We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Northgate Inn

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Northgate Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 59: English reviews
Start your review of Northgate Inn
 Click to rate
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a couple of days' business in this pleasant and scenic Idaho town and was unsure where to stay. On the recommendation of a colleague, I elected to give the Northgate a try and am very glad I did. My room was clean and perfectly adequate, but the staff were exceptional. As I was carrying my briefcase and files...

Thank 924businesstraveler
Tyler V, General Manager at Northgate Inn, responded to this review

924businesstraveler, Thank you so very much for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us this review. We really appreciate your business and value every guest. We strive to give every guest the best customer service. We want this to be your home away from home. Please enjoy your summer and safe travels in your everyday adventures. Lynnell-...

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during a family reunion. The first room we got (on first floor) was not good. We upgraded to the second floor - night and day difference. It is not even in the same class. Very good room, especially for $65. Fridge, decent-sized flatscreen, open space, bright... I am happy we upgraded. This would not...

Thank JMLJR65
Tyler V, General Manager at Northgate Inn, responded to this review

JMLJR65, I am so pleased you were happy with your upgrade. I know the view from the 2nd floor is amazing. We do what we need to do to make every guest happy. Thank you for being one of them.. Hope the rest of your spring and summer travels are full of unexpected upgrades. Will see you again when passing...

Reviewed 16 March 2017

The hotel is simple but clean, staff is friendly and easy going. This is my second stay with my family. Last stay was in the summer of 2016 and was just as clean and friendly staff. I would recommended to all my friends and family.

Thank Margret F
Tyler V, General Manager at Northgate Inn, responded to this review

Margret, Thank you very much for staying with us again. We appreciate return business. And the connection we have with each of our guests. We strive to have the cleanest motel in Challis. And above all the BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE.. Res Manager Lynnell

Northern California
Reviewed 24 November 2016

This is a simple hotel with a nice staff. Don't expect anything fancy. It's clean and has the basic comforts, none of which are fancy. It's clean though and the bed was decent. They offered either King or Queen beds. Simple but satisfactory if you need rest.

Thank CapeJCapt
Tyler V, General Manager at Northgate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. Your feedback is important to us. I hope when you in this area you will drop in again .. Lynnell- Res Manager

Reviewed 15 October 2016

Happy to find a vacancy in the motel, as I was tired of driving. The receptionist was pleasant, and gave us a room on the ground floor. The room was dated but clean with no strange odors. For the price we paid I felt like it was a bargain. My only complaint was the Wi-fi connection in our room was...

Thank doingmyway
Kununurra, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We were just passing through Challis and were delegated to run across this little gem. The room was clean and very comfortable, and there was lots of coffee in the morning. What was really amazing was the staff... I left my Mac computer there and they contacted me immediately and then mailed it to me.. They really went out of...

Thank grammajocie
Tyler V, General Manager at Northgate Inn, responded to this review

As per our Emails back and forth in this process. We (I) was happy to return your property promptly. Thank you for staying with us. See you again in the future. Lynnell- Res Manager

Reviewed 12 September 2016

The Inn is located a little bit away from the town centre of Challis. However, as Challis is not big anyway, this is no big deal. The rooms are dated but clean. Breakfast is not included. However, taking into account the cheap room rate, it is an excellent place to stay.

1Thank Sergio_Nobile
Tyler V, General Manager at Northgate Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time for your review. We hope to have you as a guest again in the future. Lynnell- Res Manager

Reviewed 6 September 2016

Kinda like a home away from home. The lady at the front desk had her dogs with her which made us feel like our dogs fit right in. Large grass area to toss frisbee with our Aussie. Comfy beds. There's a furnished kitchen so we cooked dinner in it both nights. Even a corral out back for horses. It's a...

1Thank Christinajoanna
Tyler V, General Manager at Northgate Inn, responded to this review

Well Thank you for the time you put in to giving us a 5 Star. We really appreciate the effort set forth. As well we loved having you and your "friends" furry and otherwise as our guest. Hope to see you all again in the future. Safe travels and Happy Fall. Lynnell- Res Manager

Jerome, Idaho
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We checked in after leaving another motel in the same town due to it being dirty. Very clean and encouraged me to check the room before paying any money. Super nice staff. Pillows were firmer than I am used to, but that is my hang up. Would stay again and bring my own pillow next time.

1Thank dgratzer
Tyler V, General Manager at Northgate Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad we were here for you and know that we have changed out all of the pillows on the first 2 floors. We want you to be comfortable. If for some reason you find yourself here again without your pillow and ours just still are not doing the trick ask the Manager at the desk and we...

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

The front desk was very helpful and friendly. Room was clean, beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean and nice. Hotel is older but still in great shape. Saw deer as we walked into the hotel. Had good views of the mountains.

Thank Daniel S
Tyler V, General Manager at Northgate Inn, responded to this review

I am very glad you enjoyed your stay. Please tell your friends and come back and stay with us again. Lynnell- Res Manager

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (8)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (7)


  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Northgate Inn

Address: Hwy. 93 North, Challis, ID
Region: United States > Idaho > Challis
Price Range: RM272 - RM324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Northgate Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Northgate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northgate Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Northgate Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the 2nd floor and had a king room, it was fine.”
527kimberlyr, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“No restaurants open in Challis before 7 am, so request a fridge and microwave if you need to eat early. Mine was included in the low price.”
134jeffp, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful views”
273beckib, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“We were there off season so the whole town was quiet. If you go at a busy time you probably want a room away from the highway”
wjxw1, 16 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Ask for the a room on the SE side where you get more sun if possible.”
Rivergirl70, 17 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
US$60* /night
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates