We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western River North Hotel

05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western River North Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,003: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western River North Hotel
 Click to rate
Calgary
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Check in was smooth but when we arrived in our rooms we were very disappointed. Now I'm not sure where the people who have given this place good reviews normally stay but their expectations are clearly not very high. The room was clean but dated back to the 80's at best. The air conditioner was so loud you could not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSBD9798
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

I have spend in Chicago just one night (Sunday Jan 15th) but if I ever come back again I will definitely choose Best Western. Rooms were nice and cozy, surprisingly quite considering its on pretty busy street. Also if you are driving, parking is available and for pretty reasonable price :) Everything is so close around, whatever you needs and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lili B
About Hotel's Favourite Review
RiverNorthHotel, Director of Sales at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review of your stay with us! We're happy you enjoyed our renovated rooms and convenient location. Your feedback about our guestrooms and staff is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team. We hope you'll choose to visit us again in the future!

Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

HAPPILY SURPRISED WITH THIS HOTEL! WILL STAY THERE AGAIN! We went to Mc Cormick center for a food show and we had a shuttle to the convention center! Walking distance to everything! The only limitation was that they didn't have breakfast!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chefbebert
Delores B, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with our TripAdvisor visitors. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the location. We actually do have an on-site restaurant that offers a hot-cooked to order breakfast starting @ $7.00 per person as well as serves Lunch, Dinner and provides Room Service. We will be sure our team does a better...

Gahanna, Ohio
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is a great location- it's about 6 blocks from Michigan Ave. and near tons of restaurants, bars and shops along the side streets. So much within walking distance and a cheap Uber ride from others. There is a McDonalds across the street (which is nice if you're out late at the bars!). The staff was great and super...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merritt2b
Delores B, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the location, parking and staff. We hope to see you the next time you visit the Chicago area. Safe Travels :)

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

So I never got a chance to stay here. They emailed me that they had oversold the hotel, and that I wouldn't have a room. But they "offered" to put me up at the Midway airport, which is 11 miles and 35 minutes away, and at the same rate as downtown ($340)! Midway Marriott currently is running $230/night. So basically,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PHayne
Delores B, General Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor visitors and totally understand your being upset. We truly wish there was something that we could do to prevent having to relocate our guests. We would absolutely love to have you stay with us. Unfortunately this is out of our control. We did not bump guests due to overselling. There was...

MOUNT VERNON, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really nice and clean place to stay. Staff was overly helpful with everything we needed. Even helped us with good places to eat at where we were going also. Also helped us with how to get to places that we wanted to go to.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 976darlener
RiverNorthHotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the outstanding review of your stay with us! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and helpful staff. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Best Western River North was perfect for my wife and I and what we were doing. It was centrally located so we were able to walk to most places that we went. Although public transportation is awesome downtown. Being downtown, you do have some downtown noise, but that is to be expected. Overall, very happy with our stay there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
RiverNorthHotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We're happy you enjoyed our hotel's convenient location and found our guestrooms and amenities to be a good value. Your feedback is greatly appreciated; we hope you'll stay with us again on your next visit to Chicago!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, located in the middle of river north area. The rooms were nice at this hotel but were very,very small. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was also great. During my second day the breakfast staff served me breakfast late which was really nice of them. One bad thing, lots of call girls in this hotel which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristin v
RiverNorthHotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We're delighted to know that the convenience and flexibility of our services positively impacted your stay with us. Whenever there is suspicious activity taking place, please notify our staff immediately. We are committed to providing safe environment and positive guest experience. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you next time!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel is great, right in the middle of downtown close to all train lines. The rooms were also clean enough. But those are the only positive things I can say about this hotel. The windows are so thin so the noise from the city is very disruptive. I could hear every step and even movements in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucero P
RiverNorthHotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments in reference to your stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel after learning of it from the Chicago Lyric Opera website. The room was spacious and the service was helpful and friendly. We were able to walk to downtown attractions. We would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol Y
RiverNorthHotel, Manager at Best Western River North Hotel, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was very helpful. We look forward for your next stay with us. Thanks.

651 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (298)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (320)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (56)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Standard Double Double Room (48)
Viewed
Standard King Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the Windy City from the only downtown Chicago hotel that offers deeply discounted parking and convenient location just minutes from Michigan Avenue and Navy Pier! The award-winning BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is an affordable and convenient choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Offering great rates, this downtown Chicago hotel makes it easy to explore the city's most famous attractions, from Navy Pier to Sears Tower. World-class shopping along Michigan Avenue's Magnificent Mile is just six blocks away. Some of Chicago's most famous museums are less than two miles away, and visitors of all ages delight in exploring Shedd Aquarium, the Adler Planetarium and the Field Museum of Natural History. And what visit to Chicago is complete without a ball game? Whether its baseball, basketball or football, this Chicago BEST WESTERN is within five miles of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, The United Center and US Cellular Field. In addition to deeply discounted parking in downtown Chicago, business travelers appreciate that this Chicago hotel is conveniently located near educational, medial and machinery businesses, the Chicago Financial District, and the Chicago Loop Business District. Chicago O'Hare International Airport is just 12 miles away from this Chicago hotel.The BEST WESTERN River North Hotel is known for its great service, friendly staff, cleanliness and amenities that make guests feel at home. Our nicely appointed rooms and suites offer cable TV with HBO(R), free high-speed Wi-Fi, room service, a coffee maker and much more. After a busy day in the bustling city, guests at this Chicago hotel can enjoy a deep-dish pizza at our onsite restaurant, take a dip in our indoor pool, or relax on the sun deck and take in the marvelous city views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western River North Hotel

Address: 125 W Ohio St, Chicago, IL 60654
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Price Range: RM550 - RM1,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western River North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western River North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chicago
Chicago Best Western
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#80 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#97 Business Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western River North Hotel staff and other travellers.
43 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (43)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western River North Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here.”
CSBD9798, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Refrigerators aren't in every room”
merritt2b, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Thin windows, recommend getting a room not facing the main road”
lucerop675, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“The king suites are very large and spacious!”
gandhih2010, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms overlooking Ohio Street.”
  • Nice view but noisy!
yukonmom, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
BestWestern.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates