We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lava Hot Springs Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lava Hot Springs Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

If you're looking for a 5 star hotel with your bed turned down every night, you're in the wrong place. If you want friendly service, a comfy bed, and the best pools in town, lava hot springs inn is it! Funky place in a funky town, wouldn't stay any where else! And The breakfast is amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elcapitanca
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your wonderful review and look forward to having you stay with us again! Thank you, Liz and Richard Managers LHSI

Mountain Home, Idaho, United States
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was a most amazing experience. We had made reservations for a Wednesday night and then I had injured my hip and the Dr. wanted to see me for one more visit. I called and Elizabeth was so kind and compassionate to me. She changed the reservation to Friday with no problem. Because of my hip and my husband's bad...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leahknt1953
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted that you were pleased with our staff and they met your accommodations to the best of their ability. It is our goal to make sure our guests can relax and enjoy themselves while they are staying at our Inn. Nathleen and myself enjoyed your company,...

Arvada, CO
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Nice hotel -- in need of some repair, but evidence exists that says they are gradually updating. Pools are wonderful -- clean, hot (99ish to 108ish). Large pool great for staying in for long periods as it is not too hot. Additional pools behind the main lodge building. Also, they are building an additional pool along the river (very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelerLY
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We just remodeled our Blue house with brand new carpet and tile. We look forward to having you stay again and see the updates. We do have future plans for the empty pools at our Inn. We are taking on one project at a time....

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The staff is very friendly and accomodating. We like that this place is down to earth and a place you can relax and become one with nature. It gets old to have everything big, new and cold. I hope Lava never gets any of the big chain hotels. It feels fantastic to go to a place where you only have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra M
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

We can't tell you enough how much we appreciate your review with us. I especially enjoy the conversations and the laughs we share together during your stay. The Inn is down to earth and a place to relax, with the beautiful gardens in the summer and the pleasant snowfall of winter. We especially like your comment " I hope Lava...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is more old school but funky and great. The people in Lava Hot Springs were so friendly and gracious. The hot tubs were 94 degrees to 110 degrees and very soothing. The morning breakfast was superb...an egg cassolet, wonderful sticky buns and lots of other choices. With the special were procured it was certainly a great choice. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmaurycy
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to accommodate each one of our guests by providing a warm atmosphere, beautiful pools and a delicious hot buffet breakfast. We hope to see you again soon! - Liz and Richard, Managers, Lava Hot Springs Inn

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at the Lava Hot Springs Inn on a whim because it was a last minute trip and we didn't want to tow our trailer. The older staff (when we checked in) was very nice, but management (Liz) and the younger staff have absolutely no idea what hospitality is. For $200 for a lower than subpar room (which I...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Vwilcox27
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

This same review, minus the comment made by the guest of calling management "white trash" (very tasteful), was once removed from TripAdvisor and now allowed back on. With that being said, I would like to respond to this review since it is throwing my name around in several places. I have years of hospitality experience and would bend over backwards...

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our family stayed here this summer, and I found the staff to be helpful and kind. The breakfast is homemade and a nice change from the "hotel" complimentary variety. Although, I must agree the facilities are very old and need updating. The apartment we stayed in smelled horribly, particulary in the kitchen (cat urine came to mind) and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tammy H
LHSI, Owner at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

I would like to respond to the poor review given by Ms Henrie. We are very sorry for the smell you encountered which was due to the flooding of the sink in the kitchen above your unit. Our staff immediately responded when told of this flooding and it was cleaned and repaired by morning. There unfortunately is no way to...

West Valley City, Utah, United States
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The Lava Hot Springs Inn is my favorite place to stay. I used to go to a hotel at the other end of Main Street (because it was closer to the main hot pools), but ever since my family and I stayed at the Inn, we do not plan on staying at any other hotels. Sure, it is an older...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Byron K
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you so much for this excellent review. We strive to bend over backwards for our guests. We were beginning to feel a negative impact from a few of our guests who did not like our hotel and policies. We uphold policies such as no excessive drinking, smoking and noise so families like yours can enjoy...

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Absolutely terrible! The staff were completely unprofessional. It took us 20 mins to find anybody to check in the when we got to our room, it hadn't been cleaned completely and the doors didn't lock. The power was out for most the day and evening and we were told we could stay on the grounds to BBQ and then asked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mssdiddy
LHSI, Owner at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

Our desk staff accommodates our guests by walking them to one of four buildings when they check-in. If the desk person is not at the desk, chances are they are helping other guests. Twenty minutes is an extreme exaggeration. We did not receive any complaints of the uncleanliness of the room until reading this review. The doors do not lock...

Murray, Utah
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Lava Hot Springs Inn is old and needs a lot of work. It is quite overpriced for the condition and lack of amenities. We were very disappointed with our accommodations! We have stayed in Lava Hot Springs many times and love the town, but we have never stayed at this Inn, and we will never stay there again! When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred T
LHSI, Manager at Lava Hot Springs Inn, responded to this review

The Lava Hot Springs Inn appreciates your feedback and is disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Lava Hot Springs Inn is an older bed and breakfast hotel that receives many positive reviews on the building and grounds and receives many repeat guests. Lava Hot Springs strives to keep the town historic and cozy so people...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lava Hot Springs hotels
0.2 km away
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
Riverside Hot Springs Inn & Spa
#4 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
171 reviews
0.3 km away
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Home Hotel Lava Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
374 reviews
0.2 km away
Aura Soma Lava
Aura Soma Lava
#3 of 6 in Lava Hot Springs
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lava Hot Springs Suites
Lava Hot Springs Suites
#5 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
9 reviews
0.4 km away
Tumbling Waters Inn
Tumbling Waters Inn
#6 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
27 reviews
0.9 km away
Lava Hot Springs KOA
Lava Hot Springs KOA
#3 of 7 in Lava Hot Springs
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Lava Hot Springs Inn

Address: 94 E. Portneuf Rd, Lava Hot Springs, ID 83246
Region: United States > Idaho > Lava Hot Springs
Price Range: RM478 - RM1,293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lava Hot Springs Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lava Hot Springs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lava Hot Springs Hotel Lava Hot Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lava Hot Springs Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no good rooms. Do not stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles katefromoakley, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask questions. Some have bathrooms but most in the old main building don't.”
 of 5 bubbles LVR44, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We did hear the train go by quite a few times, would be a good idea to bring some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles 2OFHARTS, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The rooms aren't nice. There are very few rooms that have a toilet behind closed doors. Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles Yoginimae, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If you like to wake up late stay in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles fredsS2500GJ, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5