We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Villa Toscana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Villa Toscana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This is an old single family house in a mixed commercial residential area. Although there are a number of night clubs nearby, it's set back from the street enough that I didn't hear any street noise in our lower level room. It is very close to Wriggly Field, Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan and about a 20 minute Uber ride... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terrell_msp
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016

First time for a B&B. I chose the Venetian as I wanted a private bath. Ron, the Innkeeper, was able to accommodate my early morning arrival. He provided a tour of the house, explained the features and breakfast service, showed me to my room and was a great source of information on the city and my getting around for my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike D
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Our game for the Cubs was rained out so we called to see if they could save our reservation for a future stay because we weren't making the 5 hour drive, and they never called back. Disappointed in customer service as the first time we called a rude woman answered the phone and was less than accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I preface this review by saying that we have stayed in many B&Bs. We were looking for a place near Lincoln Park and this location in Boys Town was great. The pluses about staying here are the location and the flexibility of the staff for our arrival. Our plane was significantly delayed and Rosemary made sure we could pick up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marigot1
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights at The Villa Toscana. Our first B&B experience. We stayed in The Empire Room or room#2. It was located across from the shared bathroom. Although, a shared bathroom is a new experience for us, surprisingly we were never inconvenienced. We will most definitely go back. Location is fabulous. Especially if you like great... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thanks so much for giving this review of the inn! I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Chicago and I hope you will return -- perhaps if the Cubbies make it to the World Series?? Thanks again and please come back. More 

Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2016

My partner and I stayed at the Villa Toscana for two nights over the July 4th weekend, 2016. We had the best time! As members of the LGBTQ community, we were looking for something in this neighborhood. The grounds are gorgeous. Ron, the host, is very accommodating. He booked us for 2 nights rather than the required 3 for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank celiza73
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! I enjoyed meeting you-all and I certainly hope you will return soon. September is a "perfect" month to visit Chicago - still warm, not cool yet, just right. Thanks again for staying with me at The Villa Toscana Chicago! More 

Troy, MIchigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Found this on air B and B. Great location. Especially if you are going to a Cubs game at Wrigley . Very easy walk to park. Nice room, clean, very older home. Nice host 7 rooms available. Some with shared baths. Sine with private bath. Nice little continental breakfast. Air conditioned too. Will stay here again. Great price.

Helpful?
Thank CathyTroyMichigan
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting the inn recently! It was a pleasure to host you here and I hope you will return soon! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We could see from the start it was going to be a horrible night... We just didn't know how horrible. Extremely bad place, very bad management and even worse hospitality. The hotel is in a sketchy neighborhood (i.e., people sleeping on top of garbage containers around the corner), and is very old and very badly taken care of. Good thing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rafa T
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Well ... we can't please everybody, and sorry you were disappointed, but the living room is not a sleeping area. I don't think I've ever seen someone "sleeping on top of a garbage container around the corner," but I fail to see what that has to do with the inn. In any case, thank you for visiting the inn last... More 

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Location is great, especially if you're gay. Room was clean, quiet but shared bathroom could be cleaner. Don't look at shades in the window lol. Price is ok, since Chicago is expensive. Breakfast was like other places. B&B are not what they used to be, hard to find good proteins. Wifi not great, I used my phone data instead. Hosts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephbearca
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, stephbearca. I hope you will give us another try on a future visit! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We chose Villa Toscana primarily for location in a vibrant colourful neighbourhood with good transport links downtown. Responding to my initial booking Ron the host was super helpful in booking additional nights during a very busy period and very responsive to my questions around out of hours check in (he needed to leave earlier than normal on the day of... More 

Helpful?
Thank snowydog
VillaInnkeeper, Manager at The Villa Toscana, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Villa Toscana Chicago. It is unfortunate that you were not greeted as arranged. In any case, I hope you will give us another try if you find yourselves in the Chicago area again. More 

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#35 of 188 in Chicago
697 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#59 of 188 in Chicago
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 188 in Chicago
465 reviews
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#75 of 188 in Chicago
2,491 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Villa Toscana Bed & Breakfast is an eight-room guesthouse located in the Lakeview/Boystown neighborhood of Chicago, six miles north of downtown Chicago. Our guesthouse is in one of Chicago's most eclectic entertainment districts and center of Chicago's Gay and Lesbian neighborhood, second largest in the United States. Literally steps from our door you will find an exciting nightlife, the beautiful Lake Michigan shores, a thriving theatre district, shopping, and an extensive variety of bars, clubs, and ethnic restaurants. We are also known as the closest accommodation to Wrigley Field, home of the Chicago Cubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Villa Toscana

Address: 3447 North Halsted, Chicago, IL
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Price Range: RM518 - RM768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Villa Toscana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Villa Toscana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Toscana Hotel Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Villa Toscana staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Villa Toscana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower level was very quiet, but didn't hear anything negative from those in our group with upper level rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Terrell_msp, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Had a shared bath which worked out fine but private baths are available”
 of 5 bubbles CathyTroyMichigan, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 341rafat, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Room upstairs front is good and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Stephbearca, 23 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Basement rooms are quietest except for doors closing. Rooms VERY small.”
 of 5 bubbles cupctodd, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay