkelling off the island which was fine for us as we were just relaxing for a few days but if staying longer it would have been nice to visit some other islands on a day trip and this was not evident until we arrived
some areas could do with a general spruce up, and it seemed this was taking place and a new restaurant area out on the sea was nearly finished
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WLCHONG wrote a review May 2022
Penang, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A perfect experience for all of us right from the booking till our departure!
Kudos to Janice who took the trouble to fulfil our requests that she never did before(absolutely legal though.😄) Our transfer to Mataking from Semporna was timely and went without a hitch.
Checking in was uneventful. We chose the King Chalet and Beach Chalets. And both were superb.

Snorkelling experience was just a doorstep away , just beside Moses Walk( yes the Moses that split the sea! And one can see it occurring daily here!)

We soon realised that this area is a Snorkelling haven as will see boatloads of snorkelers from outside the island anchoring there.

Our experience at the resort was further enhanced by the likes of Lan(who shot a video of us at Mataking Kecil (which housed a bikini bar!)

Oh yes John the man! He was there for us throughout our 5 days 4 night stay at the resort. All whims and fancies fulfilled!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Reef Dive Resort Mataking Island, General Manager at Mataking Reef Resort
Responded 23 Jun 2022
Thank you for your positive response and we look forward to serve your even better in the near future and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay at Mataking. Thank you for the compliment to Lan & John as well as they are surely one of guests' favourite. Stay safe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pathfinder316815 wrote a review Jan 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is one island one resort advertised as luxury resort
Unfortunately it does not. Qualify as such although the rates are
I stayed in Beach Chalet for 4 N/5D
1. The rooms are par standard . The lighting in the bathroom are poor
2. The spa in the room does not really heat up .
3. There is problem with sewage system . We had to keep the exhaust fan on all times in the bathroom to keep the bad odor off
4. I had to to request for the room to be properly cleaned which should have done without asking
5. There is no swimming pool in the resort
6. I arrived with no proper information provided on services that the resort has . I to make my own effort to get the relevant information .

If you are looking for value, does not . If you are looking for services in par with what the operator is charging, you should look elsewhere Al
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this resort if you are expecting services and facilities of what you pay for
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mataking Reservation, General Manager at Mataking Reef Resort
Responded 8 Feb 2023
Dear Sir, We have noted on your above comments and we have looked into the bathroom conditions of our beach chalet and and so far, there is no bad odour from the bathroom. I guess maybe it happened during your stay unfortunately due to some technical issues and being based in an island condition, sometimes such issues do arise and our team will try our best to solve the matter before arrival.. We do have water heaters in all our rooms and therefore, we do provide hot water in the jacuzzi and there is a switch for the heater outside of the bathroom . We do not have swimming pool as the resort is surrounded with natural crystal clear sea water for you to enjoy. We are sorry that you didn't get all the information during your stay as we usually will provide a thorough briefing to all guests upon arrival but we do realize that sometimes guests may not be able to take in all the details after all that traveling. Anyhow, our receptionists are always there to assist guests in all their arrangements or requests. We hope we can continue to strive to serve our guests better in the near future and appreciate your review as stated --
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S Song wrote a review Jul 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing place! The water is so clear and the reefs are so pretty. The island itself has many dive sites and additionally the resort also offer trips to Sipadan. The dive crew and other staff are very friendly and helpful!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mataking Reservation, General Manager at Mataking Reef Resort
Responded 3 Aug 2022
Thank you for your positive response and look forward to your return again. Take care and stay safe. look forward to serve you even better in the near future. Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Razaliegh Mohd Zain wrote a review Dec 2021
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The first time i went to Mataking was in Dec 2004 and since then I lost count on how many trip I have been there. Overall, there are many improvement and it still feels like home.

The BAD thing - I guess the shower in the Dive Centre was not like before since it was upgraded.

Overall - superb.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Reef Dive Resort Mataking Island, General Manager at Mataking Reef Resort
Responded 23 Jun 2022
Thank you for your positive response and we look forward to serve your even better in the near future and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay at Mataking. The shower at Dive Centre has been upgraded with fresh hot water now. Hope to serve you again in the near future. Stay safe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Evie L wrote a review May 2024
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The island is a true get away if you like isolation. I mean no Wi-Fi but yet still in a comfortable and AC lodging. The Moses walk to lil island was an experience that you have to experience. Be ready to get all the sun. Sweat 😅 is a must. Be ready to eat all meals in no AC open restaurant with great delicious Food. Just ignore the crowd that will jump queue to get the food. Some just forget to practice kind etiquettes. I woke up hearing the waves and beautiful sunrise. In the evening i cannot get enough of the many colors of sunset.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Bring a book to read if you don’t enjoy the heat humidity!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annie Tham W wrote a review Oct 2022
Singapore, Singapore
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First time to here, it a good place for relax and the beach 🏖 it very clean and clear, like that atmosphere. On the same day, we so lucky to have a witness the baby turtle back to ocean. We have arrange an island hop with DSD also, nice instructor to bring us under the sea to find Turtle 🐢.. 🤭🤭.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roelduikcursussen wrote a review Sept 2011
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been diving for 15 years around Asia and Sabah keeps attracting us to come for the great diversity of underwater life.
We have been to several resorts, like Kapalai, Mabul and even stayed twice on Sipadan Island itself (before the closure) and loved it.
This time we bumped into Mataking website and wanted something different this time, bad mistake!!

I really can’t agree with all the positive reviews but have to agree with the bad reviews.
Even those from a year ago still are 'up-to-date' as I experienced the same problems.

We arrived at the airport and also had to wait for 2 hours before being transferred because we had to wait for 2 other guests????? No drink, hot airport..... after a journey from Europe you like to be transferred and relax.

We booked the Villa with Jacuzzi for 9 days.
Upon arriving we were welcomed by the duty-manager who did a resort briefing.
To me, he was much to happy to mention the words, ‘charge’, ‘you have to pay’, ‘not free’ etc etc, this immediately gave me a bad feeling.

After this talk the dive-guide came to mention things about the diving.
We arrived around 14.00h and he asked to make a check-dive at 14.45h ............ yeah sure, we just had 16 hours of travelling done.
We could not do this dive an hour later, very strange and not customer friendly.
Besides that he kept his sunglasses on all time, disrespectful!

We were brought to the villa which was beautiful and very quiet.
But in the evening we wanted to use the jacuzzi and discovered it was filled with cold water????? Jacuzzi?, moah just some jetstreams and that was it.
What is an jacuzzi with cold water?................ just and extra item to charge more for the villa!!!.

The meals are in buffet-style, normally in Asia this means a lot to choose from and very tasteful, but the food here is very tasteless and the variety is poor.
There is a separate counter where there are made foods besides the buffet, but if the dining starts at 19.00h the chef start an half hour later????
The staff in the dining area is very friendly and helpful, there is an old man who is very accurate and friendly, his way is an example for many others on the island!!
Annoying although is that when you order a drink the bill to sign is brought immediately, if you are eating you have to sign the bill. Why not wait after the dining???

We were bitten very many times by mosquitoes, even in the room which is not sealed from the outside so the bugs can roam freely in the night.

About the diving: on the island and the surrounding sites the quality is poor, not really macro-paradise. Due to bomb fishing etc etc the diversity is very low.
We decided to do Sipadan, which is always guarantee for spectacular diving.
They charged a whooping 150 RM per person per trip extra for fuel I think..;-))

As we own a big 5* diving centre in Holland I judge that the diving base is run by money and not by a manager who likes to show things to his guests.
They mix very experienced divers with novices, as a result that we made dives which are not very spectacular.
Besides that I would discharge some of the diving resort staff as they look like they don’t like working there.

On one dive the general manager, Mr. Luke (we found out later) joined us for a simple drift dive.
We always are in the back of the group, doing our own thing, but he was baby-sitting!
Very annoying and he really wanted us to move on ……………. He has no clue what divers want ……….. we pay an overrated price for his resort and he treats his customers as children.

For us, and this I will also publish in diving magazines and I will give the travel agent also this as feedback, never Mataking again!

Mataking is an overrated and very expensive resort, with as goal to make money as much as possible with little effort.
Go to Mabul, go to SWV and have a wonderful time for half the price, with much better foods and diving.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Springbob018 wrote a review Sept 2010
Bristol, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mataking, allegedly a fantasy island situated in the Celebes sea, in reality it’s just all over the place. Other than quiet, it offers little for the non diver and poor value. There are other islands to chose from.

The resort promotes itself as a luxury destination for divers and non divers alike. Arriving at Mataking Islands mainland office half an hour before departure as requested we found everybody asleep at the front desk, they stayed that way until five minutes before we left. There were not enough life jackets for everyone on the launch.

Approaching the island, the resort appears picture perfect with attractive and well maintained chalet and villa style accommodation. Reception greets you with the rules of what you will and will not do on the island, we are informed in no uncertain terms that there will be no exceptions.

Meals are buffet style and severely limited. The chef appears to aspire to the culinary heights of a 1970’s motor-way service station, with delicacies such as wafer thin beige processed ham squares floating in water, schizophrenic dishes that were the same 3 days running but changed their names during the night. Squid and chicken balls with so little taste that only the name tag could distinguish them. The previous day’s salads hidden under or mixed with one other ingredient and presented as new. Prawns that were so old they needed Zimmer frames and which ‘Freezer burn’ had turned into the consistency of toothpaste, though their large uncleaned intestinal tracts did add a bit of crunch. Some people just gave up and ate a plate of baked beans or plain boiled rice for supper.

Still, one consolation is that the ‘restaurant’ has a large balcony area with beautiful views overlooking the sea and distant mainland. We saw a member of staff standing on the jetty throwing small pieces of bread, the sea bubbled as hundreds of small exotic fish fed, the temptation to jump in and fight them for it was almost overwhelming.

Talking to our less than enamored fellow guests we discovered that they were also suffering from a number of ailments, mild food poisoning, numerous mite bites that had become pockmarked, jelly fish stings and/or mosquito bites. Contrary to the islands claim, at no point (even though one of us was always on the island, over a period of 5 days) did we ever see fumigation carried out in the grounds or accommodation.

There is a police outpost on the island so incidents of theft seem unlikely (other than the room rate). On our penultimate night the ‘live’ music in the restaurant which we had been subjected to in the evenings throughout our stay was mercifully absent, he would finish every song with a “Thank you very much.” to a stunned and silent audience. Perhaps he’d been arrested for murdering every modern classic since the 60’s ?

The vast majority of staff were friendly and charming, as so many of the people of Sabah are and most of them would no doubt be only be to pleased to help, if they either knew how or that they were supposed to. The resort provides staff with shirts printed with their job designations like ‘Reception’ or ‘Maintenance’ we came to suspect that this wasn’t for the guests information but simply to remind them where to go in the mornings.

Unfortunately there was no service to really speak of, it isn’t the staff’s fault, it‘s the fact that they have so obviously received little if any training at all. With roll models such as the resort manager sat at the restaurant bar with his bare feet on the counter while we were eating it’s not so surprising that the rest of the staff walked everywhere smoking, helped themselves to the buffet while we were eating or spent a few happy hours laying on the guests sun-beds. There simply isn’t the consideration put into the clients stay that all the other resorts we tried in Borneo provided.

Mataking is quite open about the fact that they stand in the path of an extraordinarily polluted sea. This of course is not their fault and they do indeed collect huge numbers of bin liners full of rubbish off the beach every day but this is only for about a 150 meter stretch. The vast majority of the islands shore is left to pile up with waste. We picked up broken glass from the beach and a couple we met who gathered up rubbish as they walked along what should have been a pristine sand bar connecting Mataking and it’s smaller sister island were laughed at by resort staff. ?

Apparently the resort reef was dynamited up until a few years ago by local fishermen (maybe they will return for the kitchen). To try and mitigate this they have put concrete spheres, shipwrecks and a lot of hard work into trying to bring the reef back. Their efforts are paying off with an impressive array of fishes and coral on offer. However, an even greater problem for the island is of course that they can’t rid the sea itself of rubbish. Both the guests and the marine life of Mataking swim in repeated waves of garbage both on and under the surface.

The PADI dive centre was very efficient, providing a great selection of dives around the other islands and the dive team led by Neo were friendly and fun to be with, faultless. Sipidan was everything it claimed to be. Excellent.

The interior of our villa was nicely designed with good furnishings and a large comfy bed. Which may explain why on returning one night we found it already occupied. We informed reception and five staff arrived to investigate. What we showed them scared them, a lot.
A 16cm reddish coloured centipede with oversized jaws, seemingly at both ends. Apparently it is very poisonous, the net describes it’s bite as medically significant. Until that point we weren’t even provided with a mosquito net. The room has a thatched roof that is not sealed properly from the outside, allowing cockroaches and all manner of beasts a lodging for the night.

So consequently, in the early hours, waking up is a nightmare. The luxury villas inexplicably only have an outside lavatory, with an open ceiling without any mosquito mesh but as long as you pack a beekeepers outfit in your luggage you should make it to the loo and back without having been hospitalised by one of Matakings venomous inhabitants. A word of warning, the environmentally sound insect repellant they provide in the rooms would appear to be so eco-friendly that some of the larger insects actually seem to like it. It certainly doesn’t do them any harm and we were using about a gallon of it a night.

The rooms and common areas are kept spotlessly clean, when it’s convenient to the resort. It rained one night with high winds (but no worse than in England), the villa’s electricity failed and our room flooded, soaking everything. The wet polished marble floor is potentially lethal with a high probability of breaking an elbow, hip or knee should you slip. In the dark, I was lucky enough to grab onto the very nice curtains as I fell over. People in an adjacent villa had their garden umbrella javelin into the glass double doors of their bedroom, completely smashing them. None of the umbrellas had been secured to their bases.

Reporting our incident to reception at 6.30am we waited hours before going back to ask why nobody had even been round to soak up the water, we were told that the cleaners had been informed immediately but that the response from housekeeping was they didn’t start work until 8.00am. It was then around 11.00am.

True, Mataking has logistical problems being situated offshore but other resorts facing similar difficulties cope admirably. We stayed at the marvelous ‘Borneo Rainforest Lodge’ accessible only by 4 wheel drive and deep in the jungle of the Danum valley, where the food and service are outstanding, we never experienced any insects or animals getting into the room, because it was properly constructed. It’s amazing what competency can achieve.

This is the first review we have ever written. Perhaps it will receive one of the resort managers dismissive and rather angry rebuttals but we have tried to be fair and accurate. The sad thing is that this island could be turned around in just a few months, if there was the will to do it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2010
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mataking, General Manager at Mataking Reef Resort
Responded 26 Sept 2010
Dear Springbob018, Thank you for your response on trip advisor to the resort. We have forwarded to you a full private response to your trip advisor account due to the fact that we do not have your e-mail address in our record. Please do not hesitate to contact us on mataking.manager@live.co.uk if you have any further queries or comments. Regards, The Reef Dive Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from ChrisKurtGabel
London, United Kingdom33 contributions21 helpful votes
The trip was bumpy on the way there and you will be accompanied by soldiers for protection as they had some issues a couple of years ago. We got three dives in easily and it was well worth it. Sipidan has a beach and you will have lunch there before your final dive. It is absolutely worth every second of the trip there and back!!!
Tricia asked a question Aug 2017
Livonia, Michigan107 contributions80 helpful votes
what brand of sim card works at mataking? looking to buy in KL.
Answer from UndiscoveredWorld
100 contributions13 helpful votes
I only used the Wi-Fi that was provided at the resort. Be warned though, it's slow.
Answer from Berry_Ranger
Bangkok, Thailand65 contributions6 helpful votes
if you have any food restriction, you may inform this upon reservation then make clear with the restaurant staff again on arrival. the chef can prepare one special dish for you then have a look what you could have from the buffet line. i would suggest double checking on your every meal and if you find anything suspicious you can ask for something else. I was there on a gluten-free restriction, I survived, and had fun to the max :)
Answer from Francesco P
Shanghai, China1,178 contribution232 helpful votes
You need to take a boat from Semporna for about 45 minutes. From Sepilok is quite far. Please be aware that most of the guests are Chinese and therefore food is mainly chinese.
Bun wrote a tip Jun 2024
Penang Island, Malaysia61 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please help to take care the cleanliness in Mataking Island. Thank you very much."
Read full review
Evie L wrote a tip May 2024
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a book to read if you don’t enjoy the heat humidity!"
Read full review
sramraj_sivagnanam wrote a tip Nov 2023
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia42 contributions39 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Come early of the year, and not year end. There's local police and army guards the Island 24x7. Hence, safety is never a problem"
Read full review
X P wrote a tip Sept 2023
28 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Service ia very nice. "
Read full review
Kai J wrote a tip Jun 2023
10 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you don't have any questions or expectations for the amount of money, you'll be fine"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tawau area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
pulau mataking reef dive hotel pulau sipadan
LOCATION
MalaysiaSabahTawau DivisionTawau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MATAKING REEF RESORT: UPDATED 2024 Reviews and 1,413 Photos (Tawau) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mataking Reef Resort
What are some restaurants close to Mataking Reef Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chiffonade, Cakes & Co, and Kedai Kopi Yung Lee Fatt.
All Tawau HotelsTawau Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TawauHotels near Mataking Reef Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire