We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Park and Stay Offer
Expedia.com
US$175
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/12/22
Priceline
US$175
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/12/22
Algotels
US$128
View deal
Hotels.comUS$175
Booking.comUS$175
Lol.travelUS$213
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (3934)
Room & Suite (1562)
Videos (2)

About

#152 of 216 hotels in Chicago
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
"The Chicago Hotel the World Knows Best." The hip & historic Palmer House Hilton has a history of over 140 years and after a multi-million dollar renovation continues to thrive in the heart of the theatre and financial district, just steps from the Art Institute, Millennium Park and State Street shopping. This Chicago hotel features 130,000 sq. ft. of function space with over 77 meeting rooms, seven ballrooms and two exhibition halls. Lockwood Restaurant and Bar, located just off the lobby and Potter's Lounge, perfect for cocktails will enhance your experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Park and Stay Offer
11294Reviews174Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,291
  • 3,671
  • 1,862
  • 928
  • 543
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Max wrote a review 20 Nov
Lausanne, Switzerland1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed a week in July 2022. For the price paid, it was the worst stay we've experienced in a Hilton. A few factual examples (notes taken during stay): Having to call the reception multiple times a day for the room to be cleaned. Room cleaned at 6pm on 5 of these days. Bullied in lobby by other guests, and hotel security refusing to do anything. WiFi is awful in the room. Staff not helpful. We recommend any other option than this hotel for your stay in Central Chicago. Only positive thing: the staff at breakfast were nice. Of course I expect the usual and all-around reply from the anonymous "General Manager" of the hotel, saying they will do much better and wishing my happy holidays. But what are the measures you are really implementing ?
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Max, We are certainly disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your visit. Please know that the issues you mentioned are not reflective of the quality experience we wish to provide. We will discuss these matters internally, and we sincerely apologize for any lapse in service you received. You can be confident that we can do better, and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Palmer House Hilton. Happy Holidays!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynn S wrote a review Jul 2022
15 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Great hotel, perfect stay in a clean, convenient and comfortable historic hotel. Perfect location for walking to tourist attractions. Safe inside and out, great professional knowledgeable and friendly staff. Absolutely nothing negative to say!! Spacious rooms, comfy beds, great air conditioning with easy to control panel, and absolutely spotlessly clean! Shout out to Vanessa, LaShawn, and Courtney! And absolutely superb advice from maybe the best concierge in the city?? Deborah Sawyer was so helpful in helping make our girls getaway perfect! Will definitely return and stay and the Palmer House!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: There are Walgreens everywhere though there’s an excellent hotel grab and go that has everything...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Shovan S wrote a review 20 Nov
Singapore, Singapore76 contributions46 helpful votes
The Property has great history and architecture however the service in the Hotel is appalling. The housekeeping is really something that the property has to improve drastically. Basic amenities in the room like proper wifi or a hot kettle / coffee machine etc is not proper. I had great expectations looking at the rich history but it was indeed a disappointing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Please note that the hotel does not do in room dining and also there is no coffee machine or hote...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, and we're sorry to hear that you didn't have a great time with us. We apologize for any lack of amenities during your visit, and we'll be sure to keep all of your comments in mind as we continue to make changes to improve our guest experience. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheree D wrote a review 20 Nov
Botany, Australia38 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
This hotel is most likely the best hotel I have stayed in and I have travelled all around the world. There is nothing you can fault with the Palmerhouse. Staff and service are exceptional. The only tiny issue we had in terms of maintenance (heating wasn’t working) was fixed within half an hour. It is truly magnificent.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay here!! No need to look any further.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Scott, Your glowing review of your stay with us at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel means the world! Thank you for highlighting our fantastic service and we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon! Happy Holidays
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Victoria B wrote a review 19 Nov
San Clemente, California3 contributions
My room was literally gold, like a 1970s porno. In trying to track down a receipt for my expenses I was sent through a labrynth of telephone transfers that always ended with my call getting disconnected. Avoid avoid avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Victoria, We appreciate you taking the time to reach out and share your comments regarding your recent visit. It saddens us to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and that the room decor was not to your taste. We are sorry to learn you found our property old; however, we just celebrated our 151st anniversary and consider the building to be historical with a fascinating story. Please accept our apologies for any issues you encountered obtaining a receipt for your expenses and any inconvenience this may have caused; we encourage our guests to inquire about this during the check-out process to avoid delays. All feedback is gratefully received and allows us the opportunity to monitor guest satisfaction continually. Thank you for your valuable input. Happy Holidays, Victoria
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy wrote a review 16 Nov
West End, North Carolina52 contributions16 helpful votes
If you want to stay in a gorgeous hotel steeped in history, this is the Chicago hotel for you. If you want friendly customer driven service, this is the hotel for you. If you want magnificent common areas that invite you to linger and relax, this is the hotel for you! If you like inventive, consistently good fresh food (the Salmon is excellent), Head to the Palmer House. Many of the employees have been here for 20-plus years, they are full of information and genuinely eager to make your stay memorable. Two exceptional employees that I would like to recognize are: Director of Front Office operations Justin Jordan. Justin went out of his way to make every aspect of our anniversary trip magnificent. HIs thoughtful touches to our reservation won't be forgotten. Mr. Jay Abdulwahed, Senior Food, and Beverage Manager was so engaging and attentive. He worked side by side with his staff to ensure every single diner was satisfied and every meal exceed expectations. He has a fantastic rapport with all his staff, including the very friendly and efficient Yossef in the to-go cafe. Looking forward to a return visit to this living museum.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Wow! We truly appreciate the kind words surrounding your experience with us at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel. We work hard to deliver fine service and delicious cuisine, so it's wonderful to hear we were successful! Justin, Jay, Yossef and the team will appreciate your kind mentions and can't wait to welcome you back again. Happy Holidays, Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary H wrote a review 15 Nov
New York City, New York53 contributions62 helpful votes
I stayed at the Palmer House for one night in October for a conference. I was looking forward to the stay because I generally like older, classic hotels. It has a certain elegance that you don't find in newer hotels. The rooms are a bit small with traditional decor. I did notice wallpaper in my bathroom was peeling. In the evening, my adventures began: First that someone unlocked my door and walked into my room before immediately apologizing and backing out; apparently the hotel had given my room away to another guest. About an hour after that occurred, housekeeping showed up to clean my room. This was about 10 pm. I had heard you had checked out, she said. No, actually I just got here a few hours ago. The next day I went down for breakfast and then returned to my room but my key wouldn't work when I came back. Did they think I had checked out again? Did it just malfunction? Who knows but it was quite frustrating because the line at the front desk was long and slow-moving. And I was supposed to come back down to make a presentation with only a short time to spare. Quite the adventure at the old Palmer House.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Gary, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. This is certainly not a common occurrence, and we sincerely apologize that your experience was not one we hope our guests will have while staying with us. Nevertheless, we would love another chance to provide you with the stellar experience we are known for when your travels bring you back to Chicago.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pam Wall wrote a review 12 Nov
1 contribution
This is what diamond status, Hilton Grand Vacation elite status, and an upgraded room will get you at the Palmer house. A view of fire escape stairway and the sound of freight elevators going all day and night. This along with front desk staff that is rude and unprofessional.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Pam, We're saddened to learn you did not enjoy your visit. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment with the view as well as for any concerns about service and noise. We'll pass your comments along to the appropriate staff members, and we'd appreciate the chance to provide you with a more enjoyable visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JaeWesley wrote a review 11 Nov
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA23 contributions9 helpful votes
I used to love to stay at this hotel as a splurge in Chicago. The iconic lobby and name always felt a bit special to us on our frequent trips to Chicago. I am only posting this review so that potential guests can have an accurate idea of what they may encounter at this hotel so they can choose whether they want to pay the high room rates for this property in it's current condition. No influencer rose coloured sunglasses, just the real life experiences we've had. This review is a compilation of the past 4 stays I've had at this hotel over the last 6 months and why I will not be staying here again before some major rennovations have taken place. The biggest issue for me is the mold problem and their refusal to fix or even acknowledge the problem. The bathrooms do not have great ventilation so the rooms get very very damp. Not just a little, a LOT. Actually wet from condensation. Mold is my only allergy and after waking up really stuffy and miserable, we found visible mold on the air vents. We asked for them to at least come clean them and after three calls to the front desk (almost IMPOSSIBLE to get someone to answer) starting at 10am, they finally switched our room even though it could have been addressed at any point while we were out of the room during the day. They gave us keys to a room that was already occupied not once, but TWICE and then we nearly missed our event because the elevators were so backed up and they kept messing up our room, it took us almost TWO HOURS to finally get into a room and then we had to RUN to our event where we walked in mid-presentation. We already had several future stays booked so we decided to give them another chance. And then another. Things happen, and we try to be understanding. However, they wouldn't honor the upgrade we were supposed to receive as compensation for the stay where we nearly missed our event which was very frustrating so that stay with a legitimate issue was never resolved. They double charged us $156 for parking and refused to issue any refunds on one of those stays. With the condition the rooms are in, I am honestly surprised they are still allowed to be a Hilton. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls in big chunks with water damage around the windows, the bathroom was not in very good condition and the tubs don't drain properly. You'll be ankle deep by the time you're done with a quick shower. There was broken glass left around one of the tvs in one of the rooms, someone's hair ties and popcorn crumbs in plain sight in another. These are just the biggest issues we encountered. The lobby is gorgeous, the location is great, Starbucks downstairs, etc... but until they invest in some major rennovations or even just maintain the rooms, I would advise you stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Though we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our prime location and some of our wonderful amenities, we regret that other aspects of your stay fell below your expectations. First, we assure you that room integrity and making our valued guests feel comfortable are of utmost importance to us, and we sincerely apologize for dropping the ball on this occasion. What you have shared is a poor reflection of the standards we adhere to, and we will share your concerns with the respective teams so immediate improvements can be made. Please know that it is genuinely upsetting to hear this, as we work hard to impress. Nonetheless, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Our dedicated team will address them immediately and ensure we always present our services and property in the best light. As your travels continue, we wish you well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dorisjprice wrote a review 7 Nov
1 contribution
The Palmer House is elegant yet comfortable. We found Denise and Michael in Security to be very helpful and knowledgeable. The front desk staff as well as the concierge was attentive. We would like to stay at the Palmer House again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Doris, It was truly a pleasure to host your recent stay at Palmer House A Hilton Hotel. We're delighted to hear we were able to deliver such a positive experience and you appreciated the exceptional hospitality our team provides; we will be sure to pass along your kind words to Denise and Michael! Thank you for taking the time to share your review, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you're in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$157 - US$298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the palmer house hilton hotel chicago, hilton hotel chicago, hilton hotel palmer, palmer house chicago, chicago palmer house hilton, palmer house hilton chicago, palmer hilton house, hilton chicago, chicago hilton
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Downtown / The Loop
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1640
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PALMER HOUSE A HILTON HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 4,507 Photos (Chicago, IL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Palmer House a Hilton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Art Institute of Chicago (0.3 km), Millennium Park (0.4 km), and Cloud Gate (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cherry Circle Room, Acanto, and The Gage.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Palmer House a Hilton Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Chicago.
Are any cleaning services offered at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Palmer House a Hilton Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Palmer House a Hilton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.