We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

969 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
See the most recent reviews
Showing 921: English reviews
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed for a week and found a great cost/benefit balance. Even though the hotel is a little bit old, the rooms are pretty comfortable. The gym isn't really good. Has very few machines and it is very short, therefore when using the treadmill, your head is almost by the ceiling. I had an awful experience with post-customer service. My...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mauricio G
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review

Dear Mauricio G We appreciate your candid feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. The level of service you describe in relation to your post...

Middlesex, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Older hotel with some upgrades. Within walking distance of our downtown office and close to the highway. Very polite and efficient staff. For some reason, hotel prices went through the roof the week I was there. My room, as basic as it was, cost over $300/night + $39/night for parking. No idea why.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark R
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again. Unfortunately our rates do fluctuate based on business levels in the city and that is probably why the rates spiked while you were here. Best Regards,...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We we're celebrating our wedding and wanted to store our bags until check in. Janita on finding out it was our wedding day immediately upgraded us to a suite and allowed us to do early check in. Our experience with this company and the staff we're remarkable. We couldn't be more pleased with the friendly and professional nature of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joshua R
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review

Dear Joshua R We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that we were able to be a part of your wedding experience and that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude...

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I went to ASCO meeting 2 weeks ago and couldn't find a room in my colleagues hotel. So I stayed in Crown Plaza Chicago Metro. Really a nice hotel with friendly employees. I especially want to thank Janita who helped me to solve an important problem of mine. She was so kind and supportive on dealing with the problem.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CemalBattal
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review

Dear Cemalbattal, Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again. I will surely pass on your nice comments to Janita. Regards, Cole Mansfield General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here during the ASCO conference.My check in late at night was quick, the reception staff always friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable and clean and spacious enough. Unfortunately it overlooked the busy road junctions which did mean that I was aware of heavy traffic noise through the night. The breakfast service was a disappointment for two reasons. Despite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yes61
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review

Dear yes61, We appreciate your candid feedback from your stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. I will be following up with our restaurant team as to what...

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been there since May 26th to June 1st. The staff is very professional and they care you with their opinions. Very clean, near the Loop, well conected. Free services such as wi-fi. Good breakfast. Besides Greek Neighbourhood with important restaurants, near it has an organic center of fruits and vegetables, called Mariano's Fresh Market.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NoraSide
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review

Dear Nora Side We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We...

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Super nice at check in. Room was clean and adequate for our stay. Our room faced the parking lot so we didn't have any trouble with noise. Room 306. Thought it was nice they have a good breakfast place across the street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dabbers4605
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel has a great location, ample parking, and very modern rooms with a superb layout for business. The breakfast buffet is a bit pricy. The staff were extremely helpful when I encountered a glitch in billing for the room directly to my client. Overall a great value, the price was very reasonable. Free wi-fi was also a nice surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bubba D
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review

Dear Bubba D We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We...

Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was my 2nd stay and there and once again I have no complaints only praise. Everything was as it should be. The staff was very friendly, professional and even recognized me as a reward member which was a nice touch. The rooms were very clean. It was a very busy Memorial Day Weekend so the hotel was full but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roaltimr72
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review

Dear Tim R, We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed two nights for business. Comfortable rooms, quiet, easy to get to with good restaurant for breakfast and close to "Greek Town" with fantastic variety of great local restaurants. Will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to...

252 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#110 of 189 in Chicago
626 reviews
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West Loop

Neighbourhood Profile
West Loop
Fulton Market, Randolph Market, Jackson Boulevard and Greek Town make up the West Loop. The neighborhood is best known as the location of Oprah Winfrey’s Harpo Studios, but this downtown neighborhood is also an up-and-coming spot for Chicago’s trendsetters. Several sub-neighborhoods within West Loop make this a unique neighborhood to visit. Dotted with factories and warehouses, West Loop is packed with various types of dining and nightlife options. If your timing is right, you can take part in neighborhood events like the West Loop Farmers Market, Craft Beer Fest, or the Randolph Street Market Festival.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Address: 733 West Madison Street, Chicago, IL 60661 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Price Range: RM498 - RM1,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
Greenfield, Ohio
7 months ago
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“high floor”
 of 5 bubbles AdarsshJ, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own pillows if you don't like feather pillows.”
 of 5 bubbles 357kristinb, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The upper floors are reached by elevator using your room key, so seem a bit more secure”
  • King bed in a comfortable room
 of 5 bubbles olsonj669, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms probably hear the highway noise.”
 of 5 bubbles freesprttravel, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“IHG members get upgraded to a top floor with a great view!”
 of 5 bubbles FOOPSIE, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay